Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Hilarious!!
Well, what can I say! This has got to be the funniest film I have ever seen and their are just soo many classic moments and quotes that it is impossible to list them all here.
The 'Stonehenge' scene alone makes it my favourite comedy EVER, but that is not all it has to offer. Who could forget the famous amp scene (these go to eleven) or the pod prop diaster...
Published on 23 Jan 2005 by sarah18791

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Film Goes to 11, Blu-Ray goes to 6
Given Amazon are lumping all versions of Spinal Tap together for review purposes: just to be clear, this is about the 25th Anniversary Edition Blu-ray only.

There's little point reviewing the film "This Is Spinal Tap": it's enough to say it's both a cinema and rock'n'roll classic that's spawned hundreds of catch-phrases ("Hello Cleveland", "It's one louder",...
Published on 24 Feb 2010 by jcmacc


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film goes up to 6 stars, 29 Mar 2007
By 
S. R. M. Penney "Steve to his friends" (West Drayton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the greatest film ever made. Citizen Cane? No lycra-clad middle-aged rockers to be found. Casablanca? How many dancing, set-destroying dwarves in that film? Porkies II? Sorry about that last one but as David St Hubbins says: "There's a fine line between stupid and clever".

This Is Spinal Tap follows - in mock documentary style - the misadventures of a fading British rock band on tour in the U.S. The plot is, of course, secondary to a series of hilarious scenes in which the ridiculousness of heavy metal is laid bare. The hair; the clothes; the self-indulgence; the prima donna behaviour. That's not to say that die-hard rock fans should avoid this; on the contrary, anyone who's followed heavy metal (or better still, been in band) will appreciate the humour all the more (I speak from experience!). The acting (and musical) performances are all pitch-perfect and the script just the right side of believable.

The DVD extras are well worth a look too. The band's commentary (with the actors still in character) is extremely funny and the deleted scenes, whilst of great interest to Tap enthusiasts, just go to prove that the final cut of the film could not have been bettered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great comedy, but waited for better packaging, 4 May 2009
By 
This review is from: This Is Spinal Tap [DVD] (DVD)
This is a certainly a classic movie with tons of funny stuff (American actors imitating English accents, the infamous "drummer problem" since then, cover artwork conflict, "Stone'enge" stage incident among others) that is viewable again and again. However, the publisher did little to treat customers right, as there are no subtitles, no bonus material, just a copy of the original VHS tape to DVD. I was somewhat disappointed by that, so I would suggest prospective customers to turn to a better packaged release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talk about extras, this has got 'em, 20 Dec 2001
By A Customer
OK so that's not a very good play on one of the films lines but all the rest have been done already.
This is one of the greatest comedies of all time plain ans simple although i admit it may not cater to certain peoples tastes. I however laughed my head off mostly because I know people like Nigel et al(no you can't touch it, don't even point at it!).
Don't really wanna go through the best bits of the film cos that'll just spoil it for folk who havn't seen it. If you havn't seen it though, you have to, in fact I dare you not to laugh at 'Stonehenge' and the insuing argument about stage sets and dwarves.
The DVD has some excellent extras too. God only knows why some of the scenes were cut, I mean come on TAP AT THE ZOO!
So yeah, buy it and turn your TV to 11 (I know thats a bad ending but this whole review's been quite bad hasn't it?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most influential comedy of the last quarter century?, 24 Jun 2007
By 
Ray Blake (Hemel Hempstead, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Without this film, would we have had 'The Office'? Ricky Gervais cites this film as a major influence, and so do many of today's comedy innovators. Years ahead of its time, the film still feels fresh now and although the team responsible have made many excellent films and TV shows since, this is the one they'll be most remembered for. Outstanding in every regard. The rumour that 'The Darkness' would star in a remake...was just made up by me a minute ago (but wouldn't it be great?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Tap too many??, 11 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. A. Whiteside "tonyjackie3" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
There can be little doubt that 'This Is Spinal Tap' is still very funny and also extremely influential. There are many memorable scenes, often quoted and I certainly won't bore you here by listing them. Actually, they are in danger of being over done. I just don't think there is any particular reason for yet another 'special edition' release of this classic movie. I have the previous two disc edition and I consider that more than enough.

There are a few new extras here with the main one being a new documentary on the movie featuring several famous talking heads. I enjoyed listening to Anvil the most here with their take on the movie and they are pretty funny(including the band member that never speaks, very Spinal Tap). The question is whether it is worthwhile stumping up your cash for this 25th anniversary edition. In my opinion it isn't as there isn't too much more on offer despite the extras, with a few of them already appearing on the earlier two disc release.

This is a classic that is really being milked now so if you want to own everything about this movie then the new extras will be worth it. For me though, enough is enough and I'm happy with the earlier special edition. What's the betting that there will be a 30th anniversary special??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a fine line between stupid and clever,, 17 Feb 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This Is Spinal Tap [DVD] (DVD)
Spinal Tap. Not your everyday mulleted metal-rockers -- oh no, they're the loudest band in the world.

Or so says Marti DiBergi (played with a straight face by director Rob Reiner), in a hysterical "rockumentary" that focuses on the dumber side of rock'n'roll. "This is Spinal Tap" has become the quintessential rock'n'roll movie -- full of strangely lifelike jokes, gigantic hair, annoying girlfriends, hilarious acting, and a many an exploding drummer from time to time.

Spinal Tap, the loudest band in Britain, is returning to the US for the first time in years to promote their new album, "Smell The Glove." Trailing behind them is DiBergi, capturing every strange moment on film and interviewing the solemnly strange trio that makes up the core, Nigel (Christopher Guest), Derek (Harry Shearer), and David St. Hubbins (Michael McKean). Their many drummers have died in a series of bizarre freak accidents (including the vague "gardening accident"), choking on someone else's vomit, and spontaneous combustion).

Charting the history of the band (including psychedelic rock) to the present, DiBergi chronicles the controversy that springs up around "Smell the Glove"'s sexist cover ("What's wrong with being sexy?" "Sex-IST!"). After bizarre mishaps (a Stonehenge set the size of a cat), waning popularity and falling sales, the manager quits in anger and Nigel walks out. Is it the end of Spinal Tap?

One of the funniest ways make something funny is to stay really, really close to reality -- and that is where "This is Spinal Tap" strikes gold. It sticks JUST close enough to be semi-accurate, but remains just on the outside line of comedy -- basically, if you like laughtracks, gross-out humour and pratfalls, this isn't your kind of movie.

The humor is all the funnier because it's delivered in a deadpan manner: Nigel's amp that "goes to 11," the cucumber incident, or when Derek gets trapped in a plastic pod, and has to be freed via a desperate roadie with a blowtowtorch. And sprinkled in between are little interviews between DiBergi and the band, littered with hilarious quotables ("It's like fire and ice, basically. I feel my role in the band is to be somewhere in the middle of that, kind of like lukewarm water").

In fact, Reiner manages to craft a very believable rock'n'roll world, complete with label controversies, Sinatra-loving chauffeurs, groupies and frequent technical malfunctions. And the music... hoo boy, just try not to laugh at "Gimme Some Money," "Sex Farm," "Listen To The Flower People," and the sidesplitting "Big Bottom" ("Big bottoms drive me out of my mind/how could I leave that behind?"). Not to mention Nigel's ghastly Druid monologue.

And rock in-jokes are sprinkled liberally through the movie. There are homages to Black Sabbath (the teeny Stonehenge), Eric Clapton, Led Zeppelin (playing a guitar with a violin), and countless other little jokes. Even Jeanine is based on famed rock girlfriends like Yoko Ono and Anita Pallenberg.

As for the actors... well, reportedly they made up a lot of their dialogue on the wing, which might explain why they are so unspeakably funny. You'd almost think they were real -- in fact, a few uninformed people have.

Guest and McKean form the core of the story, as the lovably clueless Nigel ("It's one louder") and the savvier, too-influenced-by-his-girlfriend David. These guys really rule the screen with their rambling dialogue and gigantic hair. The hairy Harry Shearer is less front-and-center, but both he's pretty funny too -- as is Reiner, who somehow manages to keep a straight face through it all.

"This is Spinal Tap" is the ultimate rock movie -- a funny, deadpan, wittily mocking little look at the world's loudest band. A treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Quality Recommendation, 3 Jan 2003
By A Customer
Of the versions of Spinal Tap available, this is the one to get. Forget about getting the cheaper versions, there are two reasons why the extra cash makes this purchase worth it. Firstly, there is a fun band commentary on Disc One. Most film 'Commentaries' are hit and miss but this one is definitely a hit. And there is Disc Two. There are a lot of things on here on which I have little opinion on, but the outtakes section is particularly special. In the booklet it looks like a simple list of outtakes, but it has all been edited together and is delivered in such a way that it feels like a second film. Sure, there are bits missing so the lack of continuity stops it being an actual movie ,but the scenes have been taken out because they dont fit the final cut rather than them being not funny. In fact there are two particularly hilarious scenes amongst a welter of other funny scenes. I can see why they didnt include the American Nigel but any self respecting fan should see him. And, oh yeah, someone does turn up to the record signing.
In short, if you have seen this film, then buy it. Of course, you want it in the collection, and there is stuff on here which makes this one of the best DVD packages around at the moment (04/01/2003). If you havent seen it then Im sure you know someone who recommends it. The reason behind this is that amongst those who have seen it, it is a tremendously popular film. Us fans cant all be wrong can we? Take the plunge, and do it with this more expensive version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than a load of shoes., 17 Oct 2000
By 
Mr. Paul S. Bird "dagadadagada" (Aylesbury) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
There are very few films that get funnier each time you see them.
Withnail and I is one. This is another. And to be honest, now that
you have a 2 DVD set, there is NO excuse to complain about the short
(80 min) running time of the movie. You now have an HOUR of new
footage, which actually watches like a whole new movie! some of the
stuff is great -the ..cab driver, and the band attempting to justify
their occult imagary are both cringeworthy and giggle inducing. As is
the moment you realise the band are giving a comentary on how to use
the DVD when you first play it, with Mssr Tuffnel asking if the Scene
Select will allow you to access scenes from other movies not on this
DVD.
There are Music videos, too...... Gimme Some Money, Flower
People, Hell Hole, and Big Bottom, all of which are superb apart from
Big Bottom which is pretty much the same as in the film. Gimme and
Flower People are extended versions of the clips in the film, but
contain many more laughs, especially David's dance through an insanely
grinning Nigel's solo on Gimme. Hell Hole is a whole concept video,
done in the style of far too many Heavy Metal promos. ....
If you
have never seen this film, get it now. It's fantastic. If you have
never experienced the joy of the lyrics...itis time to right that
wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond brilliant ... 11 !!, 19 Jan 2004
By 
If you are around 40 and therefore were a teenager just getting into music at the advent of heavy metal, congratulations !! You have just discovered your HOLY GRAIL !!
This movie is, particularly to us that remember how to play the air guitar, the most hysterical film ever made !
It follows the American "tour" of Britains loudest rock band, a group of such awesome pretentiousness ... well you just have to see it to believe it !
The brilliance of the actors who are Canadian and American is uncanny, surely they are a real English band ?? !!
And the music which they wrote and performed is so good it would have topped the rock charts in 1975 !!
If by some quirk of fate you have never seen "Tap" be prepared to role around the floor in helpless laughter, and burst into giggles for weeks afterwards !
The same team have made other films worthy since, but nothing can or ever will get close to this masterpiece, and I mean MASTERPIECE, It is regarded by many critics as the funniest film ever made..... I 'aint goin to argue !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's a cliche but....11 out of 10, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been involved in the music business for many years I can truly say that, although a comedy "rockumentary", this film isn't all that far from the truth: a bit of hyperbole here and there but otherwise it hits the mark. Saying that even if you've no involvement in music you will find this film absorbing and very very funny.

The film basically revolve around the rock band Spinal Tap, their excesses and there fall from the top as music tastes change within their record company and their management goes from mistake to mistake. All the characters are larger than life but oddly endearing and believable. The scene with the customoised amplifiers is most often cited but there are many more e.g. the pods used to start a concert, the miniature Stonehenge....

Just one more thing, my cousins a drummer, what's his life insurance premium going to be?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Is Spinal Tap [VHS]
This Is Spinal Tap [VHS] by Rob Reiner (VHS Tape - 2000)
2.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews