Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - but beware!
The gameplay is excellent. The strategy and planning element is great. Levels that seem impossible become playable (I wouldn't say easy!) once you find the correct route and equip your troopers correctly! Watch out though - you can't save mid mission and it's adictive! This does have the benefit that you start to care about your troops! Levels are a lot easier with enough...
Published on 8 May 2001 by Ian J. Kennedy

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A real dog
Major problems getting it working, appauling support from Microprose, then a struggle through a dreadful user interface. And when you get there, no pay back.
Published on 10 Dec 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - but beware!, 8 May 2001
By 
This review is from: Starship Troopers (Video Game)
The gameplay is excellent. The strategy and planning element is great. Levels that seem impossible become playable (I wouldn't say easy!) once you find the correct route and equip your troopers correctly! Watch out though - you can't save mid mission and it's adictive! This does have the benefit that you start to care about your troops! Levels are a lot easier with enough battle-hardened veterans! I've had one or two crashes mid session, but that seemed to be associated with trying to get too much out of my hardware. Dropping the screen resolution or the graphics quality a notch improved matters (without detracting too much from the game!). I've also found a couple of (computer) bugs on the final level. Going the 'long way round' sorted that one! You really need to download the FAQ from the website to learn the ins and outs. Getting the right trooper promoted at the right time can make all the difference when it comes to equipping your platoon. I've played it from start to finish about 5 times now and I can now go all the way through without a single fatality (except for that suicide assignment - you'll find it ;-) ) If you haven't bought it already, and you don't mind losing some sleep, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 20 Dec 2000
This review is from: Starship Troopers (Video Game)
This Game is amazing I have been waiting for this ever since the film came out. The gameplay is fast and action packed with easy to use controls and is alot of fun especialy when you have the nuke gun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Starship Troopers, 5 April 2001
This review is from: Starship Troopers (Video Game)
I was a little dubious when I fist bought this because of what I had been told but the game soon convinced me that there was no reason to be. It is full of loads of brill locations and loads of types of bugs all with special weaknesses so equiptment selection is important. However you have so many weapons, equiptment and your men have different abilities themselves. The AI could be better and Some of the tutorials crash my computer but as long as your men don't get lost behind the minimap the graphics, super battles and suspense outweigh the disadvantages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Starship Troopers, 3 Dec 2000
This review is from: Starship Troopers (Video Game)
This is a brilliant game. The graphics are quite something. There is the tension, which is at a prefect level because you need to do the mission but you don't want to lose anyone. The AI isn't brilliant but is at a level that is challenging when needs be. The boot camp isn't that good but it does what it should; teach you how to survive against the bugs. If you love strategies you'll adore this. Buy this game it is exciting, challenging, nerve racking and fun. Every thing you need in a game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A real dog, 10 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Starship Troopers (Video Game)
Major problems getting it working, appauling support from Microprose, then a struggle through a dreadful user interface. And when you get there, no pay back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yes It's Full Of Bugs Alright, 18 Jan 2001
By 
Tom Sawyer "--ijp--" (Peacehaven, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starship Troopers (Video Game)
Yet another Micropose/Hasbro unfinished, shabby product. If you have any USB peripherals don't even bother.No other software title causes me so many problems - not even IE 5.5. More bugs than Klendathu, poor graphics (even with a Geforce DDR), antiquated control system (as bad as Star Wars - Force Commander), more crahes and lock ups than Grand Prix 3 (Also Micropose) and an official patch from the official site that makes things 100% worse. Thru recent past experience with Micropose I'm not even going to bother their Support. If you've got it, well too late, if you're thinking about it, well in my opinion, buy something else. Giving it one star is too generous !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Starship Troopers
Starship Troopers by Hasbro (Windows 95 / 98)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews