Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lift Your Fists and Give Thanks for This Band!!
Godspeed You Black Emperor! enjoy a pre-eminent position in the post-rock field, proved by the fact that the majority of other bands in this genre are compared to them in reviews. Most pale by comparison.

`Lift Your Skinny Fists..' is generally reckoned to the band's defining work and with good reason. The power and gravitas that the nine musicians achieve is...
Published on 3 Feb 2007 by D. Newton

versus
7 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Am I alone?
I just don't get this.

Track 1 Doesn't resolve itself and goes nowhere. Skip the bulk of the track and listen to the last 3 minutes which is interesting in a mild kind of way.

Track 2 Is unlistenable. The most nauseating racket I've ever heard.

Track 3 More sampled voices and found sounds - so what's new? What exactly is so clever about...
Published on 10 Nov 2006 by Marley's Ghost


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...not quite what I was expecting, but worth it nonetheless., 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this MP3 download for a paltry 2.49 on the spur of the moment, based on a recommendation from Amazon - presumably as I had bought a couple of the earlier Sigur Ros CDs to plug the gaps.

The previous reviews of this work are intriguing, and promise much...but on first listen I hear a relatively straightforward, yet eclectic, melange of Philip Glass; Brian Eno and/or Robert Fripp (collectively No Pussyfooting, or Fripp's later Soundscapes era)...and Frank Zappa (circa Orchestral Favourites).

There are bits of Pink Floyd's (More / Zabriskie Point) soundtrack work in there, and some of the passages are reminiscent of the aural landscapes I associate with Porcupine Tree. There is also a bit about 4 minutes into 'Sleep' that conjured up a spaghetti western flashback...remember the musical pocket watch theme from The Good, The Bad & The Ugly? Dare I add Gong and White Noise (Visitation / Electric Storm) to the references?

It also prompted me to look for a CD or MP3 reissue of an old vinyl LP compilation I used to have, called 'Angels in the Architecture'...which contains one of the simplest - yet most beautiful pieces - of music I have ever heard: The Sound of Someone You Love Who's Going Away and It Doesn't Matter, by Penguin Cafe Orchestra...

So, all in all, this isn't quite as revolutionary as I thought it might be...but it is still worth (a) the effort; and (b) every penny. I have given it 4 stars as I clearly 'like it', but don't yet 'love it', although I am hoping it will improve and become more cohesive on repeated listening...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Utter awesomeness!, 2 July 2010
This review is from: Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Ok, simply the pure excellency that Godspeed creates.
This is generally seen as their best, But personally F# A# (Infinity) is superiour to this one, one of my few five-star records.

It contains the heaviest piece of music ever created, "Static". It begins with a preacher speaking of dark serpentines and gods inside us, etc.
And it gradually evolves into this crushing, pounding explosion. Not even the SWANS are heavier. Sleep is the highlight though. Pure beauty.
Storm is godspeed the way it should be. Antennas to heaven is somewhat labored, most of it consists of ambient guitars and such, and all of a sudden
the music kicks in, but only for a minute. Then it drags for five more, then it kicks in again. The rest of the track are the ambience. This would be 5 stars
if it weren't for that particular track.

Still, the vinyl version of it is excellent, with great artwork and a neat gatefold. It is also more special than two discs with two songs each, which I had avoided
because I hate double cd's for some reason. With the vinyl, it's one track per side, and more normal to me.

This is a somewhat difficult record, you might not want to go with this first. I recommend Slow riot for zero new kanada or F# A# Infinity first, as they are much easier to get into. Then you should give this one a go. I can't direct to a particular audience though, as they are truly, one of a kind.
Fans of post-rock or symphonic rock is the closest I can come, but if you're a fan of those genres (particullary post-rock) and haven't heard this, I find that pretty strange as this band pretty much created the new wave of post-rock and are all over the place. Still, do as I say, or else you might die unhappy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational, 21 Jun 2010
By 
R. Davies (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
And I mean the word literally. Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven is a full on assualt on the senses, an emotional rollercoaster that's far too grand or subtle to be taken in on a couple of listens. As with all great records, especially those of the less structured genres, this takes repeat listening.

The two cd's are divided into four tracks, but LYSFLATH is really a linked collection of fifteen to twenty pieces, playing out a spectrum of emotion. Vocal-less save for spoken-word sample, it's the music that does the talking.

Often rising from silence, pieces become dense with instrumentation and emotion, only to be swept into something totally different by quick changes is timing, tempo and volume. At times I'm left grinning ear to ear, with moments of pure perfection punctuated throughout the record.

At first listen LYSFLATH may sound a little disjointed, but repetition brings meaning and purpose to the pauses, silences and unexplained noises.

My only criticism would be that at times the production leaves more delicate parts overwhelmed, but these moments are far too sparsley distributed to be a criticism of the whole record.

Utterly magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true masterpiece of music, 12 Feb 2004
By 
Richard Brown (Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is the third album from Godspeed!, and could it possibly get any better? From the subtle lows to the raucous highs this album offers a truely moving experience that will leave the listener wanting to hear it again and again. With its slow build-ups from almost abience, and its dramatic breakdowns, this album can only be described as awe-inspiring. Definitley the best Godspeed! album so far and definitely worth having!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 4 Oct 2004
Lift Your Skinny Fists is an absoloutly amazing album. 4 songs over 2 discs. Each lasts around 21 minutes, 21 minutes of sheer genius. Instrumental songs that start of quietly but expolde into sonic heaven. Heavily distorted guitars, gorgeous strings are on the menu. I adore this album so much it hurts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars terrible canyons of static, 11 Aug 2002
By A Customer
after silence the only thing which comes close to explaining the unexplainable is music. godspeed have a firm grasp over this medium. the entire album is one looming void throughout. the music is glorious, triumphant, beyond perception. the first track takes you to another place with it's incredible build up to a soul-lifting crash of music. an album riddled with hope...completely revolutionary and nothing in the world comes close to the sound the band create. many consider it dark and depressing but in fact most will find it uplifting and sacred. five stars just isn't enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps one of the top 5 records of the year 2000, 29 Dec 2000
By A Customer
The very personification of the earth that seems to be collapsing around us, Godspeed You Black Emperor evoke every emotion weather it be sadness, loss or violence. Their music is a combination of screeching yet tuneful guitars, wailing violins, thundering drums and a quite simply brilliant use of samples, for this check out the singing French school children or the disillusioned old man talking about the decline of Long Island, both entrall and don't seem careless or badly used. Some moments strangley remind the listener of a Josuha Tree period U2 when The Edges guitar was used as an instrument to convey emotion rather than the blandness it does now. All of the songs on the album apart from what sounds like an old American folk song on one of the tracks are vocal-less, essentialy these aren't songs they are pieces of music which change tempo and mood effortlessly. The best example of this is track number one on the second Cd which starts off like a lo-fi, sparse jazz song and ends with a dance like groove led by a thick bass and drum line. Never boring or pretentous 'Levez Vos Skinny Fists Comme Antennas to Heaven' is like the bands politics, something that demands your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Essential record, great packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw Power, 9 Nov 2001
Although this isn't the most accessable album you're ever likely to buy, a little perceverence will pay you back infinitely as this is possible one of the greatest albums EVER. The songs within the symphonies seem to move together effortlessly adn in colliding waves of tension. Some of the more scary tracks incluse 'Terrible Canyons of Static' and 'Cancer Towers on Holy Road Highway'. The latter song coming after the most upliftingly epic songs ont the album. The title track on the first disc dries out from its richly written march and the energy swirls round eventually forming 'Gathering Storm'. This is a song to uplift you in your darkest times-which soon follow in 'Cancer Towers....'.
How any band can consruct such extemes of positive and negative energy, I don't know. But this album is the soundtrack to both the birth and death of the universe.
BUY THIS ALBUM NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GODSPEED DISCOVERY, 10 Sep 2003
By 
Dr T E Mallinson (UK, Coventry/London/Essex) - See all my reviews
Firstly this album is worth buying purely for the art work inside which is fantiastic. The album is 2CDs long. and the inlay provides a timeline of track names, speech samples etc. When you buy a GSYBE! album it is a different feeling form any other CD you will buy. you get the feeling it was made for you, both the packaging and the music. secondly the music has so many levels you can listen to it a hundred times and still get lost within it....
Even if you have stumbled upon this CD by accident buy it now, you can always sel it later... but you wont want to... you will always want to go back adn lsiten to it just once more....
BUY IT NOW....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven [VINYL]
Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven [VINYL] by Godspeed You! Black Emperor (Vinyl - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews