Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Girl on the Bridge
This is a beautiful little story about a knife-thrower who rescues a girl from attempting suicide and who, very quickly, after employing her as his assistant, strikes up a psychic bond with her. It is not until the end, after numerous obstacles, when she rescues him back that they realise that they have no choice but to spend the rest of their lives together. It is...
Published on 28 Aug 2006 by Babooshka

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In Seine plot, soggy ending.
The two words that I would choose to describe this film are not usually connected in the context of describing a single item, they are; "unusual" and "predictable".
French cinema has a well-deserved reputation for innovation and a certain trademark "quirkiness", which "Girl on the Bridge" has in abundance.
The "everyday story" of a young would-be suicide victim...
Published on 6 Mar 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Girl on the Bridge, 28 Aug 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girl on the Bridge [DVD] (DVD)
This is a beautiful little story about a knife-thrower who rescues a girl from attempting suicide and who, very quickly, after employing her as his assistant, strikes up a psychic bond with her. It is not until the end, after numerous obstacles, when she rescues him back that they realise that they have no choice but to spend the rest of their lives together. It is beautifully shot in black and white, and exquisitely acted by both Auteuil and Paradis, you can not help but fall in love with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Touching, 23 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Girl on the Bridge [DVD] (DVD)
This is a beautiful film, visually as well as in content. It is shot stylishly in black and white and has a very timeless classic feel to it, with a bursting jazz soundtrack and the main action centring around the antiquated art of knife throwing. Daniel Auteuil is perfect and completely convincing as the knife thrower who rescues Adele, a suicidal nymphomaniac, played by Vanessa Paradis, who is mesmerising in the title role. Gabor tells Adele that "the audience has to fall in love with you" and we all do. Every thud of the knife makes the pulse race, even when you know the outcome. In one gorgeous scene the pair do their act alone and it is so intimate and private but it's touching as well as sensual, which pretty much sums it up, beautiful, sexy and moving, one of the few romantic comedies that I like. There is only a slightly odd trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical and delightful!!, 23 Jan 2006
By 
film fan (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Girl on the Bridge [DVD] (DVD)
I fell in love with this whimsical and delightful film the first moment I saw it at my local film society three or so years ago. Since then I have purchased it on DVD and watched it again. The same feeling came over me. A lovely film.
The plot is engaging enough. A girl (Vanessa Paradis), who feels her life isn't worth living anymore, is standing on the edge of a bridge contemplating suicide when a stranger (Daniel Auteuil) comes along and rescues her from her fate. He turns out to be a lonely knife-thrower looking for an assistant who will join him as he performs across Europe. They strike up a strange and remarkable friendship. They both give each other luck and they are very successful. But when they go their separate ways, they find themselves lost and abandoned realising that they need each other more than ever and there's a spark when they're together. Cause when they are alone their luck dissolves into nothing.
It's a magical and delightful piece about companionship and always trusting the one who cares the world about you. Held together by two mesmerising performances from Vanessa Paradis and Daniel Auteuil, this is one film that only the French could pull off so well. If Hollywood had made it, it would have been a disaster. The French seem to have a knack for making films like this. They do it so well and they manage to pull it off with assurance. This film is a lovely French gem and I should add that it works rather well in black and white.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, romantic and utterly captivating..., 28 May 2006
By 
John Dynan (Highett, Vic Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Girl on the Bridge [DVD] (DVD)
"The Girl on the Bridge" ("La Fille Sur Le Pont") is a rare gem of a film which can be a romantic comedy, a tragedy and a suspense film all rolled into one. With powerhouse performances from Daniel Auteuil and Vanessa Paradis, this film will have you laughing and squirming in your seat at the same time. I defy anyone to actually stop the film and make a cup of coffee. I couldn't take my eyes off it.

Paradis is a lonely, depressed 21 year old woman at the end of her rope. The opening scene is pure quality as her character, Adele, explains her frustration at the mercy of the love / sex dichotomy; her composure slowly crumbling along the way. She goes to a bridge in Paris to end it all and meets Gabor (Auteuil), a burnt out 40+ year-old circus knife thrower. Gabor explains that he stands on bridges looking for desperate women to partner him in his act. Rather than sacrificing his dignity in order to disuade her from suicide, Gabor resorts to reverse psychology and both of them wind up in the river. In the hands of an older man, Adele learns a level of self control she never had and Gabor gets the co-worker he has always wanted and needed. As a partnership, they are complete but it will depend on Adele's ability to deny herself the thing which has brought her undone for so long. Denying her fear in the act is easier.

The first time they appear in public, Gabor goes all-out to impress his audience, gambling on the symbiosis of their relationship with a maximum risk performance. The scene is truly gut wrenching and frightening; an exploration of the voyeurism in humans which will attract us to such an act. The brutality of the thump as the knife hits the backboard has them squirming in their seats and Adele and Gabor discover something new about themselves. They communicate even when they are apart. They can gamble together even when they are not together and luck is on their side. In the stage lights they are brilliant.

The scene at the rail yard in Italy examines their relationship in an off-stage performance which takes them to new heights as they both experience the erotic pleasure of danger and completeness to the haunting Marianne Faithfull song "Who Will take My Dreams Away?". Soon, however, Adele's period of sexual denial comes to an end and she leaves Gabor, resulting in their return to their previous luckless existences. The ending, for me, was a little predictable but it didn't detract from a film which is a guilty pleasure to watch.

Beautifully shot in black and white and featuring a lot of hand-held shots and snappy editing, the transfer has a lustrous quality to it and I simply could not imagine it in colour. The lighting is superb and renders a rich grey scale. The script is wonderful with a healthy helping of black humour and romantic tension. It has been said that the most romantic monent is the last breath before the first kiss. In this film that last breath goes for almost the entire film. Patrice Leconte is the only director I can think of who could have done this film justice and he delivers in a big way.

Top marks at all levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE STORY WITH A CUTTING TWIST, 14 Jan 2005
By 
F. Sweet (Midwestern USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Girl on the Bridge [DVD] (DVD)
Vanessa Paradis (Adelle) plays a sad 22 year old woman whose life has been strewn with failures and disappointments. In a single take lasting ten minutes, Paradis transforms before our eyes from an indifferent minx into a tearful plaintiff. That's terrific acting!
Adelle grew up believing sex is what life is all about, and so she never learned how to say "no" to any man or boy. Daniel Auteuil (Gabor) is an over 40 year old, tall, dark, contemplative knife throwing artiste who never smiles and has haunting eyes. After Adelle opens the film with a wryly amusing monologue on the failure of her life, an early scene places her perched in the middle of a bridge over the River Seine on a wintry night. Just as she is .......
The black and white format lends drama to this often very funny movie. After they wind up in the icy water and in a hospital, Gabor virtually ....... Their odyssey takes the pair through ........ as Gabor's act becomes increasingly dangerous . . . and sensual. Adelle continues to be distracted by "trying on, like new clothing" one young man after another while the duo travel from gig to gig in the south of France and Italy. But something profound develops between Adelle and ....... scene that is so well acted and filmed that we are presented with an erotic pas de deux between the couple that transcends pedestrian sex.
This film is a French fanatasy romance which is funny and erotic in a Hitchkokian way (e.g., Eva Marie Saint and Cary Grant train scenes in "North by Northwest"). What we don't see has a bigger impact on us than what is so skillfully placed before our eyes. The movie asks the question: can a beautiful young woman who has given up hope, live with a man twice her age whose art and life need her? There are many plot twists and turns brought to the viewer by exceptionally fine acting by French pop singing star Paradis, the self disciplined Auteuil, and excellent direction by Patrice Leconte ("The Hairdresser's Husband" and "Ridicule"). The subtitles are easy to read and the music is cleverly well selected. For example, we are haunted by Brenda Lee's far away, almost ironicly singing "I'm Sorry" (this in a French film) as Adelle and Gabor ..... Very satisfying entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just gorgeous - it could only be French, 18 Sep 2005
By 
will_de_beest (South Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girl on the Bridge [DVD] (DVD)
There are some thoughtful and well-written reviews here already and I shan't try to outdo them. The Girl on the Bridge is captivating and touching from beginning to end, as well as being sublimely erotic in places. It's one of those films where changing anything might wreck it altogether, so just go with the flow and enjoy the ride - I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 27 April 2001
By A Customer
I borrowed this on video and took nearly a week to watch it: I wish I'd watched sooner so I would have time to see it again (I think we'll we buying a copy pretty soon). Totally entrancing - the use of the Marianne Faithfull track (first used in "City of lost children") here seems even more amazing. A film that moved me in so many ways. A joy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should have won more at the Cesars, 29 Jun 2002
I first watched this film with a friend at school during a french A Level lesson and was so moved by it I decided to talk about it for my oral examination. Every time I watch it I notice the tiniest details, making my love of this magnificant piece grow with every viewing. Through my research for my exam I discovered that out of the eight (if I remember correctly) Cesar nominations it received, it won only one - deservedly for best actor for Auteil, who play the part of Gabor to complete perfection. Everyone must see this film - it is a work of true genuis complimented by superb acting on the parts of both Auteil and Paradis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming, quirky, love story, 11 Mar 2006
By 
Francisco (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Girl on the Bridge [DVD] (DVD)
Adèle (Paradis), who feels she's terminally unlucky (especially where men are concerned), is found on a bridge by Gabor (Auteuil). Gabor offers her a job as a knife-thrower's assistant.
Things go well at first and Adèle's luck seems to have changed. Not only that but the two find they can communicate even when they're not in the same room. However, nothing stays simple long.
What the film does well is characterisation and story -- it creates realistic yet sympathetic leads that you get involved with. However, the last 10-20 minutes was fairly predictable. The whole film is a "Will they? Won't they?" scenerio. It had good parts and bad parts. On the whole, I like it a lot.
Despite being a modern creation, the movie was filmed in black and white.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bit of quality cinema, 5 Dec 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girl on the Bridge [DVD] (DVD)
a great film, easy to watch with a good story content.
vanessa paradis hmmmm oh la la, its worth watching just to see her smoulder on screen, sometimes you want it to be in colour but on the whole b&w works well, and well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Girl on the Bridge [DVD]
Girl on the Bridge [DVD] by Patrice Leconte (DVD - 2000)
7.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews