Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars50
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 December 2015
Absolutely Fabulous Season 1 centers on the characters of PR Agents Edina Monsoon (Jennifer Saunders) And Patsy Stone (Joanna Lumley) who also happen to be best friends. Monsoon tries desperately to forge an equally strong connection with her daughter Saffron Monsoon (Julia Sawalha). Saffron Monsoon does love her mother but Appears to be somewhat distant partially because their focus is on slightly different things (i.e. Saffron takes her studies and goals for her future seriously but appears to be frustrated at her mother’s behavior that causes Saffron to sometimes feel like the parent). Deep down, Saffron does greatly understand how much her mother loves her but one can see that the slight tension between mother and daughter at times during the show. Edina for her part works hard in her career to send her daughter Saffron to the best schools while maintaining a strong friendship with Patsy Stone. (Absolutely fabulous Also features the listing of Jane Horrocks and June Whitfield As some of the main Actresses and there Are several celebrity Appearances during Season 1 of Absolutely Fabulous).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
along with shameless this is my fav comedy series of all time...they dont make em like this any more! god that makes me sound old! i've only given it 4 outa 5 cos the next few series are even funnier..loads of stand out scenes n hilarious lines/put downs stick in your head lomg after u'v watched it. if u like irreverant comedy that aint bothered about being p.c. then u'll find sumthing to love in this series.the character of 'Patsy' (played by joanna lumley) is an absolute classic! buy it sweetie darling....as Pat n Edina wud say!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
Classic comedy! Great stuff, always very funny. A truly great series that has stood the test of time and probably always will!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
Disappointed - I thought that I had purchased the first series of six episodes - but there were only three episodes on this disc! Six were listed on the sleeve but only three on the disc- so should there have been two discs? I bought this intending it as a 'taster' - intending to purchase the complete full series box set if I liked as it is an all time classic of renown. So my own experience a 'let down' - but enjoyed what I did see .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2016
All of AbFab used to be available on Prime.. The BBC have pulled it in order to promote their hideously expensive 'Store'... It seems that now, to watch BBC content, we must pay insanely overpriced rates to "Buy" them.. Pure Greed!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2001
Jennifer Saunders is an genius. I always thought so when watching French and Saunders (which I hope is coming out on DVD at some point!!), but this series verifies it. I can't begin to explain how funny it is, you just have to see it yourself. If you only ever see one episode, let it be 'France', which is absolutely the best one ever written. There are some funny out takes on the DVD, and the rest is pretty much standard, but who cares, it's such a great comedy programme, that you can forgive the DVD anything. Buy it now. What more can I say?!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2007
Forget comedy movies if you want a laugh watch sitcoms instead. When watching a comedy movie what do you always get? violence?, screams?, sarcasim?, nagging, fights? yes thats what we always get but with sitcoms we seem to get a whole lot more.

With sitcoms its like a treat, we get guest stars, at least one character we can relate to, moments that will be stuck in your head forever and an awesome theme tune.

Absolutely Fabulous is the right title for this show, it has a good theme tune, the characters are all hilarious but its a shame i cannot relate to any of the characters but the show does not seem to fail to entertain me.

When i watch a comedy movie i never laugh i only ever say "awe" and "haha" but with sitcoms they seem to crack me up in hard laughter
Absolutely Fabulous cracks me up in hard laughter, its just so funny and entertaining where a movie is like blah.

Comedies are best left for television, sitcoms seem to be more creative with characters and storylines Absolutely Fabulous is one of those shows it seems to have it all. This show has style, fashion, little bad language, hilarious moments you will never forget, a laugh track that is
believable unlike most sitcoms, this show is funny however like every show after a while it tends to go flat, the style and fashion seems to loose it once its past its 5th season and the storylines seem to get weak also the characters look like they get fed up with the show and they make it clear aswell.

Absolutely Fabulous is best leaving now while its givin a good name. Series 1-4 are the best however series 5 seems to fail on all kinds of levels.

Great show, lots of laughs, will make you feel better after viewing. 4 out of 5 stars.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
Absolutely Fabulous. Classic comedy from the BBC with Jennifer Saunders and Joanna Lumley. What more can I say, simply brilliant, superb, wonderful, running out of superlatives here!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2011
I was a huge fan of the later Ab Fab seasons, but hadn't seen the first lot of episodes before I purchased this DVD. Particularly with comedies, the 1st seasons can sometimes be a bit weak, as if they're just finding their footing, this is not the case with Ab Fab series 1. Hilarious from start to finish. My favourite episodes are Birthday and France. Brilliant comedy that you will fall in love with. Must have!
Also includes an entertaining gag reel
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
Arrived when expected.
Purchased as a present for family in another country
They like it and like to see more episodes, so will be purchasing some more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)