Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So underestimated
Freddie's solo work never gained the recognition that it deserved compared to Queen.

When you listen to this album you will see the true diversity of his vocal range and desire to create musical works of art.

Operatic, indulgent, genius, Freddie Mercury we were robbed of a true talent.
Published on 24 Dec 2009 by A. R. Deards

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bargain at the price, but fans may feel a little cheated
There's no new material on this three album collection, but for those who like Queen, but have yet to sample Mercury's solo music, this is the place to start. His 1985 solo album, Mr. Bad Guy - unavailable on CD for years - and Barcelona, his album of duets with soprano Monserrat Caballe, and a third album of other singles - including the No. 1 remix of Living on My Own...
Published on 1 Oct 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bargain at the price, but fans may feel a little cheated, 1 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Solo - The Very Best of Freddie Mercury (Audio CD)
There's no new material on this three album collection, but for those who like Queen, but have yet to sample Mercury's solo music, this is the place to start. His 1985 solo album, Mr. Bad Guy - unavailable on CD for years - and Barcelona, his album of duets with soprano Monserrat Caballe, and a third album of other singles - including the No. 1 remix of Living on My Own. The committed will probably have all of the above - but will no doubt be saving the 10 CD box set anyway! Those wanting to dip their toes into Mercury's solo music would probably be better served by the 1992 Freddie Mercury Album. It's a shame that this album doesn't have his early cover of Goin' Back (under the pseudonym Larry Lurex) nor the Queen's 'Heaven for Everyone' by Roger Taylor's band The Cross, with Mercury guesting on lead vocals. To get those you'll need to get the larger collection - but that's probably too much material. Some of the material - including Barcelona, Living on My Own and The Great Pretender - has already featured on both the Freddie Mercury Album and Queen's Greatest Hits Vol. 3. It's hard to see the justification for releasing it on yet another collection. Yet at little more than the price of a single CD, this is a cheap way to get 95% of Mercury's solo output at a stroke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So underestimated, 24 Dec 2009
By 
A. R. Deards "angelal" (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Solo - The Very Best of Freddie Mercury (Audio CD)
Freddie's solo work never gained the recognition that it deserved compared to Queen.

When you listen to this album you will see the true diversity of his vocal range and desire to create musical works of art.

Operatic, indulgent, genius, Freddie Mercury we were robbed of a true talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff from an artist sorely missed., 3 July 2014
By 
Mr. N. H. Jones (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo - The Very Best of Freddie Mercury (Audio CD)
Great stufff from Freddie. "Mr Bad Guy" is a classic album. I thought the Barcelona album was weak, apart from the title track, which is absolutely brilliant of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I can hear music, 28 May 2014
By 
Mister D (The Royal County) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Solo - The Very Best of Freddie Mercury (Audio CD)
This is a nice collection of Mercury's solo output including the 2 albums released during his life-time ("Barcelona" and "Mr Bad Guy") as well as a "bonus disc" which rounds up some of the singles.

The main benefit to this package is the re-issue of Mr Bad Guy which had been long out of print on CD. Original CD copies of the album went for serious money and there were a number of poor quality bootlegs floating around.
Mr Bad Guy is somewhat patchy but has some great tracks such as "there must be more to life than this" and "I was born to love you". Its biggest problem is the production which is very much of its time (early-mid 80's) and this lets down some good songs. For all its faults, Mr Bad Guy is still a good album.

Barcelona has been widely available as a separate CD for ages but is here in remastered form. A great fusion of rock and opera it is Mercury's finest solo effort and deserves a place in your CD collection.

The so called "bonus CD" is interesting and includes "The Great Pretender", "Time" and other single releases. My only complaint is they should have included "Goin' Back". This is the B-Side to the Larry Lurex single "I can Hear Music" which is the first track on the disc and is included on the much larger 10 disc Solo collection released at the same time.

Packaging includes a slip case, double Jewel box (with Barcelona and Mr Bad Guy) as well as a cardboard sleeve containing the additional disk. There is also a comprehensive booklet. I would have preferred the bonus disc to be included in a proper case.

Mercury's solo work was sometimes patchy but interesting and worth investigating. If you like Queens music and want to dig a bit deeper, this collection is a good starting point as it has the major albums/singles.

It is essential for Mercury fans who don't have "Mr Bad Guy" and want to add it to their collection (unless you want to spend big money on either the 10 CD set or an original 80's disc).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At his very best he was very, very good., 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo - The Very Best of Freddie Mercury (Audio CD)
There's not much to say really, if you liek Freedy Mercury then you will love this, and if you don't you probably won't be reading this review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hate him or Love him, 23 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo - The Very Best of Freddie Mercury (Audio CD)
Freddie Mercury "Marmite Man of Music" ( should I register Triple M) This is well worth the money a tribute to the Ultimate Showman , don't care who you are ,you have to admit He stole the show when Freddie hit the stage.. I enjoy the music and memories thanks Freddie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Freddie tracks not often heard, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo - The Very Best of Freddie Mercury (Audio CD)
Condition was excellent.
One hears many Queen tracks, but not many Freddie songs solo or outside Queen.
Not all good, but many excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every bit as good as I remembered, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo - The Very Best of Freddie Mercury (Audio CD)
I had this set when it first came out but lost it to an ex! So I was delighted to be able to rediscover it and find it was every bit as good as I remembered. It's got the full Barcelona album on it together with the Mr Bad Guy album and a bonus CD with other tracks on. It's not the same as The Best of Freddie Mercury album, and is excellent value for money. I got lost in the soaring tracks on Barcelona - Freddie at his imperious best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great artist, 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo - The Very Best of Freddie Mercury (Audio CD)
whot a terrific purchase two brilliant cds for such a bargain pice ,both in pristine condition,he just blows me away every time i listen he is so tragically missed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album proves the sheer genius that was Freddie Mercury, 1 Dec 2000
By 
This review is from: Solo - The Very Best of Freddie Mercury (Audio CD)
The album is full of the best of Freddie and more besides. The Barcelona CD is amazing and proves that the man was an absolute musical genius....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Solo - The Very Best of Freddie Mercury
Solo - The Very Best of Freddie Mercury by Freddie Mercury (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews