Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The emotional return of a legend!
In the seventies JCS re-defined how musical theatre was produced.
Tim Rice and Andrew Lloyd-Webber brought theatre to rock music and rock music to theatre and people loved it.
This new interpretation has taken all that was best in the original production and given it an extra kick up the backside!
This is a kind of "West side story" meets the...
Published on 17 Sept. 2002 by Craig Dawson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Below Average
This production is mediocre. Jerome Pradon may be a fine actor, but Judas requires a singer of enormous range and ability. This Judas makes me want to hang myself, long before he ever does it himself. Jesus is average. He is not bad, he also isn't very good. He took over the part after playing Simon in the London stage production. He was better as Simon (for that matter...
Published 19 months ago by Tom


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Original, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent great blu ray if you love the original movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jesus Christ Supershow, 15 Oct. 2010
By 
Mr. C. Rodgers "colin is legend" (Redcar, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus Christ Superstar [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is so much better than the film version. Set in modern times and no messy jumping to seventies clothes, beautifully sung and cleverly shot so it appears to be set in a film studio but follows the stage scenes. Bought the DVD as I am appearing in the show soon but I love the version and watch for it pure enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus Christ Superstar [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Fabulous in every sense
Glenn Carter is amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB !!!!, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I could spend all day writing about how good the original movie is as i have had it in every format! the songs are all superb! its my all time favourite musical! so not going down that road.
I will tell you about the superb picture and sound that blu ray has to offer on this production "totally brilliant" for a couple of years i was in total denial of its quality until i had to buy a new tv , so when you get a full spec tv for half the price i had paid for my prior one i thought i would go out on a limb and get a blu ray player as they aint bad on price now,oh boy did i open a can of worms every film i buy now is blu ray over the last year but some films can still be grainy i was a little apprehensive of buying my fave musical on this format fearing the worse but gladly its stunning to watch the scenery is very spectacular the definition of colours is rich i cant fault it at all.

hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus Christ Superstar [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
By far the best version of the musical, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sirs Rice & Lloyd-Webber deserve their knighthood!, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent soundtrack & original location. Wish I had not listened to the church critics when it was first released back in early 70's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Don't let me stop your great self-destruction!", 3 May 2006
This review is from: Jesus Christ Superstar [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Jesus Christ Superstar is the definitive Rock Opera, nay, Rock Musical. Each of the songs is incredible, so it's (in my opinion) quite hard to do them a misjustice. Far from it here, it seems. Jesus is Jesus. Judas is Judas. Simon Zealotes is whacky. Pilate is my favourite character as well as incredible and commanding. Caiaphas powerful and important. Annas cold and calculating. Herod overjoyed and disgusted. This is a great DVD to rent, buy or... just watch the damn thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great using the 2 for £10 offer, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great using the 2 for £10 offer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a 'superstar' hit!!!, 29 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
I bought this video the day it came out - after having been waiting for many months from seeing the tantalisingly short snatches of it on the trailer from 'Joseph' and the recent programmes 'Barrymore on Broadway'. It is almost all of what I hoped it would be. Judas, Mary, Pontius Pilate, the disciples, priests and chorus are utterly and totally amazing! The effects are great, it has a brilliant climax and the beginning really spooked me and got me hooked and the music, as always, is superb. However Jesus is not totally up to scratch I think. I think he has a good voice but didn't really suit the part. The first shot of him, I'm sorry to say, had my friend and I in giggles - not the aim of the film!! He was too much like a girl and the difference between him and Judas, the disciples, priests and Pilate was too stark. He seemed very much like Mary, I would have liked himn to be a bit more masculine! He also has a tendancy to look like Charlie Dimmock of Ground Force! But other than him (and he wasn't relly that bad!) it is a brilliant film and one not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good item well worth the cost
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jesus Christ Superstar [DVD] [2000]
Jesus Christ Superstar [DVD] [2000] by Nick Morris (DVD - 2000)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews