Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern blues work of art!!
Although R L Burnside has been around sometime now (he's in his 70's you know), this album is very modern. Using all the tricks by such groups as prodigy, Moby etc (sample and much more). Does this ruin the authenticity, well quite honestly no. All it does is add a new spice to a remarkable talent. His best album yet! Reason the album has not got 5 stars is it is not...
Published on 27 Jun. 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
not as good as I expected
Published 15 days ago by john calland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern blues work of art!!, 27 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
Although R L Burnside has been around sometime now (he's in his 70's you know), this album is very modern. Using all the tricks by such groups as prodigy, Moby etc (sample and much more). Does this ruin the authenticity, well quite honestly no. All it does is add a new spice to a remarkable talent. His best album yet! Reason the album has not got 5 stars is it is not quite to the standard of Muddy Waters, Lightning Hopkins and the recently deceased John Lee Hooker. But R L Burnside has proved he is open to new ideas to improve his art, highly recommended for true blues fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did I ever miss this man?, 15 Dec. 2001
By 
Richard Broom "RRR700" (Lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Every so often I pull out a gem from Amazon. R L Burnside's 'Wish I Was in Heaven Sitting Down' is one of those oh so rare sparklers that should be part of anyone's collection whether you like Blues music or otherwise. An interesting mix of blues and other 'new' musical influences makes this CD notably special and collectable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful album - dripping with blue charisma......, 18 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
It's a rare treat to find a blues album that actually flirts with new ideas and makes them work.
A superb blend of blues and technology, chilling, mournful & with every sense of hellhounds on the trail !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Really UP Blues Album, 23 Aug. 2004
By 
R.L. Burnside sings with emotion, this man KNOWS BLUES, he has LIVEDBLUES, and STILL HAS HOPE ... tinged with an Alabama accent, he sings with a southern drawl, full of the realities of life. The liner booklet says it best (& I quote): "The last genuine performer of raw Mississippi hill country sounds as well as cutting edge crossover artist the blues has had in the past 30 years." Honesty, depth, detail, raw emotions, earthy statements: it's all here & more! Great lyrics, great slide guitar playing,too. "Too Many Ups" one of the tracks, is a play on words: "You gotta look UP to the man ... too many ups, too many ups, too many upside down", "You gotta coer up", "You gotta catch up", "You gotta get paid up", "Too many upside downs". Some other favorites are, the title song, "Wish I was in Heaven Sittin' Down", "Hard Times", and "Chain of Fools".
Let the lyrics of "Nothin' Man" tell his story:
"I never had a chance ... it never was fault MY fault. You can't arrest me. I pay the rent. I never wanted to be a BAAAD person. I wish my mama had loved me. You can't arrest me. It never was MY fault ... I never wanted to be a BAD person." The ambient music contrasts nicely with the words & lyrics, with a shadow of the underside of life - not far off from the truth. This is genuine, visceral music: FAT POSSUM RECORDS have provided us a vehicle to enjoy the music of this living legend of Mississippi blues. They have a great sense of humor, too. Inside the CD is a card to fill out with demographics, and a block of space, with the instructions: "trace your housekey here" YOU GOTTA LOVE 'EM!
Three "bonus" tracks are included: "Black Mattie" by Robert Balfour (a rather scarry piece of music & lyrics, too), "Pucker Up Buttercup" by Paul Jones, & my favorite of the three, "Laugh to Keep from Cryin'" written & sung by Burnside's ado[pted son, Kenny Brown, a great talent in his own right who has learned & apprenticed with this MASTER OF MISSISSIPPI BLUES, THE LIVING LEGEND! Erika Borsos (bakonyvilla)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not extra 4 track version see review, 21 Jan. 2014
By 
Markie4 (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent album but if you want the 15 track version enter the bar code 5021456102617 at search to take you there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 22 Aug. 2006
By 
S. King "the-eggking" (Greater London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WISH I WAS IN HEAVEN... (Audio CD)
The voice is there, but there are also examples scratching and some truly stupefying bass drum sounds. It was a total surprise to me as I was expecting that classic, droning blues sound. This must be what happens when a good ol' blueser asks "what are the kids doing nowadays?" Well it works OK, sometimes. More often than not it is fine, but on the odd occasion it's slightly embarassing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
very interesting mix of funky ole blues with a modern twist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 26 Sept. 2003
for a long time now i have thought j l hooker was king of the blues.rl burnside is sharing his crown!
this album is fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not as good as I expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wish I Was in Heaven Sitting Down [VINYL]
Wish I Was in Heaven Sitting Down [VINYL] by R. L. Burnside (Vinyl - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews