Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a guitar master-piece
i have to say first of all that this album is superb, catchy (if not immediately) and with a very, very long life span. BUT my main point is that every budding guitarist out there (like myself) who feel they are stuck in a box or shape, listen to this record for inspiration. what sounds fairly tuneless to start with soon becomes addictive and greatly enjoyable. the lead...
Published on 18 Aug 2001 by sjewkestheloon@hotmail.com

versus
6 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A word of caution
I bought this record in a rare mood of trustung optimism. I had never heard the group before, but some of the reviews weere intriguing. Brushing aside reviews citing the group/record as the next coming, I remained curious. Surely all those reviews raving about the great sound, and bandying words such as "seminal", citing diversity, suggesting "passion, melody and genious"...
Published on 30 Sep 2006 by S. Hunt


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a guitar master-piece, 18 Aug 2001
This review is from: Relationship of Command (Audio CD)
i have to say first of all that this album is superb, catchy (if not immediately) and with a very, very long life span. BUT my main point is that every budding guitarist out there (like myself) who feel they are stuck in a box or shape, listen to this record for inspiration. what sounds fairly tuneless to start with soon becomes addictive and greatly enjoyable. the lead guitarists small expressions often verge on bluesey in feel and then reduce to visceral squeals the next. you have to hear it to believe it. trust me :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant, 25 July 2003
This review is from: Relationship of Command (Audio CD)
Amidst the sea of watered down nu-metal and post-grunge boredom come a truly inspirational band. 'Relationship of Command' is the album that introduced one of the greatest rock acts ever into the mainstream...
...and then they went and split. A terrible shame, though it was, they've left behind some fantastic music (and look to go on to make more with new bands such as Sparta and The Mars Volta).
'Relationship of Command' is often hailed as the band's best album, due partly to the brilliant production job from uber-producer Ross Robinson, but mainly because the band seem completely comfortable with what they're doing.
The album is quite avante garde and obscure in places, never afraid to break the boundaries, but the band's feel for melody and tunefulness also shines through. That said, the album actually has quite dark, heavy feel, unlike the previous releases, but still remains instantly accessible.
Part of the brilliance of the album is that it appeals on a number of levels. It has the accessibility and rock 'n' roll attitude for you to simply rock to, but listen closely and you notice the intricacy of the music, and the highly thought-provoking lyrics.
To top it all off, the vocals of Cedric Bixler are amazing. He has a good singing voice, but it is his gravelly shout that really stands out.
'Relationship of Command' is everything a rock album should be - intellignet, inspirational, unafraid to experiment and, above all, hugely enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern rock masterpiece, 21 Nov 2002
By 
DAVEDETH454 (Moyvane,Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Relationship of Command (Audio CD)
One of the great tragedies of this millenium so far, is that At the Drive in did not recieve more mainstream attention.
The band disbanded right before their big chance at pop recognition. At the Drive in, like Nirvana before them, could of exposed the world at large, to an antidote to the virus of corporate rock. But sadly, they didnt, oh well, thats the mainstreams loss, but the cult of At the Drive in's immeasurable gain.
This album is a plethora of genres,the ferocity of punk, the groove of dub reggae, the subtle atmospherics of trip hop and the
emotion of ...well..emo, stirred in a potuntil it forms something new and wonderful.The albums standout track, invalid litter department, is a glorius epic six minutes of eccentric lyrics, subtle aggression and some of the finest piano playing in the history of rock.
Relationship of command does not feature one filler track, every song, is brimming with emotion and has its own distinct identity.
The album is not flawless, at times Cedric Bixlers voice can be irritating, but that is only a minor glitch in an album, that deserves to be revered as a classic.
Its sad to think since At the Drive in called it a day, we've seen the rise of Puddle of mud and Nickelback, truly that is a shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glue it in your stereo!, 22 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Relationship of Command (Audio CD)
What can I say? They recently gobsmacked everyone on Later with Jools Holland with their downright stonkingly violent performance. Rock is returning! The album takes a while to get into but it won't leave your stereo. I suggest you just glue it in. The highlights have to be Mannequin Republic, One Armed Scissor and the sublime Arcarsenal. Incredibly catchy riffs, supreme vocals and pulsating energy. Simply exhilirating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is it our birthday or something?, 2 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Relationship of Command (Audio CD)
This album is a masterpiece. At the drive-in are better than Nirvana. But it seems no-one's allowed to say that anymore. Anyway, this record has a "no frills" honesty about it. There's genuine passion throughout the album, backed by mind-boggling lyrics with may not be completly clear, but allow you to make valid interpretations of your own. And there are snippets of greatness peppered along the way. The tempo is fast, and this suits the vocal stylings of Cedric Bixler, who may not technically be the finest singer, but has a dramatic voice that no-one could utilise any better. The music is complex and accessible at the same time, and I can't imagine how they pieced the instruments together to make one great song after another. Some may say there isn't much variation here, but this album just shows where the band was at the time. If you want variation - refer to their previous albums/EPs which don't parallel the intensity of this album. If you like The Icarus Line/Refused/Your Enemies Friends - buy this album. This band may have gone on 'hiatus', but at least we have this timeless classic from their relics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reminded me why I love rock music, 25 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Relationship of Command (Audio CD)
This album is an outstanding piece of work. The band manage to channel all their rage, angst and disgust at the underbelly of America into blistering riffs, crashing drums and rare these days in rock, inteligent lyrics.
Rock fans, do yourself a favour and buy this album. Let At The Drive-In get angry for you!
Nu-metal fans buy this album as an education.
"They call it a wasteland, they call it a waste land baby"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!!, 12 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Relationship of Command (Audio CD)
This is the future. Forget the pre-packaged angst of Limp Bizkit and say hello to At The Drive-In. It only took one hearing of "Rolodex Propaganda" on the radio to realise that this band is something special. This is one of the most original and thrilling records of the last decade. Combining the punk edge of Nirvana, the complex structure of Fugazi and the kind of shouty vocals that made Rage Against The Machine so great, this is punk for the thinking man. Its hard to pick the highlights as every song is fantastic, but here are my personal faves: *Arcarsenal-fast paced slice of punk rock genius. *One Armed Scissor-catchy as hell hardcore punk. *Invalid Litter Dept.-mellow(ish) rock with a brilliant singalong chorus. *Rolodex Propaganda-rage against the machine style metal with guest vocals by iggy pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly awesome, 21 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Relationship of Command (Audio CD)
This album takes ages to work under your skin. A sprawling, shreiking, ranting, writhing album of pure white rage. This is perfectly, originally constructed punk music. The first time you hear it, it's just noise and fury. Nothing special. After several listenings, the depth of the music and the obscure intelligence of the lyrics work into your mind brilliant. An epic, landmark piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars has to be heard to be believed, 7 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Relationship of Command (Audio CD)
I received this album as a present, having heard only one song (Invalid Litter Dept.) a couple of times before. I didn't know what to expect but I was very very pleasantly suprised, I've been listening to it non-stop ever since! This album has so much raw emotion emitting from it that at first it can feel overwhelming. The shouty vocals take a little time to adapt to but once you have you will be singing away like mad. The choruses being stuck in your head for days on end. Listen to the clips, order the album, get the album, listen to the album, adore the album, constantly listen to the album. You MUST have this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must buy! Best album in a long time!, 22 Dec 2000
This review is from: Relationship of Command (Audio CD)
I am but a child to this world. In my life I have listened to the likes of The Offspring, Blink 182 and Green Day. Then I heard "Rolodex Propaganda". On the basis of this song I bought this album. Relationship of Command will blow you away. Tracks such as "Enfilade", "Cosmonaut" and "Catacombs" by themselves make this album worthwhile. I have heard this band are only good live but by the sound of this album that is wrong. This is not just full of loud guitars and screaching lyrics though,more gentle songs like "Non-zero possibility" add softer sounds to this album. The lyrics in most of these songs may not mean anything but that doesn't mean you can't enjoy the songs as the loud and screaching guitars will blow you away. This is a must have album!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Relationship of Command
Relationship of Command by At the Drive-In (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews