Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Milk....But in a Dirty Glass!"
This very funny film was directed and written by Frank Tasklin and was a sequel to the earlier "Paleface". It is one of those rare occasions where the sequel is widely regarded to be better than the original. A view that I would agree with.

Bob Hope plays Peter "Junior" Potter the son of the character from the last film. Jane Russell also makes a second...
Published on 14 Mar. 2009 by Bob Salter

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Son of Paleface
Viewing this DVD was a trip in nostalgia. I first saw it at a very early age. I thoroughly enjoyed it then.
Published on 22 Nov. 2012 by Bev


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Milk....But in a Dirty Glass!", 14 Mar. 2009
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Son Of Paleface [DVD] (DVD)
This very funny film was directed and written by Frank Tasklin and was a sequel to the earlier "Paleface". It is one of those rare occasions where the sequel is widely regarded to be better than the original. A view that I would agree with.

Bob Hope plays Peter "Junior" Potter the son of the character from the last film. Jane Russell also makes a second appearance as the saloon singer Mike Delroy and her alter ego "The Torch", a masked lady bandit who terrorises the town of Sawbuck Pass and its surrounds. Roy Rogers is the undercover agent sent to catch her. Potter is a hapless Easterner who comes West to collect his Fathers fortune and inadvertently gets mixed up in events.

There is lots of fun moments. I liked it when Hope turns up at the "Dirty Shame" saloon and orders a milk to hoots of derision and then quickly adds "In a Dirty Glass". The DVD is worth buying to see Roy Rogers singing " A Four Legged Friend" to his equally famous horse Trigger. This is definitely one of the best comedy Westerns ever and is up there with "Destry Rides Again"(39) and my personal favorite "Along Came Jones"(45). If this film makes you laugh half as much as I did then you will have bought a bargain. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely nonsense, 25 May 2009
By 
Tyke (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son Of Paleface [DVD] (DVD)
`Son of Paleface' has the edge over its predecessor, `Paleface'. Much more lively and sparky. The two stories are similar, in that Hope's wet-buffoon character pursues Jane Russell's hard-nosed character, but there's much more fun along the way.

Russell is an outlaw, `The Torch', and Hope is Paleface's son, who has left behind his Harvard education and come out West to claim his late daddy's fortune, bequeathed to him in his will.

Of course, there is no fortune - or so it appears - and Hope must therefore fend off the irate citizenry who want him to pay off the debts his father owed them.

Roy Rogers plays his usual unblemished, singing cowboy role, with faithful Trigger beneath him. He's been hired to track down The Torch, but of course, is unmoved by her obvious attractions and concerned only with justice. Rogers' affinity with his horse, in preference for Russell's charms, is poked fun at by Hope to good effect.

Plenty of silly verbal and sight gags throughout, and it must be said that the screen-double used for Hope in some scenes bears not even a remote resemblance to him.

Nonetheless, this film is good fun and raises many a giggle even today. One to sit back and enjoy for its numerous good points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Son Of Paleface (1952) ... Bob Hope & Jane Russell ... Frank Tashlin (Director) (2000)", 31 May 2011
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Son Of Paleface [DVD] (DVD)
Paramount Pictures presents "SON OF PALEFACE" (1952) (95 min/Color) -- Starring Bob Hope, Jane Russell, Roy Rogers, Bill Williams, Lloyd Corrigan & `Trigger'

Directed by Frank Tashlin

A sequel to Bob Hope's 1948 box-office success The Paleface, 1952's Son of Paleface is a superior product in every way, thanks largely to the spirited, creative direction of Frank Tashlin.

Peter `Junior' Potter (Bob Hope) is a Harvard-educated dude who heads West to claim the inheritance left him by his gunslinger father. Much to his chagrin, Junior discovers that his dad has left him nothing but debts. To stave off Potter Sr.'s angry creditors, Junior pretends that his father has salted away a fortune somewhere in the hills. This arouses the attention of curvaceous saloon owner Mike Delroy (Jane Russell), who doubles as a mysterious masked bandit known as The Torch. Meanwhile, federal agent Roy Barton (Roy Rogers) keeps tabs on Junior, hoping that he'll lead him to The Torch and her gang. True to form, ex-cartoonist Tashlin fills the screen with a wealth of inventive sight gags and inside jokes.

Hope & Russell get to reprise of The Paleface's Oscar-winning "Buttons and Bows," this time performed with the help of Roy Rogers.

Best scenes in Son of Paleface involve the smartest horse in the west, Trigger, constantly outsmarting Hope

A side splitting film. Bob Hope's wisecracking persona and writer-director Frank Tashlin's cartoon-like gags make a perfect blend. And anyone who enjoys Jane Russell has to check out her opening shot in the movie, in which the camera pans up her gorgeous legs while the band plays on, with Hope and Rogers looking on.

Oscar nominated for Best Song ("Am I in Love")

BIOS:
1. Frank Tashlin (aka: Francis Fredrick von Taschlein] (Director)
Date of Birth: 19 February 1913, Weehawken, New Jersey, USA
Date of Death: 5 May 1972 - Unknown

2. Bob Hope (aka: Leslie Townes Hope)
Date of Birth: 29 May 1903 - Eltham, London, England, UK
Date of Death: 27 July 2003 - Toluca Lake, California

3. Jane Russell (aka: Ernestine Jane Geraldine Russell)
Date of birth: 21 June 1921 - Bemidji, Minnesota
Date of Death: 28 February 2011 - Santa Maria, California

4. Roy Rogers [aka: Leonard Franklin Slye]
Date of Birth: 5 November 1911 - Cincinnati, Ohio
Date of Death: 6 July 1998 - Apple Valley, California

5. Trigger (the Smartest Horse in the Movies)
Date of Birth: 1932
Date of Death: 3 July 1965

Mr. Jim's Ratings:
Quality of Picture & Sound: 5 Stars
Performance: 5 Stars
Story & Screenplay: 5 Stars
Overall: 5 Stars [Original Music, Cinematography & Film Editing]

Total Time: 95 min on DVD/VHS ~ Paramount Pictures ~ (November 21, 2000)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope, 4 Jun. 2009
By 
Dr. Geroge D. Wright "Grahame" (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son Of Paleface [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a reminder of my childhood at the cinema therefore a real bonus in looking at how they used to make 'em
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Son Of Paleface., 9 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son Of Paleface [DVD] (DVD)
I had seen this movie in the early fifties, when I was a child and Roy Rogers (King Of the Cowboys) was my childhood hero, with his dashing good looks and magnificient crooning. Being a child at that time, I missed many of Bob Hope's one liner quips, but the movie was memorable, particularly with June Russell's stunning good looks. I already has a copy of this DVD, but it didn't have English subtitles - but this one has. Anyway, the movie has been beautifully restored, the print and the sound look as if it was made yesterday. It was a pleasure to listen to Roy Roger's songs like A Two legged friend, California Rose, and the evergreen Buttons and Bows. I sent a wonderful evening with the "Son Of Paleface" and his entire team. 5 stars out of five!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh a minute - great film, 15 Jan. 2008
By 
jojo "Jo" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Son Of Paleface [DVD] (DVD)
I have grown up watching this film with my dad and even to this day after seeing it many times I still find it funny. Definately worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one with the horse!, 2 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Son Of Paleface [DVD] (DVD)
The allegedly only horse to have ever been credited in the cast of characters, and what an actor it is! A lot of credit must of course go to it's owner and trainer Roy Rogers who also has a part; He too can act a bit. A moose's head that spits gold,a very sexy Jane Russell and a Bob Hope who's head literally spins around in his collar and disappears into his chest at the first taste of his late father's favourite drink are just a few of the elements that makes this picture a top favourite with every child between 9 and 129.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Far Superior Sequel!, 12 Oct. 2011
By 
Philip Roberts (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son Of Paleface [DVD] (DVD)
Having been disappointed by Paleface (which really stars Jane Russell with Bob Hope only supporting), I found this film greatly superior. The pre-ramble for Paleface claims it is Bob Hope's best movie. Not so! It is nowhere near it. His best film is The Lemondrop Kid! However, this greatly superior sequel is much better than Paleface. This time Bob Hope is the star and Jane Russell supports. That means this works as a comedy, which Paleface didn't. The plot is simple, Son of Paleface goes out west to get his in heritence, only to find it is lost/stolen/missing, and thinking he has got the money, dozens of creditors his rich father forgot to pay now come debt collecting. Jane Russell plays a very sexy bank robber, and helps this movie. Whereas in the first movie she made it a drama with jokes added, instead of a comedy as this film is.
The Lemon Drop Kid [DVD] [2006]
Son Of Paleface [DVD]
Son of Paleface [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the Original!, 14 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: Son Of Paleface [DVD] (DVD)
This is even better than the original Paleface. Hilarious! Watch it and you won't be disappointed!

DVD characteristics:
Language: English mono
Original aspect ratio: 1.33:1 in glorious Technicolor
Run time: 91 minutes
Subtitles: English HOH, Arabic, German, Greek, Hindi, Turkish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF HOPE'S BEST MOVIES., 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son Of Paleface [DVD] (DVD)
One of Bob Hope's best films,though personally I enjoyed the earlier "PALEFACE" film better.To me it was funnier of the two,maybe because it was more raw in its content,than the later movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews