Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the memory card to get.
Feel free not to read any further just do it. The Sony memory card is without doubt the most reliable (meaning you won't get corrupted data etc.). Now, while getting another memory card for 3 less might be appealing, it's just not worth it when you can lose 100 hours of gameplay or more in the blink of an eye with a third party one. By all mean, buy third party joypads,...
Published on 31 Dec 2003 by Marrissey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars PS2
The card works fine and as it is Sony Card, the quality of the product cannot be questioned and I would recommend it to a friend.
Published 14 months ago by stedsted


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the memory card to get., 31 Dec 2003
Feel free not to read any further just do it. The Sony memory card is without doubt the most reliable (meaning you won't get corrupted data etc.). Now, while getting another memory card for 3 less might be appealing, it's just not worth it when you can lose 100 hours of gameplay or more in the blink of an eye with a third party one. By all mean, buy third party joypads, remote controls and all the rest, but with memory cards it's really only safe to go with the Sony one, I am pretty much certain it won't let you down.
(One further piece of advice: don't be tempted by 16MB cards, they are well known to have problems and occasionally corrupt save files!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unless you are a goldfish, you'll need one of these, 10 Feb 2004
By 
Simon J. Whight "fourfourfun" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sony's 8meg memory card is the essential purchase to go along with any new PS2. The nature of gaming nowadays means that we have high scores to save, progress during games to save, options files to save ... and because we've moved on from cartridge media, where do we save this? Negating the need for an internal hard drive, Sony provided the memory card as the solution. 8meg large, its plenty of room for the avid gamer to fit a hell of alot of game data on. Imagine you have been bought a PS2, a lovely Squaresoft RPG and no memory card. Unless you plan on keeping your PS2 turned on for the duration of the 60hours+ of gametime needed to play the game, you're not going to get past the initial stages. Frustration ensues, and the PS2 is regarded with disgust as you quickly bore of your machine. Many parents out there don't know of the need of having this piece of hardware, I hope I'm making you aware of this need!
Something to note, PS1 game owners will not being able to save their game data to a PS2 memory card (much the same as many PS2 games like Gran Turismo 3 are not compatible with the old grey Dual Shock controllers). If you plan on playing PS1 games on your PS2, you will need the old style '15 block' 1meg cards for that.
When I first got my PS2, I thought that the rather pricey tag pretty much took the mickey. I remembered this though, after using a 3rd party memory card for a while on my PS1, it began to corrupt, losing valuable save data. This is something you really don't want to happen. The one thing about Sony is that they KNOW how to make the best hardware to support their machine. They make the best controllers, they make the best memory cards. Stick with Sony basically, and if this is your first foray into consoles and you've just got yourself a PS2, you must own one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 19 Feb 2006
By A Customer
Well, unless you complete all of your games in one sitting then you`ll need one of these. The capacity could do with being bigger as I have five of them now, with alot of the sports titles being extremely demanding on space. However, in the absence of any other storage medium (apart from the hard drive) this will have to make do. Don`t even think about getting a third party manufactured card as they are notoriously unreliable and you will end up in tears after losing your "hard work" when they conk out. Sony only please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Get A PS2 Without One!, 24 July 2005
I have had my Playstation 2 now for a couple of years and i don't know what i would do without one of these little memory cards to save all my game data on to. On the outside it just looks like a small piece of plastic, but on the inside it holds so much infomation that can be plucked out depending on which game you are on at the time.
In total this offical Sony memory card holds up to 8MB (Megabites), which although may not seem much in today's world of 300GB+ (Gigabites) computers, concidering how small it is and when it was first created, its pretty good, and can actually transfer data two hundred times faster than the original Playstation memory cards. If your a serious gamer then you probably won't be able to hold all your save points on one single memory card, you may need two or three or more, but for a more casual gamer such as myself, one card is plenty.
Of course different games vary in size and so they may take up more or less space depending on what is saved. On the old Playstation Memory Cards all the infomation was organised into blocks, and each game told your how many blocks saving would take up on your memory card. However this PS2 memory card is organised more like a computer where each game has its own icon, which you select and then see how big the file is.
To view your memory card you simply insert it into your PS2 and turn on the console. After a few seconds you can select the 'Browser' link and select which memory card slot you wish to view. You will then be presented with a list of icons. Each game that you have saved has an icon and you can usually tell what game it is from the icon. For example if its a football game you have saved, the icon may be a football (you get the idea). You can then select the game you want and view how big the save point is, when it was last saved etc, and you then have the option to delete the file. Easy.
Overall, this offical Playstation 2 memory card is a vital piece of storage software for your PS2 and i highly recommend that you get when you buy a PS2 console. With 8MB of space, a casual gamer will have just enough space to save games, and if you do run out of space and don't want to delete and files, simply get another card.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I agree, it is kind of sad reviewing a memory card., 17 Sep 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
All you need to know is that this is a card that will save your progress on PS2 games. With plenty of memory you can take it to someone elses PS2 and load your progress onto it instead of internal memory which is just stuck to its own console.

...its a card with memory you don't need to read a review about it do you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pricey but necessary...and you get your money's worth, 29 July 2002
By A Customer
When I got my PS2 the PS1 was dying out... Imagine my shock when I got my new system and found out the price of saving next-gen games! But if you wanna play PS2 games (and save 'em) then you're gonna need one, and you'll soon find that you get a lot of saves for your money. I have saves from 17 different PS2 titles on my card, and have still only used up 7 of the 8meg available, so that just shows you the capacity of these things.
In short, these things may be pricey but you wont need many of them, so it's a worthwhile buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lets be honest here guys..., 26 Dec 2001
Ok, yes it's a memory card. Yes, it saves 8 mb of data, and yes it's faster. But what you really want to know is whether to go for the 16 mb versions, or this one don't you?
Go for this one. Third party manufactures tend to loose data, where as these cards are designed after all by the people who brought you the playstation itself! Surely they know how to manufacture a decent, solid card that's gonna hold your game saves for years to come.
I've had a ps2 right from the beginning, and have saved countless games on loads of cards. I've dropped them, thrown them against walls in anger, hell I even spilt a glass of coke on one of them! You know what? They all still work.
Yes it's good, it's reliable, and more importantly, it does the job more securely than any third party rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PS2 memory card, 12 Feb 2003
Ok, so what can i say about the official PS2 memory card. Well its the best one you can buy, its quick to save data and most importantly can hold alot -8MB. Considering the PS1 memory card only held 1MB thats quite an improvement.
Ive had my memory for well over a year now and not had any problems, I have 8 ssaved files and its not full yet. Recommended to and PS2 console owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but....................., 19 April 2005
By 
Jasper Wong "jbywong" (Canterbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Warning:
This is an essential part of your Ps2 collection as without it, you cannot save games. If you have decided to get another console, please do not buy this, as it is not compatible with the Xbox or Gamecube or other consoles.
Is this worth the money?
The answer is no, but you definately need this to save games so you have to buy it.
Is it worth the money to buy the 16 MB extension with this?
The answer is it depends. If you are a die-hard serious gamer who plays everyday, and the 8 MB Ps2 memory card alone does is not sufficent to save all the game data that you have, then you should buy this, along with the 16 MB extension. WARNING: If you want 16 MB and not 8 MB for the same amount of money 14 quid, don't get the 16 MB extension as you have to attach your memory card to it, and it will not work alone.
There is a downside to the Ps2 memory card: the memory-8mb-still hasn't dropped in price, probably because Sony wants to earn more money by coaxing the user of it's game console (s) to buy more memory cards, but this is one of the reasons why the Ps2 is not as popular as before for people wondering 'Do I get the Ps2 or the Xbox or the Gamecube?' The xbox, saves on the Console Hard drive, illiminating the need for memory cards.
To sum the review up, I would say that this is a essential accessory for Ps2 users, but it is not very good value for money (think about it-8 gigabytes for 14 quid) but for Ps2 users, there is no choice unless you want to use phoney fake cards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long lasting but CAN fail, 16 Oct 2008
By 
Martin Colbert "Mole" (Telford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Official Sony PlayStation 2 Memory Card (PS2) (Accessory)
Ok so I HAVE had my PS2 memory card for a while now, but it has now started to act up.
A few months ago it lost all my Guitar Hero 3 data, so i had to do it again!! (not a huge problem as i love the game!) But seemed to work afterwards, thinking it was just a glitch i carried on using it but now it has failed again on GH3 and other games aswell.
I will be getting a replacement Sony card as they do last well and are better than other cards for the PS2 but be warned they can fail. (thats not to say they will though) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Official Sony PlayStation 2 Memory Card (PS2)
8.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews