Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's easy to see why W&G got the Oscars, 30 April 2006
This review is from: Wallace And Gromit: Three Cracking Adventures [DVD] (DVD)
A Grand Day Out, The Wrong Trousers and A Close Shave - all on one DVD, together with an introduction by Nick Park, 3 nice little documentary programmes: 'The Amazing World of Wallace and Gromit', 'Inside the Wrong Trousers' and 'A Close Shave: How Did They Do It?' I've watched all 3 animations on telly whenever they're shown. By coincidence, The Wrong Trousers was on BBC 1 earlier today and even though I'd only watched it on this DVD yesterday, I watched it again on the BBC (and the disc still in the DVD player) - couldn't resist. And because I'd only watched the DVD yesterday, I noticed that Gromit's birthday card plays "Happy Birthday to You" on the TV version and "For He's a Jolly Fellow" on the DVD version. How odd. In any case, the Wallace and Gromit collection fill me with good cheer whenever I watch them. I guess we all know and love them very well so I'll just say something about the little documentaries bundled with the animations. They are well worth watching. Nick Park tells how he got into animation, the origins of Wallace and Gromit and their personalities, and then we see how he and his fellow animators actually make the animations. It takes infinite time and patience. Several of the statistics he gave almost made me gasp. He started his Grand Day Out when he was still at college and it took him 2 years to complete just 10 minutes of the animation. He explains and shows how Gromit's eye-brows are used to change his expression. This is very clever. Gromit never speaks and yet we know just what he must be thinking and feeling all through the adventure - by nothing other than the shape his brow has been moulded into. It gives him a depth of personality that any writer could envy in an invented character.

The stories are funny and imaginative and the animations are wonderful. It's no wonder they got the Oscars. They richly deserved them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Additional technical warning, 25 Dec 2000
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallace And Gromit: Three Cracking Adventures [DVD] (DVD)
Having just read a review warning that this DVD does not play on certain DVD players, I would like to add that it also does not play on my Wharfedale 750. The disc itself is fine, as it played OK on my PC. My son was very disappointed, as Wallace and Gromit are two of his all time favourites, and we were looking forward to having all three adventures on one disc. I have spoken to Techies at the BBC who say that they have filed a report to the manufacturers about the problems with playback and the DVD players affected. I don't know if they will re-release it in a friendlier format or if it just means that we have to buy a new DVD player. Such a shame, as it could have been a classic.
Be warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shame they messed with the music in The Wrong Trousers, 20 Jun 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wallace And Gromit: Three Cracking Adventures [DVD] (DVD)
These are three great animated classics. Unfortunately, my enjoyment of The Wrong Trousers (the best of the three) was spoiled by the fact that the music had been changed in places, presumably due to the idiot copyright laws.
Instead of 'Happy Birthday', Gromit's card now plays an uninspired version of 'For He's A Jolly Good Fellow'. The penguin's radio still starts playing 'Tie A Yellow Ribbon', but in place of 'Happy Talk' and 'How Much Is That Doggie In The Window', we get what seems to be generic electronic organ noise, on what is obviously a different organ. This being issued by the BBC, the changes were doubtless done as cheaply as possible.
That said, the most thrilling chase in television history still involves a bald inventor, his dog and an armed penguin racing around a living room on an electric train set.
Full marks to Aardman, but not BBC Worldwide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Cracking!", 8 July 2005
This review is from: Wallace And Gromit: Three Cracking Adventures [DVD] (DVD)
This is a "cracking" DVD - it includes all 3 of the original movies - A Grand Day Out, The Wrong Trousers and A Close Shave plus a bonus features section.
The first ten minutes of A Grand Day Out were made by Nick Park by himself. It took two years to film and so he needed help, and Aardman needed animators - wayhay! They got together and finished A Grand Day Out in 1989. The animation is a bit etchy at times, but nevertheless, it is a hilarious escapade!
The Wrong Trousers has better clay animation as it shows the breakfast routine in Wallace and Gromit's house, plus some excellent clay animation to show Gromit crying, which is funny to watch as it is animated so well. The gags and jokes in this one are better than A G. D. O., but it is original too, especially the train scene at the end!
A close shave shows a new breakfast routine, and Wallace and Gromit's new job - the Wash'n'Go Window Cleaning Service with a Thunderbirds style launch. And there is a new hero in this episode - Shaun the Sheep! And now to prove them all wrong, watch this one to show those who said a motorcycle sidecar cannot fly, how wrong they were!
The bonus features include a gallery section, a documentary with Nick Park and several BBC2 idents for Christmas - those are funny, even for the brief seconds they last!
All in all, a great DVD for parents and children alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5-Star Clay Animation Wonders, 28 Nov 2005
By 
father2 "father2" (England Europe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wallace And Gromit: Three Cracking Adventures [DVD] (DVD)
When you think how much work goes into the making of these clay animation features you simply have to stand back in awe. All three Wallace and Gromit short films on this DVD are very funny and hugely entertaining. These "Cracking Adventures" are worth watching again and again, because you can guarantee that you will see something you have missed when watching them previously. Personally I love the machines and the clever little references to animation/puppet work, by other studios. Wallace and Gromit though do have an original charm that shows a huge amount of imagination. The extra features on this DVD are a welcome addition to the three adventures and include audio commentaries by Nick Park and others from Aardman and making of featurettes. This DVD really does justice to Nick Park's legendary creations, so if you're a Wallace and Gromit fan this DVD will be just up your street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Technical Warning, 18 Dec 2000
This review is from: Wallace And Gromit: Three Cracking Adventures [DVD] (DVD)
This title will not play on the popular Samsung 807 DVD player that was sold by Kingfisher Group (ie, Comet, etc). I know that the disc is not faulty, because it plays perfectly on a friend's Philips DVD player. I understand from the DVD forums that it may not play on some other DVD players. It is Region 2 and 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick Park = Genius, 8 Jan 2004
This review is from: Wallace And Gromit: Three Cracking Adventures [DVD] (DVD)
Always a favorite at Xmas, Wallace and his rather intelligent furball are thrown altogether on this delightful DVD, no doubt bringing joy and happiness to all generations....
A touching scene, but something that is all but expected from Nick Park's big balls of play-dough. The story lines are funny, the characters - especially the animals have terrific personalities, including Wallace's rather unusual obsession for cheese.
All in all good fun, with the outakes on the DVD limited, but interesting nonetheless, giving insight into the creation. An original idea, and not one any other has dared to copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Grand Day Out, A Close Shave, The Wrong Trousers, 15 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Wallace And Gromit: Three Cracking Adventures [DVD] (DVD)
All fantastic! And they stand the test of multiple views. My toddler is in love with them, especially "A Grand Day Out" and we watch these three shorts constantly, over and over and over. We have probably seen A Grand Day out more than 50 times, and have probably seen the other two more than 25 times. We still love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy grins all round, 20 Oct 2005
By 
Fantasy Lore - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wallace And Gromit: Three Cracking Adventures [DVD] (DVD)
Cracking, just cracking! I watched this DVD at a friend's house the other night after going to see 'The Curse of the Were-Rabbit' at the flics and now I'm very tempted to buy it myself because these are such classic English adventures, which in my opinion far surpass all other character-driven animations and are soooo hilarious it's not even funny, except it is! There's crime fighting, window cleaning, space hopping, cheese eating and so much more besides and all that's packed into 3 highly individual, riveting and fanciful adventures. Although they only last a total of 96 minutes that time is incredibly well spent- action-packed and chocked full of gags- you'll definitely be left more than satisfied.
Feathers McGraw (the penguin) from 'The Wrong Trousers', the moon-machine from 'A Grand Day Out' and Shaun the sheep from 'A Close Shave' are my personal highlights of the trilogy (as well as W&G of course) and these are heroes and villains brilliantly realised and brought to perfect, plastercine life by Parks and his team and a testament to the creativity and dedication that must go on behind the scenes. And the brilliantly observed, eccentric and lovable characters are only part of the reason why these short stories exude such charm- there's also the modest, but incredibly endearing animation that enhances rather than detracts from the humour and the deceptively simple stories, which will quickly have adults and children alike wearing smiles as wide and cheesy as Wallace himself.
But to all penguins posing as roosters reading this review I offer this warning...we're onto you! Milk bottles at the ready lads and lasses!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must have compilation of fabulous shorts, 20 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Wallace And Gromit: Three Cracking Adventures [DVD] (DVD)
Finally got to watch it on my Laptop *** WARNING - neither my Playstation 2 or PC with Panasonic DVD drive & WinDVD would run it ***. My 4 & 2 yr olds just love the characters and antics - us big kids can laugh at the bits they don't get too ("Why's that funny Daddy?"). A great bundle compared to the Videos with some interesting extras - including some nice PC desktop icons, screensavers etc. Do get it - but check out amazon's returns policy just in case!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wallace And Gromit: Three Cracking Adventures [DVD]
3.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews