Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Get Carter ... Roy Budd ... Silva America (2010)", 18 Aug. 2010
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get Carter (Audio CD)
Silva America presents "GET CARTER" --- The Soundtrack and distinctive music in the film was composed by Roy Budd, a jazz and "easy listening" specialist, who worked well outside his previous boundaries for this film --- The theme tune features the sounds of Caine's train journey from London to Newcastle --- All the music was played by Budd and two other jazz musicians, Jeff Clyne (double bass) and Chris Karan (percussion), all of which make a great jazz combo.

Track Listings & Times: Get Carter [Soundtrack]
1. Intro [0:35]
2. Dialogue [0:17]
3. Main Theme - Carter Takes A Train [2:57]
4. Dialogue [0:36]
5. Looking For Someone [2:32]
6. Dialogue - The Race Track [1:29]
7. Something On My Mind [4:13]
8. Dialogue [0:51]
9. Getting Nowhere In A Hurry (03:09]
10. Dialogue (01:03]
11. The Girl In The Car (02:25)
12. Dialogue [2:14]
13. Love Is A Four Letter Word [2:39]
14. Dialogue [0:58]
15. Livin' Should Be That Way [3:15]
16. Dialogue [0:18]
17. Manhunt [2:50]
18. Dialogue [1:20]
19. Goodbye Eric! [0:48]
20. Dialogue [0:05]
21. Hallucinations [4:30]
22. Dialogue [0:40]
23. Plaything [2:32]
24. Dialogue [0:09]
25. Goodbye Carter! [3:40]
26. Dialogue [0:03]
27. Hallucinations - Snoitanicullah (Instrumental) [4:23]
28. Getting Nowhere In A Hurry - Instrumental [3:09]

Warning: if you don't like music to be interrupted by dialogue, this is not the one for you --- But anyone looking to take a musical journey through the '70s with Michael Caine, this is the one --- Great job by the musicians Roy Budd (piano), Chris Karan (drums, percussion, tablas), Jeff Clyne (double bass, bass guitar), Brian Daly (guitar) and Judd Proctor (guitar) --- Hats off to Silva America who made this all possible --- And of course the composer Roy Budd!

Special footnote: Silva Screen intends to reissue some of Budd's later film music --- Including the high octane Fear is the Key and The Stone Killer --- Hopefully, they'll also reissue Diamonds, The Black Windmill and The Marseille Contract, among others, because Budd's deep and Get Carter only scratches the surface, but what a first start out of the starting gate from our friends at Silva.

Total Time: 54 min on 28 Tracks ~ Silva America ~ (8/10/2010)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After this & 7 Pints of Double Diamond it'll be 1971, 3 Oct. 2000
This review is from: Get Carter (Audio CD)
Very enjoyable; atmospheric and just the job to relive great Get Carter moments without having to watch the film for the 78th time. Hear Caine's resonant soft yet direct "Margaret" outside the Newcastle Municipal cemetery mix with the amazing "Carter takes a train" and finish off with a great instrumental "Getting nowhere in a Hurry". You'll relax and want to get into your G reg Cortina and burn or alternatively dump your Sunbeam Alpine in the Tyne, as you do.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Carter soundtrack, Roy Budd, 1998 Castle release - Get this, it's brilliant, 22 Aug. 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The classic 1971 film Get Carter, starring Michael Caine in one of his greatest roles, is a great film. Part of what makes it great is the score from Roy Budd. As film scores go I think it stands up there with anything by Lalo Schiffrin or Ennio Morricone. It forms a perfect backdrop for the film, from setting the mood as Carter travels North, to the grand slashing chords as the action reaches a climax in the emotionally charged finale.

The score is heavily influenced by the jazz and blues of the early 70s/late 60s. In its own right it is a series of classic tracks that stand up by themselves, and can be listened to in isolation from the film (though the film cannot be seen in isolation from the music!) It is track after track of great British jazz,

This edition of the soundtrack also contains several lines of dialogue from the film, interspersed between the tracks. These are some of the best lines, but might not mean anything to anyone who has not seen the film. This edition comes in a jewel case in a card slip case. Enclosed is also a large poster with the cover image.

An excellent release of a great soundtrack. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Film Soundtrack, 30 July 2000
By A Customer
This is an absolutely classic film soundtrack for a classic 1971 British film - and one of Michael Caine's finest too (in my opinion, THE definitive Caine thriller). Until Castle Music remastered and reissued this album recently, it had only been made available on a rare and obscure Japanese vinyl LP. The remastering job on this CD (in typical Castle fashion) is to be highly commended - this is one of the warmest digital remasters I've ever heard. For those of you who only a reasonably decent turntable (or even a high-end one!) it's well worth tracking down the reissued vinyl version too.... In any case, this CD is a must-have for anyone who is a fan of this great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Carter soundtrack, Roy Budd - Get this, it's brilliant, 22 Aug. 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Get Carter (Audio CD)
The classic 1971 film Get Carter, starring Michael Caine in one of his greatest roles, is a great film. Part of what makes it great is the score from Roy Budd. As film scores go I think it stands up there with anything by Lalo Schiffrin or Ennio Morricone. It forms a perfect backdrop for the film, from setting the mood as Carter travels North, to the grand slashing chords as the action reaches a climax in the emotionally charged finale.

The score is heavily influenced by the jazz and blues of the early 70s/late 60s. In its own right it is a series of classic tracks that stand up by themselves, and can be listened to in isolation from the film (though the film cannot be seen in isolation from the music!) It is track after track of great British jazz,

This edition of the soundtrack also contains several lines of dialogue from the film, interspersed between the tracks. These are some of the best lines, but might not mean anything to anyone who has not seen the film.

An excellent release of a great soundtrack. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play again!, 19 July 2011
I am not good in describing music but I can describe the circumstances.
We played it one Saturday afternoon. My partner vary rarely listen the same CD twice but on this occasion we didn't have enough of it. I didn't see the film for years. He have seen it few times. We were both transfixed by the gripping tones. We played it to a friend, a DJ, we even danced, we loved it. We played it 4 times that very afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Take a journey, 9 Sept. 2011
By 
DSS (Turnipshire England) - See all my reviews
The more you listen to this album the more you realise it's brilliance, the classic title track then leads you through the narrative, the dark world of the mobster bent on revenge for his murdered brother. some of the tracks have a distinct 'hippy San Francisco' feel about them some almost psychedelic, later on into the sound track some of the songs are repeated but altered and sound more dark and of course the great 'pub singer' track 'how about you' all strung together with dialogue from the film. Great to listen to on a car journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Soundtrack + Modern interpretation bonus CD, 15 May 2009
By 
Dr. Robert J. Mockett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Carter (Audio CD)
If You like the Film,you'll love this!!! Some nice Dialogue ,though I'd have liked to have heard Jack say " In a tall glass!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do you know, this... is a great soundtrack. Now, go out and get Get Carter., 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was one of the hardest, grittiest films of it's generation, Roy Budd was on top of his game when he wrote the iconic theme to Get Carter. One of my favourite moments is the wonderfully cheesy rendition of "How about you" sung by Denea Wilde in the Club style and it's on the CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gesamkunstwerke, 31 July 2003
By A Customer
One of the great things about the incidental music about Get Carter is that it was all composed by Roy Budd. So, when Jack Carter puts on a record on the duke box in the pub opposite the station it is Budd's "Looking for Someone". In Brumby's horrible modern mansion "on the Durham Road" it is "Love is a four letter word" that the with-it teenagers are grooving to. In the Oxford Galleries Dance Hall it is the bass-y "Livin should be this way" that thunders in the background. All these songs (which we only ever hear in part on the soundtrack) subtly echo the driving jazzy bass line of the famous title track. Brilliant stuff, almost like a Wagnerian leitmotif for Carter's neo-Jacobean revenge tragedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Get Carter
Get Carter by Roy Budd (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Italian Job
The Italian Job by Quincy Jones (Audio CD - 2000)
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (39)   

The Ipcress File
The Ipcress File by John Barry (Audio CD - 2010)
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17)   

Get Carter [1971] [DVD]
Get Carter [1971] [DVD] by Michael Caine (DVD - 2006)
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (133)   
Buy new£5.20
In stock