Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (186)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Blu-ray for Toy Story 2
This being an older Pixar release, I was a bit unsure about whether to order it. I feared it may be a DVD upscale or some other rehash - or that the source material simply wouldn't look as good over 10 years (and many other excellent Pixar films) later.

All these fears were unfounded. The transfer is quite simply excellent. There are one or two moments with a...
Published on 16 Mar. 2010 by Dr T

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film
Great film for the kids they sit glued to the TV and will watch it time and time again, look forward to getting 3, when its cheap enough.
Published on 16 Jan. 2013 by Philip Barker


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney and Pixar do it again!, 17 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
What a pleasure. Sat down in the cinema, the lights go down and Disney's/ Pixar's logo appears and for once you know what your going to get from those boy's. It's a treat from start to finish, a beautiful piece of animation blessed with a terrific script and talented voice performances form Tom Hanks, Tim Allen et all. Originally slated for a video release ( an unforgivable crime) this sequel crashes onto the screen and superceeds the original on every level. Cracking animation by the Pixar crew, great in-jokes,Randy Newman's songs, and best of all an inventive script that doesn't patronise. The story is simple,young Andy's favourite toy cowboy doll Woody is stolen from a garage sale by scheming toy store owner Al and Woody's friends are out to rescue him. Buzz, Slinky, Rex all lend their own unique personalites and an engaging performance from Joan Cusack sheds some much needed female support. Whatever it takes rent it, buy it, but you must see it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars way far better than the first movie, 3 Nov. 2007
By 
for whom the bell tolls "a.ka. enter sandman" (seattle, san francisco, san diego usa) - See all my reviews
toy story 2 is by far better than the very first movie. it is funnier and more exciting than the first movie. i gave the first movie a few tries but it just isnt that good! this movie i like as much as monsters inc and i watch both of them every few days a week! in this movie, my favorite character is rex, because he makes me laugh!! woody gets kidnapped and the other toys like buzz lightyear, rex, hamm, mr potato head, and slinky dog go to a toy store and rescue woody. i also like the fact that the toys drive a truck to the airport! probably my lest favorite character is the prospector because he hit buzz and he tears woody's arm again. i also like jessie and the coughing wheezy too they are pretty good. all in all this is a very good movie. buy this and monsters inc for two of the greatest movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should have been an oscar winner, 22 Feb. 2008
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These days I refuse to watch most CGI movies, mainly because they can run them off a mill as many times a year as they want. For me, Toy Story 2 represents the pinnacle of Computer based films. Touching, funny, and even better looking than its predecessor, this is easily one of the greats from Pixar. I say this now because with such average attempts over the recent years such as Antz, Madagascar, and Cars, the 90's proved that its better to wait 3/4 years for a film that's quality, rather than a glut of lame attempts to cash in.

It sounds and looks even better than the video version of course (believe me, the colours are enhanced hundreds of times better than on the video) and should be bought with the original!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great parodies in good sequel, 3 Jan. 2009
By 
This review is from: Toy Story 2 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Toy shop owner Al kidnaps Woody and plans to display him in a museum in Japan, but Buzz and the gang plan to stop him.

Pixar's 1995 triumph Toy Story was arguably the finest animation of all time and its success brought on this sequel which is faster and more daring, if not quite as sharp.

This 1999 picture has one of the finest openings you will ever see and will beat any other animation opening; even Wall-E trundling along is no match for this. In space we see Buzz Lightyear zooming towards an alien infested planet and what follows is a jaw dropping action soaked sequence of good versus evil with a fine comic twist.

Again we are invited into the toys lives as they face another human tradition that will determine their lives, a yard sale, which sets the story going in a frantic and funny way.

Evidently a viewing of the first is a necessity to understand the characters and their environment as this film makes plenty of references to the first.

There are plenty of similarities to its Oscar nominated predecessor. For example, the idea of facing demons, adjusting to a different life and importantly friendship. Toy Story was brilliant for having an originality and a great collection of personal messages to its viewers.

This sequel feels frequently like the first with the same jokes with the occasional twist. A lot of scenes can be predictable and unfunny.

However this film differs by being more relaxed in its storytelling approach. There is more comedy which will delight the family for popcorn viewing. There is a delightful collection of intertextuality from 2001: a space odyssey, Jurassic Park and a hilarious parody of Star Wars: the empire strikes back, which will have the adults in stitches.

This is not to say the franchise has lost its sentimental side. This in a lot of ways is more upsetting than the first as it explores the inevitable of when a child no longer plays with toys. This is not a cheesy coming of age representation, but a hard dramatic rite of passage, which will cast your mind back to the time when you no longer played around.

As I write a third instalment is being filmed and hopefully we can see another film with great humour and a hard hitting message.

The DVD also has a fine collection of outtakes during the credits which are the funniest thing about it.

More adventurous and relaxed, Toy Story 2 is quite different from the first with more comedy and another hard message.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleased in the end!, 27 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Toy Story 2 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Obviously toy story 2 speaks for itself my 4 year old loves it! However when we received the DVD we sat down to watch (present for 4yr olds birthday) all very excited and it was very scratched and kept pausing, we tried it on another dvd player but with no luck! The following day I emailed the company who we bought it from saying how dissaopinted we were and explained the issues. They were FANTASTIC, I had an immediate response and another DVD was dispatched very quickly. Fantastic service in the end, THANK YOU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant sequel, 8 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This film has everything from laughter to tears. I really enjoyed this film and thought it better than Toy Story. It is suitable for all ages. I have put it on my Christmas List!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not quite as good as the original, 28 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Toy Story 2 [DVD] (DVD)
There's a lot more going on in Toy Story 2 than in the original film. The action and adventure content is upped quite a bit. The original had a very simple story whereas this one has a bit more to it. It's definitely still worthy watching and adding to your collection and it looks great, I added it to my collection and haven't regretted it for a second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good sequel, 30 May 2004
By 
Francisco (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toy Story 2 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I wasn't sure whether I'd like this when I received it but it turned out to be better than I expected. The basic storyline is that a toy dealer steals Woody to sell to a toy museum. The others set out to rescue him.
Woody gets his arm torn and Andy starts to lose interest in him. At the same time Andy's mum sets up a yard sale. By the end of the day, the toy dealer has Woody in his clutches.
I won't give the final bit away but the last bit ruined it for me. Too many things are done to raise the tension level. It seems that every possible complication is suddenly brought into play. It probably would be good for children but the art of good story telling is to make people forget, at least for the duration of the retelling, that it's only a story.
It has the wit and heart of the original and raises the question of whether success or love is better. On the downside, the scripting of the final part of the rescue operation lets the film down a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funnest film i've ever seen!, 22 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Toy Story 2 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I though Toy story 2 was brilliant. Just full of adult jokes I laughed all the way through. I especially liked the bit where buzz drives the car!! Brilliant animation miles better than the first one. I would recommend this to anyone especially familes who can all enjoy it, not just the kids. A must for Christmas day viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney Lead The Way Again, 12 April 2010
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
We all know the story of this film, so I shall not bore you with details, but this Blu-Ray is brilliant! It's clarity, sound, and colour is just fantastic, Woody, Buzz Lighyear and Stinky Pete look the best they ever have, and the quality of Pixar's work just shines. This film last 89 minutes, and every minute of this is enjoyable, and will keep everyone happy no matter if they're 2 or 202!

Technically this is the best BD I have seen in ages, it's got all the extras from the classic DVD, plus extras like little cartoons they have made about disasters or games they played during the making of Toy Story - I especially like the one about the backups, it's brilliant. You might argue this is nonsense from the cutting room floor, but it's all good fun.

Obviously people like Tom Hanks, Kelsey Gremmer and Estelle Harris made this film what it is, the funny voices and the movements of the characters on screen make this a masterpiece which isn't too gooey like most Disney stuff, but it's hard keeping a dry eye when you hear the cowgirl's story.

Take a look at this, it's worth every penny, and don't forget the first Toy Story, as it's a master-class in good animation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Toy Story 2 [DVD] [2000]
Toy Story 2 [DVD] [2000] by Lee Unkrich (DVD - 2004)
£8.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews