Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful eccentricity
"Moondog 1 & 2" - a total of 75 minutes.
The first 9 tracks ("Moondog I") open with "Theme" and "Stomping Ground" - two somewhat coherent pieces which a few years ago were made quite famous through the soundtrack of Coen Brothers' wonderful movie "The Big Lebowski." The album features a 50+ piece orchestra, which, among other greats, includes jazz veterans Don...
Published on 1 Mar 2005 by Patrik Lemberg

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eccentric classical/jazz/folk composer
Louis Hardin (aka Moondog) began by selling poems in the street and ended up writing symphonies for orchestra, short pieces for small jazz ensembles and delightful madrigals. His first album was beatnik jazz. His second (Vol 1 on this album) is an orcherstral surprise (Stravinsky meets Michael Nyman). The 3rd album (vol 2 on this album) consists of rhythmic chants/canons...
Published on 30 Jan 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful eccentricity, 1 Mar 2005
By 
Patrik Lemberg (Tammisaari Finland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Moondog / Moondog 2 (Audio CD)
"Moondog 1 & 2" - a total of 75 minutes.
The first 9 tracks ("Moondog I") open with "Theme" and "Stomping Ground" - two somewhat coherent pieces which a few years ago were made quite famous through the soundtrack of Coen Brothers' wonderful movie "The Big Lebowski." The album features a 50+ piece orchestra, which, among other greats, includes jazz veterans Don Butterfield (tuba) and Ron Carter (double bass.)
The beautiful Charlie Parker homage "Lament I: Bird's Lament" is here performed in its original form, but can also be found on the 1994 Moondog recording "Sax Pax For a Sax" on only saxes and percussion.
The orchestral performances on "Moondog I" aren't always 100% flawless, but should not be judged harshly because of the very personal, highly individual, and wonderfully eccentric form of compositions that they are. Budget, which is a very common issue when it comes to orchestral recordings, is another element that probably has not allowed many re-takes.
Before my making an order of this music, I knew that I'd love "Moondog I" since I'd heard most of it previously, but I was skeptical towards "Moondog II" because of some reviews I'd read of it. I was however curious, and listening to it when it had arrived was a very nice surprise.
Aside from performances by Louis "Moondog" Hardin (percussion, piano, vocals) and his daughter June (vocals,) "Moondog II" features 6 other musicians who, at different points throughout the album, play virginals, recorders, harpsichords, ancient organs, guitars, schom, viola de gamba, and troubadour harp. These instruments alone make a very individual sound, but the compositions (many of which are in 5/4 and 5/8) and the poetry make this the most wonderful group of rounds (short vocal canons) you've ever heard.
In my 500+ CD collection, these two are among my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius, 5 Nov 2006
This review is from: Moondog / Moondog 2 (Audio CD)
This music is pure joy.

I have both the first two albums on vinyl from when they were launched originally, so it was very pleasing when they were both re-launched on CD. I too recognise the first album as a masterpiece. It is fresh, superbly produced, innovative and the music itself is pure brilliance. The mixture of classical orchestral and complex jazz rhythms is still unique to this day. It is hard to believe this was recorded in the `50's and the`60's by a 40 year old blind busker. Witch of Endor is simply wonderful as is Bird's Lament

Contrary to the other reviews, I liked the Moondog 2 - the second part of the CD. It is very different, based of acoustic percussive rhythms and vocal madrigals instead of the complex percussive rhythms of the first album but don't discard it for being different. Listen to Voices of Spring; Nero's Expedition and Remember. It grows on you.

Every album he made was significantly different from his previous recording, such was the progressive genius of this man.

Any serious music collector must have this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An all-but-lost gem, 2 Feb 2002
This review is from: Moondog / Moondog 2 (Audio CD)
Despite losing my vinyl copy of 'Moondog' around 1980 (too willing to lend stuff to friends I think), much of the music has remained in my head in the years since then - the music was different then and its different now. While occasional echoes of Philip Glass, Michael Nyman, Miles Davis and the Beach Boys can be heard, this is still like nothing you will ever listen to. Moondog plays on the emotions - happy, sad, amusing, upbeat, wistful, etc., while Moondog 2 is a delightful jamboree of short song rounds. With 2 albums, copious notes (some by the great man himself) and a bargain price, thank goodness for CD reissues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eccentric classical/jazz/folk composer, 30 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Moondog / Moondog 2 (Audio CD)
Louis Hardin (aka Moondog) began by selling poems in the street and ended up writing symphonies for orchestra, short pieces for small jazz ensembles and delightful madrigals. His first album was beatnik jazz. His second (Vol 1 on this album) is an orcherstral surprise (Stravinsky meets Michael Nyman). The 3rd album (vol 2 on this album) consists of rhythmic chants/canons sung by himself and his daughter. If you like the more imaginative stuff that the Beach Boys produced in the sixties, then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars refreshingly different, 23 April 2001
By 
This review is from: Moondog / Moondog 2 (Audio CD)
I heard about moondog only recently on a radio programme and decided i needed to hear more. i am glad i did because the whole cd is full of original and inovative ideas which even appealed to my eleven year old son who asked who it was when he walked in the room and heard it. utterly brilliant. badger warriner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Not Two, 20 May 2003
By 
C. Burr "∑symptote" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moondog / Moondog 2 (Audio CD)
if you are uninitiated to moondog, this is a must do. unfortunately, the cd producers have bunged moondog 1& 2 together on one cd. md1 is essential listening (checkout Stephane Pompougnac & Mr.Scruff on "Hotel Costes 2: La Suite"). sad to say md2 is a bit twee.
moondog is (was) the Man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars moondog cole, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moondog / Moondog 2 (Audio CD)
I heard the first album via a friend of my brother. its unusual music but worth hearing. this two albums on one cd loses one star for the second album which other reviewers have said is rather "samey" in its sound and I agree the second album is worth hearing but in small bits at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A throw back in time, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moondog / Moondog 2 (Audio CD)
Always loved this from my younger days, bought this as a replacement copy. Brings not only past memories forward but still has relevant enjoyment for me today. It's a quirky and poetic feel still, which may continue to attract younger minds in our present culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moondog - The CBS Albums, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moondog / Moondog 2 (Audio CD)
MOONDOG 1 & 2The biographical facts concerning the life of Louis Hardin (AKA Moondog) 1916 - 1999 are easily found on the internet and I would recommend that people read and are aware of a truly great American composer who lived on the streets of New York (he was not homeless), dressed as the god, Odin, invented musical instruments despite being blind and was friends with Charlie Parker and once made an album with Julie Andrews. He made two albums for Columbia (CBS) Records on 1969 and 1971 produced by James William Guercio (best known for his work with Chicago) which both on this CD. The first was recorded with a full orchestra and is classical music , I suppose, with jazz rhythms and it was extraordinary then as it is now. The second album - Moondog 2 (I do not think it got a UK release) is a vocal record featuring his daughter and is 26 rounds some funny, some sad, some strange. It was totally uncommercial and did not sound like it could be played on Radio 3 as "Moondog" did so did not sell but I still think its wonderful. Louis Hardin made many records in his long life (but not enough) and lived for a long time in Germany. His is a world that needs exploring and this CD of his two albums for a "major" label with money behind these recordings is a fine place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moondog 1+2, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moondog / Moondog 2 (Audio CD)
Genious, strange and a must have piece. The first album is a rare flower blooming in every man's collection. Intriguing and delightful to the ears and the brain. Moondog 2 seems to require a certain ammount of effort to get into it, still it's like a sample of small ideas like a box of chocolates from where you pick and taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moondog / Moondog 2
Moondog / Moondog 2 by Moondog (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews