Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Princess of Pop is back!
After far too long Kylie Minogue has finally made her return to pop music. And what a return this is. This album is pop music at its most perfect. Catchy and infectious tunes delivered by every gay man's favourite pop star. Britney and Madonna, it's time to step aside now and let the true queen of the charts show you how it's done:
1)SPINNING AROUND The single that...
Published on 26 Feb 2001 by samuelburrows@hotmail.com

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The "bonus" cd needed more planning...
If you are a Kylie fan and already have this album, PLEASE dont be fooled in thinking that you need this. YOU DONT!! Dont get me wrong, the original Light Years is fantastic , without a single flaw on the album, i'm solely basing this review on the whole "bonus" package. The extra cd consists of a hurry of remixes, and half of them have already been released on...
Published on 16 Mar 2001 by aboylikethis


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Princess of Pop is back!, 26 Feb 2001
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
After far too long Kylie Minogue has finally made her return to pop music. And what a return this is. This album is pop music at its most perfect. Catchy and infectious tunes delivered by every gay man's favourite pop star. Britney and Madonna, it's time to step aside now and let the true queen of the charts show you how it's done:
1)SPINNING AROUND The single that signaled her return, I'm sure all of you will know this uplifting tune, so I don't think I need to say anything about it.
2)ON A NIGHT LIKE THIS Another single, possibly not one of the exceptional tracks on the album, but nevertheless extremely catchy and easy to dance to.
3)SO NOW GOODBYE In this song Kylie tells her boyfriend that it's over and she's leaving him, and I can't help but love all songs like this. You go girl!
4)DISCO DOWN VERY catchy song. Another dancey one, this time with Kylie starting to use more of her vocal range.
5)LOVEBOAT The first of a few bilingual songs, this song is basically an invite to her boat. I'm not gonna say no. Very happy song, nice catchy tune. Love it.
6)KOOCACHOO The beginning of this is reminiscent of Cher's "The Beat Goes On", but it quickly moves away from that. A complimentary song about the "dream boy of my bedroom poster", a sweet song with a happy tune you can't help but like.
7)YOUR DISCO NEEDS YOU An epic song if ever there was one, this song has it all: a good beat, fabulous lyrics in two languages, strings and even a soaring operatic voice near the end. A true classic if ever there was one, this is one of the highlights of the album.
8)PLEASE STAY Yet another single, this one has lots of guitar in it, and an almost Latino sound sometimes, but is still very dance-orientated. A more melancholy song than most on the album, this is still a fabulous song.
9)BITTERSWEET GOODBYE Another sad song about a couples last night together. Basically just piano and strings in this one, Kylie's fabulous wavering vocals are flawless. A truly beautiful song.
10)BUTTERFLY Very definitely dance, this one has almost a Trance like sound. It's a very uplifting track which you can't help but dance to.
11)UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF LOVE This song reminds me of some of The Supremes songs. Celebrating the feeling of being in love, this is another song with quite a bit of strings, and breathy vocals, it has to be another single.
12)I'M SO HIGH Again, not a highlight, this is nonetheless a nice little song.
13)KIDS Her duet with one of pop's most well known stars Robbie Williams is an extremely good song. Lots of heavy breathing at the beginning and some very high pitched vocals from Robbie, a very enjoyable song. 14)LIGHT YEARS The best song on the album. Easily. It begins with a count down from 10, and the different sounds layered in. The bass line is similar to that of Donna Summers "I Feel Love". The song is about, as far as I can tell, a trip in a space ship to visit "the pop stars on the moon". This is pure genius, it has to be heard to be believed. This song alone makes the album a worthwhile purchase.
Overall, if you like pop, you'll love this, and even if you don't you'll probably find something to your taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kylie's greatest triumph to date!, 29 Mar 2002
By 
A. Alexander Arnold (Utah, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
We all know the song "Can't Get Your Out Of My Head", and the album "Fever". But do we appreciate the album that made Kylie the fresh faced, pop diva that she is today? No, I didn't think so. I know this review is a little late since "Light Years" was released well over a year ago, but to all that are thinking of buying the greatest pop album ever you need to forget "Fever" and buy "Light Years". Yeah, "Fever" is huge but the tracks all sound alike (don't get me wrong it's a fabulous album) but with "Light Years" you get a mix of her vocal heights and you experience what made Kylie the Queen of Pop. The smash hits alone - "Spinning Around", "On A Night Like This", "Please Stay", "Butterfly" and the classic funk pop tune "Your Disco Needs You" - make this album worth it. And plus those tracks she composed some awesome tunes such as "Koocachoo", "I'm So High", "Light Years" and the unforgetable duet with the Prince of Pop, Robbie Williams - "Kids". Also rewind the beginning of "Spinning Around" and there is a wonderful song called "Password" hidden behind it. Combine all these masterpieces with the rest of the fantastic songs on the cd and you get what is called the greatest album ever produced. So put this in your boom box, turn it full blast, and prepare to travel light years on KM air!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Other Queen of Pop is Back!, 26 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
OK, so let's get the inevitable comments out of the way first. Both Madonna and Kylie have released their first studio albums for two and three years (respectively) within seven days of each other. Madonna's "Music" (the track) has been said to be a retrospective look back at "Into the Groove"; Kylie's dropped the 'grunge' and gone back to her pop roots. In other words, maybe they are both taking a backwards look over their shoulders?
But that's enough! The two should never be compared anyway: what true similarities are there between them anyway?
With "Light Years", Kylie takes an unashamed look at the pop and disco styles of the 70s and 80s and it's FANTASTIC! "Disco Down", "Loveboat" and "Koocachoo" will get in your brain and will stay lodged there for days, in the most pleasant of ways, of course. Her thin voice is still thin, but is perfectly suited to the material, and she sounds as confident on this entire album as she did on "Confide in Me" (possibly her finest moment ever?). In fact, it is the very thinness of her voice that works so very perfectly on the sensitive ballad "Bittersweet Goodbye".
Miss Minogue has acknowledged on many occasions the regard she has for her gay fans- numerous appearances at G.A.Y. and at Gay Pride and Mardi Gras- and this album is no exception. There is a slice of pure camp excess on "Your Disco Needs You", with clear nods to "I Lost My Heart to a Starship Trooper" and The Village People. And, when the music breaks and Kylie proclaims, "...La disco a besoin de vous", no one but the most cynical wallflower could fail to feel the rush of sheer fun that results. But this is an album for everyone, straight or gay.
This is a fine pop album and one that will leave you feeling good in every way. There is no need to read anything into it, no hidden messages, just great sounding pop. Kylie should be very proud of her "comeback".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The "bonus" cd needed more planning..., 16 Mar 2001
By 
aboylikethis (Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
If you are a Kylie fan and already have this album, PLEASE dont be fooled in thinking that you need this. YOU DONT!! Dont get me wrong, the original Light Years is fantastic , without a single flaw on the album, i'm solely basing this review on the whole "bonus" package. The extra cd consists of a hurry of remixes, and half of them have already been released on the single/chart releases of the songs (eg. spinning around, please stay,on a night like this). So the only reasons left of why you would possibly buy this album is perhaps the Sandstorm Dub of Butterfly (which is quite good, but has hardly any vocals on), or the Casino mix of Your Disco Needs You (which is the reason i upped my review a star!!) - what ever happened to remixes of Disco Down? or the d bop voyager mix of Light Years??... Overall, this cd could have been better thought out, but hey, dont let me discourage any of you from buying the original Light Years - its a classic- but this extra cd certainly isnt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her Finest Hour, 19 Sep 2000
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
Kylie's 7th album places her back into hot pants and the disco spotlight, and the world is a better place because of it. A departure from the more alt-rock-pop sound of her last (and woefully underappreciated) cd "Impossible Princess", "Light Years" finds a more confident and playful Kylie. It's not surprising that there are some f***ing amazing songs here: Disco Down; Coocachoo; Butterfly; Light Years; Your Disco Needs You (all of which rank next to 'Confide in Me' and 'Better the Devil' as her very best work) -- we've come to expect that. What astonishes here is the consistency of the album as a whole, the cleverness in the song writing (3 co-written by Robbie Williams), the lack of a single filler song. "Spinning Around" was but the tip of the iceberg. Her voice has never sounded better, her songs have never been more infectious or memorable. The album's unabashed embrace of lyrics like "Now I boogie in my dreams, to LeFreak and Dancing Queen..." sets it apart from anything else out there. All hail the princess of pop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW - What An Album!, 7 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
I must admit I bought these in the wrong order, having bought Fever first, and I recently decided to buy this one!
This is a fantastic album, almost every song on it is great, with the exception of the weakest track, 'Please Stay' - why this was released as a single I don't know!
Highlights for me include 'On A Night Like This', 'Light Years', 'Spinning Around' and 'Under The Influence Of Love' - I remember the original too!
There's something for everyone on here, classic pop, 70's disco, or something a little more rocky courtesy of 'Kids'. However, by far my overall favourite is 'Your Disco Needs You' - it's got it all, the beat, the words, the voice and the atmosphere, all mixed together with an extra big slice of OTT camp. Had this been released, it would have been the biggest selling single from the album. Sheer pleasure a la Pet Shop Boys (Go West) and Village People (YMCA)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure disco!!, 15 May 2002
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
Can I just start by saying I have just read the firt 20 reviews of this album and no-one has said how amazing track 3 -SO NOW GOODBYE is; this track is the best song by far itll get u boogyin all your home!! Its pure disco with a funky bass and its bound to make you smile and put you in a top mood for the rest of the day!!!
Another top song is track 12 - UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF LOVE - its a similar style to the supremes old bamdsw like that - very uplifting.
One particular track that stuck out for me was track 6 - KOOCACHOO - if youve ever seen any Austin Powers movies you will understand - very sixties and very original!
Buy this album just to make you smile its amazin!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get down and disco with Kylie!, 29 July 2001
By 
Dave Beards (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
I had been a Kylie fan in the early SAW days, but had lost touch with Kylie's music since then. When I first played this I was totally blown away! This is great, great music. Very dance/disco orientated (except for the Robbie Williams duet 'Kids'), each track is a masterpiece in it's own right. There are no 'fillers' on this CD, all tracks are potential hits. Singing better than ever, Kylie really has the production team well chosen. Personal faves are 'You're disco needs you' (a classic dance song!)and 'Loveboat'. Do yourself a favour and get reaquainted with this wonderful Australian music diva with Light Years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her Finest Hour, 22 Sep 2000
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
Kylie's 7th album places her back into hot pants and back under the disco glitterball -- and the world is a better place because of it. A departure from the more alt-rock-pop sound of her last (and woefully underappreciated) cd "Impossible Princess," "Light Years" finds a more confident and more playful Kylie. It's not surprising that there is some of the best dance music heard in years on this cd: 'Disco Down'; 'Coocachoo'; 'Butterfly'; 'Light Years'; and especially 'Your Disco Needs You' (which ranks next to 'Confide in Me' and 'Better the Devil You Know' as some of her very best work) -- we've come to expect memorable songs from each Kylie album. What astonishes me here is the consistency of the album as a whole, the cleverness of the song writing (3 were co-written by Robbie Williams), and the lack of a single filler song. 'Spinning Around' was but the tip of the iceberg. Her voice has never sounded better, and her songs have never been more infectious or memorable. The album's unabashed embrace of lyrics like "Now I boogie in my dreams, to LeFreak or Dancing Queen..." sets it apart from everything else out there. All hail the princess of pop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flying high with KM, 18 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
What a trip this is, and what a pleasant change for a musical artist to unashamedly want to please their fans rather than indulge their own desire for experimentation (are you listening, Ms Ciccone?). Every song's a winner, and every song is like being taken by the hand by Kylie, and toured through the last two decades of pop music. Retrofunk Kylie, Disco Kylie, Village People Kylie, Dance Kylie, Ballad Kylie, Rock Kylie... even Costa Del Sol Kylie. Sure it's nothing ground-breaking, but there's nothing new under the sun and sticking with what you're good at is wholly justifiable if the public keeps buying it (just ask Enya!). Fizzier than a good champagne and twice as heady, Light Years is a shining example of an artist listening to their fans, and answering in the positive, and for that alone it deserves to sell millions.
"Thank you for flying KM air..." she purrs at the end, "we hope you have enjoyed your flight."
You betcha babe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Light Years
Light Years by Kylie Minogue (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews