Customer Reviews
Hot


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One hot album!
Deemed by many as the 'Jimmy Gulzar bashing album', Hot, Spice Girl, Melanie B's first solo record does indeed see Brown getting rather feisty at times, but of the five tracks she co-wrote, only one song, the single 'Tell Me' talks of Gulzar ('and all you loved was Mel B's money'). The album is defined by the special guests and producers including former BLACKstreet...
Published on 11 Nov. 2000 by david@poponline.co.uk

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
very bad album she can't sing to save her life
Published 27 days ago by bj


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One hot album!, 11 Nov. 2000
By 
david@poponline.co.uk (Hornchurch, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hot (Audio CD)
Deemed by many as the 'Jimmy Gulzar bashing album', Hot, Spice Girl, Melanie B's first solo record does indeed see Brown getting rather feisty at times, but of the five tracks she co-wrote, only one song, the single 'Tell Me' talks of Gulzar ('and all you loved was Mel B's money'). The album is defined by the special guests and producers including former BLACKstreet members Teddy Riley and Eric Williams, Missy Elliott, Sisqo, Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis, Rodney Jerkins and bizarrely, Mel's actor boyfriend Max Beesely. However, vocally Mel puts in a all round good performance, and the last track 'Feel Me Now' proves what a deep sexy voice she has - phwoar! 'Lullaby', is the most honest and touching moment on the album, a truely beautiful song written by Mel for her 2 year old daughter, Phoenix Chi. The song, enough to reduce even the most heavy hearted listeners to tears ('..but I know this love is unconditional, deep inside you're my living joy'). Woth buying for the cover sleeve alone, but there's tons of top tracks to satisfy your pop tastebuds. Pure quality R&B.
Best Song: Hell No Worst Song: I Believe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is hot!, 13 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot (Audio CD)
Mel B's three solo singles have all rocked so I had high expectations of the album. I wasn't disappointed. Things kick off with Feels So Good which is just a really nice love song, and then there's Tell Me, which is the amazing current single. Lullaby is a cute little ballad about Phoenix which is followed by Step Inside, my favourite song which is a really cool, Destiny's Child 2-stepper. Every song is great and the production is excellent all the way through thanks to Sisqo, Fred and Rodney Jerkins, Missy Elliott, and many other talented producers. At the end of the CD, there is I Want You Back with Missy, which is very dark and groovy, Pack Your Sh*t which is really angry and excellent, and to finish a sleazy song called Feel Me Now. This whole album is great and Mel's voice and personality shine. It hasn't been out of my stereo since I bought it. The best RnB album of the year so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Second Solo Spice Album, 19 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot (Audio CD)
Finally, the debut solo album from the first Spice Girl to go solo is out!! And it's no disappointment!!! Not only does it include amazing R'n'B such as 'Hotter', 'Tell Me' and the imaginatevely titled 'Pack Your S**t', it includes amazing pop songs like 'Feels So Good' which is the next single, and beautiful ballads like 'Lullaby', which is a pretty melody about her daughter, Phoenix Chi. I am very impressed with this album and in my point of view, is the greatest solo offering by any Spice Girl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPRISINGLY BRILLIANT, 28 Oct. 2000
This review is from: Hot (Audio CD)
When a friend first played this album to me I expected it to be cheaply produced rubbish, but I was shocked to find how good it actually was. The first track is "Feels So Good", no not the one by Sonique. This is an upbeat track that you wont be able to stop tapping your feet to. The second track is the top five smash, "Tell Me". The third on the album is "Hell No", a slushy lovey dovey song, reminds me of some of Mariah Carey's slushy stuff, but unfortunatly Melanie is not quite capable of matching Mariah's amazing 8 octave range and so this song soon becomes tedious. Next up is "Lullaby", likely to be a future single and written about her daughter, "Lullaby" is a pop ballad feel good song and after a few plays you can't help but sing along. Number five on the album is probably the worst. It's called "Hotter" and, despite the interesting introduction, has a dissapointing chorus. "Step Inside" is number six on the album. It mixes old fashioned jazz vocals with a delightful "Destiny's Child-like" backing track. Track seven is "I Believe". Reminding me of school choir practice "I believe" has huge potential for numerous harmonies and echo effects but the result, although still very good, does not really represent it's full potential. Number nine on the album is the huge number one smash hit, "I Want You Back" and is one of the best on the album. The penultimate track on the album is "Pack Your Shit", my personal favourite, features male vocal talents and will have you moving your hips in no time. The only problem with this song is that Mel doesn't actually say the "F" word. When it comes to say she just stops dead. An obvious ploy to keep with her younger fans. The hillarious "Feel Me Now" is the final track and sees Mel talking all about her fantasies. With lines such as ". . . a woman needs to feel pleasure and the pleaseure is all mine", "Feel Me Now" is a half decent track and if you dont like it, you can always laugh at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A REAL GROWER - FAB!!!, 1 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot (Audio CD)
When I first listened to this album I was very impressed. The tracks that stood out instantly were "Feels So Good" "Lullaby" and of course the singles "I Want You Back" and "Tell Me", which has the very emotioanl line "I thought love was finally here" - v. sad... Anyway, after listening to it religiously I really love "Pack You S***!" and "Hell No". I really don't want Mel B to release the song "Hotter" coz it just isn't very good - that is the only song on the album that I'm indifferent towards. I absolutely love this album - far better than Mel C's but then you can't really compare them coz they're very different. A good RnB album is hard to find but you can rely on Mel to come up trumps. After the first listen it's alright but after a few listens the album becomes essential to your CD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do You Want Her Back?, 18 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Hot (Audio CD)
I was never a fan of the Spice Girls, but there was always something about this girl that drew me in. She's fierce, fiery and she's got lots of attitude and spunk. Her role in the Spice Girls was obviously stylized, but that doesn't really matter, since it obviously worked. "Hot", her first solo album is not as great as its lead single "I Want You Back", which is a delicious slice of mystic r'n'b. Missy E. wrote the song for Melanie, and it suits her so perfectly, so I can't help but feel somewhat disappointed by the rest of the album. Melanie is a decent singer along the lines of Grace Jones and Janet Jackson, and she's certainly got the fire and drive of Grace Jones, but her music lacks the same rhythmic glory.

Highlights: "I Want You Back", "Feel So Good", "Lullaby" and "Tell Me".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST ALBUM OF THE NEW YEAR!!, 8 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot (Audio CD)
This album is the best album i have bought this year, its 100% fab. she really has buckets of talent that have shown through with the album, the song HOTTER is simply amazing a real tune that gets u hooked. i'd give her 10 stars easily. shes by far the best R&B act the UK has, and should hang on to her NOW GO OUT AND BUY IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Melanie B...hmmm?, 18 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot (Audio CD)
Oh Melanie, Melanie? How could you? If you want to know why I'm being so dramatic, check out the credits for songwriters. Mel.B's lyrical talent spans three group albums, but here...it seems as though it didn't. While the album is decent, and give us more flavor than most American r&b albums. (Say...Blu Cantrell or Debelah Morgan?)
Mel.B obviously has some taste in music, with the first track 'Feels So Good' she gives funk and pop a exploding fusion. 'Tell Me' sounds like a runaway Looney Tune cartoon at first, then in come the many bass-lines. 'Hell No' is at the most, one of the weakest tracks, but the lyrics make you think. 'Lullaby' which was dedicated to her daughter was sweet and innocent, with its childish ways.
The best track by far was 'Feel Me Now', the sexy-romp into Mel's fantasies of sex. Sadly, most of these songs (excpet 'Lullaby') were co-written if not written at all by Mel.B.
This makes for a bad mixture, since her fellow bandmates album, Mel.C's 'Northern Star' is very personal, in a sense of lyrics and music choice. She had the producers and voice, but didn't mine her lyrical talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They all derserve a chance!, 12 Nov. 2004
By 
Robert Sims "R.Sims" (Resolven, South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hot (Audio CD)
I have to state that this album is awsome. Every critic in the world were waiting for EVERY spice girl to screw up and they are trying really hard to find EVERY LITTLE POINT to bring them down. This album has GREAT music, style and diversity. Melanie Brown ( scary spice) has put her feelings into songs and has come away with a great 'port folio'. The critics have done their best to trash it and unfortunately got the better over this talented person. If you notice...EVERY spice girl has had to go through the most extreme and unfounded critisism; I THINK IT IS UNFAIR AND NO WONDER THEY HAVE ALL MOVED ABROAD!!! (EXEPT BABY). Mel.....this is an awsome ablum! She has done the UK proud!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's as HOT as it sounds...!!!!, 20 May 2001
This review is from: Hot (Audio CD)
Scary Spice debut solo album proves one more time that the Spice Girls have talent although they had to prove it with solo work, but anyways, this album is fantastic is a very good R&B album. My fav songs on this album would be "Feels So Good" and "Hotter", the others songs are still as good, but these two deserve more attention from everyone. "Hotter"truly deserves to become a single. Another very good track on the album is "I want You Back" an awesome duet with fab rapper Missy Elliot. If you are a Spice fan or an R&B listener you surely must buy this right now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hot
Hot by Melanie B (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews