Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goody Goody Yum Yum....
It's very easy to dismiss this as a money making spin-off, a nostalgia trip, a novelty record....
But, Bill Oddie, instead of being a comic/actor/ornithologist could have been a "serious" singer/songwriter - just listen to his voice. Tim Brooke Taylor and Graeme Garden play it mainly for laughs, as lets face it they always have, as natural born comedians.
It all...
Published on 12 Sep 2003 by icuramazoningagain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Goody gum gum
Some good songs, some average songs and a couple of stinkers. But what do you expect from the goodies.
A bit of fun.
Published 5 months ago by Gary William Riddle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goody Goody Yum Yum...., 12 Sep 2003
This review is from: Funky Gibbon: The Best Of The Goodies (Audio CD)
It's very easy to dismiss this as a money making spin-off, a nostalgia trip, a novelty record....
But, Bill Oddie, instead of being a comic/actor/ornithologist could have been a "serious" singer/songwriter - just listen to his voice. Tim Brooke Taylor and Graeme Garden play it mainly for laughs, as lets face it they always have, as natural born comedians.
It all started with Bill writing songs for the "I'm Sorry I'll Read That Again" radio comedy series of the 1960s(now available on CD and Tape from our chums at Amazon). Then later, as John Cleese joined "the circus", Bill, Tim and Graeme headed off to become the Goodies - a classic TV series sadly rarely repeated on TV. (But check out the recently released DVD - first of a series out by popular demand from fans)
Bill wrote and sang the songs to accompany the speeded up slapstick outdoors film sketches, and then some bright spark realised maybe they could become pop stars.....
Christmas 1974 saw them in the charts with the risque "Father Christmas Do Not Touch Me" backed with the all too ironic "Inbetweenies"(too old to be a teenage idol, too young to be a mothers pet).
Followed a few months later with their best known hit - Funky Gibbon - they had a thing about gibbons(there were other gibbon songs!), and this had originated some years before in ISIRTA. Those who remember buying the single will recall a classic B-side in "Sick Man Blues" - a great pastiche on Blues songs, as is Good Ole... about Country.
They're all here plus more - a manic one about the state of the country(Panic), Bills Northen roots(Black Pudding Bertha), their favourite part of London(Cricklewood) and mention should be made of the over the top cover version of Wild Thing.
A CD to cheer you up maybe, to remind you that the 70s was a fun decade, and certainly show you the skills of the Goodies at just laughing at the absurdity of life, but doing their best at taking the music seriously, not just cashing in.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of fun!, 21 May 2003
By 
Jane Clayton (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funky Gibbon: The Best Of The Goodies (Audio CD)
Having loved the Goodies when I was a kid, I bought the DVD and cd for my own kids (and for myself...). The DVD was a great success - they literally laughed until they fell off the sofa - and now we sing along to the cd in the car on the way to school every morning. It may not educate their little brains in the same way as Mozart, but it's loads of fun and a definite stress reliever - try keeping a straight face while you join in with 'Nappy Love' or 'Father Christmas do not touch me'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goody Goody Yum Yum..............., 3 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Funky Gibbon: The Best Of The Goodies (Audio CD)
For anyone who remembers the 1970s, The Goodies were one of the best Comedy TV shows. Bill Oddie had been writing and singing songs since I'm Sorry I'll Read That Again in the 1960s, and peppered the TV shows with great songs - this lead to hit singles and they're all here. Wild Thing is a great cover of the Troggs old song, and there are some great tongue in cheek other songs here. Buy and enjoy-it'll cheer you up!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a while, you'll start to smile, 'gibbon' half a chance!, 1 Aug 2011
By 
J.D. Guinness (Kelowna, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Funky Gibbon: The Best Of The Goodies (Audio CD)
Arguably the single most enjoyable bit of spin-off merchandise in the entire Goodies canon, "Funky Gibbon: The Best of the Goodies" collects the talented TV trio's best singles and album tracks from their glory days in the 1970s, in a collection that's every bit as invigorating and danceable as that of any SERIOUS pop music group I have ever heard.

Originally conceived for a laugh; making use of Goody Bill Oddie's music from the soundtracks of their popular TV sitcom (an approach taken previously by their American counterparts the Monkees), the Goodies went on to gain several legitimate hit records in Britain.

The sequencing is joyous and celebratory as well as ingenious, going from the irresistible one-two-three punch of "The Goodies Theme", "The Funky Gibbon" and "The Inbetweenies", and the album just gets better and better as it goes along, being truly musical, with never a hint of the self-indulgent messing about you tend to find on the albums of most other comedians-turned-musicians.

Bill Oddie's songs are every bit as intricate and damnably hummable as Paul McCartney's ("What are you, what are you, ah you, you, you..."), and his signature scratchy voice proves amazingly versatile on record, soaring to the soulful heights of a James Brown, Burton Cummings, or Sam Cooke whenever the mood strikes him. ("Nappy Love" and "Rock With A Policeman" are but two examples of Bill's vocal excellence, all the more remarkable given their deliberately silly lyrical trappings!).

Which is not to leave out bandmates Tim Brooke-Taylor and Graeme Garden. Bill furnishes Graeme with "Good Ole Country Music", capturing the cheerful, fake sadism that was always a Garden trademark ("I like...the sound of a chicken being flattened by a train. ...BWAWK!"), while "Cricklewood" and "I'm A Teapot" are both good showcases for Tim's wide-eyed goofiness. "Cricklewood" is frequently praised as Beatle-esque by most reviewers, though to my ears the melody sounds more like the Turtles' "Happy Together" with the rhythm of the Beach Boys' "God Only Knows" and the backing vocals of "Good Vibrations". Whatever. It's clearly a pastiche of something, beautifully done, and probably my favourite song of the lot, if pressed.

This album is an ABSOLUTELY essential purchase for Goodies fans. I defy you to be disappointed with such an infectiously happy set.

Having said that, I doubt very much comedy fans who didn't know the Goodies from TV would get as excited about this album. As comedy songs, per se, they may lack the obvious hilarity, of, say, Weird Al Yankovic, but as pastiches of varied popular song styles (Pop, country, blues, disco, etc.), the Goodies demonstrate the same devotion to excellence here in music as they did to excellence in their TV shows and excellence in their books. The Goodies were/are a comedy team second to none, and deserve our continuing attention, respect, study, admiration, and love. Get this today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'MANY POPULAR 'SILLY-SONGS' FROM THE 70's', 22 Aug 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Funky Gibbon: The Best Of The Goodies (Audio CD)
'Tim Brooke-Taylor' 'Bill Oddie' 'Graeme Garden' A odd-ball comedy team and, yes, recording artists.
During 74' and 75' they achieved five top-thirty hits in the U.K, i can remember playing 'Black Pudding
Bertha' on the Juke-Box at what was then my local on numerous occasions back in 75' i did in fact buy
the record, and have since bought this CD, truth is, it's fun-music.
The groups hits were - 'The Inbetweenies' (Chart '7' 1974) 'Funky Gibbon' (Chart '4' 1975)(also made
the Billboard Top 100) 'Black Pudding Bertha' (The Queen of Northern Soul) (Chart '19' 1975) 'Nappy
Love' (Chart '21' 1975) and 'Make a Daft Noise For Christmas' (Chart '20' 1975) (all on-board this CD)
The Goodies had a total of 69 TV shows screened between 1970 - 1980.....often considered entertainment
for younger viewers.
'Bill Oddie' of course has become known in recent times for nature programs, also a leading light in the
campaign to stop the Badger cull.
A fun album from a comic outfit - 'The Goodies'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goody Goody Yum Yum..............., 3 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Funky Gibbon: The Best Of The Goodies (Audio CD)
For anyone who remembers the 1970s, The Goodies were one of the best Comedy TV shows. Bill Oddie had been writing and singing songs since I'm Sorry I'll Read That Again in the 1960s, and peppered the TV shows with great songs - this lead to hit singles and they're all here. Wild Thing is a great cover of the Troggs old song, and there are some great tongue in cheek other songs here. Buy and enjoy-it'll cheer you up!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funky Gibbon, Flipping Goodie., 31 Dec 2003
By 
S. Murphy "eddiesolo" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Funky Gibbon: The Best Of The Goodies (Audio CD)
I watched the Goodies in the seventies as a kid and although I never fully understood some of their jokes I thought it was hilarious. Some 28 years later I watched the DVD 'THE GOODIES AT LAST' and found myself filled with a nostalgic panic. Would the three comic loons make me smile and laugh again, or, had I my 'ROSE TINTED GLASSES' on and after watching would find myself disappointed as a large piece of childhood disintegrated.
No worries...'E-by-gum' It worked out grand. I watched and laughed and laughed and laughed, even the opening titles had be in stitches.
Then I remembered the songs, they slowly emerged through my 70s time warped mind.
So with a skip in my step and a smile on my lips I emerged here on Amazon and behold...THEIR HERE!!
All the great classics are here...Black pudding Bertha, Panic... so what are you waiting for...BUY IT and you too can end up in your very own 70s time warp.
Ah...Hillman Imps...Hillards...Nationwide...Bliss.
Simon Murphy (Author of THE VALENTINE ROSE & THE MURDERS OF MUTCHROSE VILLAGE)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woweee, 10 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funky Gibbon: The Best Of The Goodies (Audio CD)
Wowee indeed, what an absolutely fan dabi dozi album, from the opening Goodies theme tune to 'wild thing' (what a take on the original!!), up too and including 'nappy love', and of course 'make a daft noise for Christmas' this is just great!! In fact this is the best buy that I've had from any web site (so far)... In fact the only fault with the album (and this is a minor issue), is the fact that they miss out on the 'tie a yellow gibbon round the old oak tree' as "sung/said" by Greame Garden on the Funky Gibbon track, either that or I'm listening to it wrong... 4th or maybe 5th time of listening to it all, in fact my budgie is getting used to it now, at first it was a lot of squawking and noisy chirups... I think that this is just fandabidozi, great, fantastic, absolutely fab, worth every penny... okey dokey!! and I only got it this morning, so there you go...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Oddie but a Goodie, 24 Feb 2005
By 
C. R. Williams "rockinhepcat" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Funky Gibbon: The Best Of The Goodies (Audio CD)
The Goodies hit the small screen way back in 1970 and took the country by storm with their madcap humour, but they didn't stop there, the pedal powered trio became pop stars and treated us to a giggle in lyric form.
The title track of this album is their best known hit, but the tunes that tickled my trandem are the likes of Sick Man Blues, Black Pudding Bertha, Wild Thing, Panic, Father Christmas Do Not Touch Me and The Inbetweenies.
The Goodies carried the charm and wit of their lovable enterprising TV characters into their music and at a time before Video it was a way of experiencing the Phenomenon at our leisure on vinyl.
Bill Oddie has a great voice and a good range, as demonstrated on this collection. It's good clean fun for all the family! so slip into those flared dungarees and pop on your platform 'cause it's Gibbon time, Goodie style!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic nonsense for Goodies fans, 4 May 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Funky Gibbon: The Best Of The Goodies (Audio CD)
The Goodies were a hugely successfully British TV comedy trio of the seventies, comprising Tim Brooke-Taylor, Graeme Garden and Bill Oddie. They were not primarily a musical act - most of their comedy was of the slapstick variety - but they did write and sing songs that they included in their shows. A selection of their songs is included on this CD. Bill Oddie wrote all except one of the songs - a cover of Wild thing, which is a song ideally suited to their style. It was a major international hit for the Troggs in the sixties.
The set begins with The Goodies theme, which was the theme song for their TV series. As the lyrics explain, they are a trio who will do anything, anytime. This is followed by their biggest hit, Funky gibbon, which reached number four on the UK charts. Even by the standards set by the Goodies, it is the silliest song of them all, complete with imitations of monkey noises - but it's a lot of fun. Among their other songs, Good ole country music pokes fun at the genre and comes with plenty of howling. The set closes with two songs that take an amusing look at Christmas.
Goodies fans everywhere will appreciate this collection. Whether it will appeal to anybody else is open to question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Funky Gibbon: The Best Of The Goodies
Funky Gibbon: The Best Of The Goodies by The Goodies (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews