Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars8
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.18+ £1.26 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2003
What can be said about this song. It's one of the best songs ever written, no question. Haunting arppegios, stunning vocals, superb lyrics. This song is so emotive, and is Radiohead at their very best.
An extra incentive to buy this purchase along with the bends, is that the following track, "Talk Show Host" is one of the best b sides you will ever hear. They play it at every gig, and it didnt even make it onto an album. Sensational.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2007
Most Radiohead fans would agree than Street Spirit is one of their better works. It's full of angst and woe and has perhaps the most mournful riff since Beethoven's "Moonlight Sonata". Any fan of music, anyone who appreciates beauty expressed through an auditory medium, will recommend it. It's spectacular.

There are two ways to listen to this song.

The first is to just listen and not think about it. This is what I think most people who listen to it do. It's the easy way.

If you actually take the time to appreciate the entire compostition, if you dare to seek its meaning and really let it sink in, you may never listen to it again. It's a bit disturbing. The agony of the song will penetrate you and grab hold. It's like a stir of echoes. "Cracked eggs, dead birds; scream as they fight for life." You might find yourself in a similar position. This is beautiful song, but it isn't pleasant and it isn't happy. To me its about death and the uncertainty of anything else afterward. In essence, this song is not for the sqeamish. It's one of the saddest pieces ever made. It puts "Eleanor Rigby" to shame and even the most meloncholy of Pink Floyd can't compare.

A lot of my friends criticize Radiohead for being too depressing. I think that most of them just don't understand. Street Spirit, and all of Radiohead, will appeal to anyone looking to be moved. It's for the complex individual. If you want something to bump in your ride when you're strolling downtown for chicks, it's not for you. If you want to turn off the lights and really consider the human condition, than it might be.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2001
This song will go down as one of the best of the century. Ed's haunting arpegios and Thoms erie lyrics make this a listening experience that won't be forgot. Also the CD contains two other great tracks: "Talkshow host", which desrves a placing on an album. And Bishops robes which is average radiohead....which isn't that average at all.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2000
This is an amazing CD which should grace the collection of every radiohead fan. Street spirit is one of their best songs and Talk show host is an amzing song too. Buy it now.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2003
Radiohead never cease to amaze, and this offering adds to their streak of rock classics.
Street Spirit is a great closing track for Radiohead's album The Bends, but as a standalone listen few songs can beat it. As soon as the song begins and the guitarwork starts, you can feel the song is about to explode and immerse you. The song portrays Thom Yorke's feelings and emotions perfectly. Sit back, close your eyes and turn up the volume. You're in for a four-minute journey wrenching you from the depths of despair to the height of pleasure.
If you ask me, this single may well be your best music purchase. My copy certainly gets a regular airing. Buy it now!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2000
I first heard "Street Spirit" on the radio a few years ago. It's one of those songs that is catchy and sticks in your head. Radiohead clearly demonstrate their tallent with the guitar in this track. If you like this then invest in "The Bends" because you'll love it. Classic Radiohead!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2000
the a side is a classic, but i think there are equally as good songs on this cd , 'Bishops robes' and 'talk show host' are really good. The version of talk show host is the original version (better than the Nelly Hooper remix from the film 'romeo and juliet')
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2005
Firstly let's get Bishop's Robes and Talk Show Host out of the way, they're both excellent songs, o.k. cool. Now let's get on to the important stuff, Street Spirit is the greatest thing of any type ever made by anyone, this is mankind's greatest gift to the world. Every time I listen to this song I never want to hear anything else, I want to die listening to this song. The whole song is perfect, but just before the last chorus when the drums kick in is somehow better than perfect, if there was a God which there obviously isn't this would be it, i'm not exaddurating, words aren't enough to describe this song. In conclusion, buy this cd now or even better buy The Bends which not only has Street Spirit but load's of other songs which all kick ass and of course it also has Fake Plastic Tree's another of the best songs ever written. In fact ignore everything I've just said and buy both cd's and everything Radiohead have ever done.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)