Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reworking of classic series
I have to be honest here. The first time I ever saw Blackadder II I nearly had a heart attack. I had been such a major fan of the Medieval romp, that this more traditionally-styled sitcom was a bitter pill to swallow. However, following the 3rd and 4th similarly-styled outings, I have now reassessed my appraisal, and can finally objectivelty see this as the gem it is...
Published on 5 Jan 2001

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for the show but 1 star for the DVD
10 out of 10 for the show - There is not a lot that is funnier than the second series of Blackadder.
The costumes are perfect, as are the performances.
The picture though, is no better than VHS.
The BBC can put in a great deal of effort re-mastering their classics as anybody who has bought a 'classic series' Doctor Who will testify. It really would be...
Published on 9 May 2010 by J. SIMMONS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Classic British humour, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackadder 2 - The Entire Second Series [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
It's Black Adder!! what else is there to say?? Better than series one, better than series three and on par with series four. Classic British black/cynical humour at it's best ! Watch it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A big leap from the already good season 1, 29 July 2012
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blackadder 2 - The Entire Second Series [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
On a production level this second season, produced 3 years later seems
actually less sophisticated; cheap looking sets, much more of a
standard sit-com look.

But this is a sit com ala Fawlty Towers, weird, whip-smart, subversive
and very dark. While I can't say for me that it quite stands up to the
greatness of Fawlty Towers or Monty Python, the two shows to which it
is inevitably compared, it has a ton of very funny moments, and the
acting is top notch.

It's 100 years plus since series one, and Blackadder is no longer the
weaselly immoral wimpy swine of the first series. He's now a handsome.
dashing weaselly immoral swine, a favorite of the vaguely insane Queen
Elizabeth --that is when she's not threatening to execute him.

It's a lot of fun to see Atkinson in this very different, non Mr. Bean
persona, and he pulls it off wonderfully. And Hugh Laurie is hysterical
in two completely different guest roles, while Miranda Richardson as
Queen Elizabeth displays a flair for goofy silly physical comedy one
would never suspect from her body of work.

Very worth a view, even if you were iffy on series one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic history, 12 May 2012
This review is from: Blackadder 2 - The Entire Second Series [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Why do we go on about American comedy so much when we produce fantastic series such as this? It has it all, comedy, satire the lot. Brilliant TV and this viewer wants more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Blackadder, 27 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackadder 2 - The Entire Second Series [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Blackadder just never gets old - as brilliant, witty, iconoclastic and hlariously funny as ever. Rowan Atkinson is perfect in all four series, but I think this one particularly suits him. Cynical, sardonic, sarcastic, and an absolute - am I allowed to use the illegitimate word here? Perhaps not. He is one though, but one can't help identifiying and wanting him to come out on top! A definite five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: Blackadder 2 - The Entire Second Series [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my 21 year old son. He doesn't remember it on TV but loved watching this. Good all round entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comic genius, 5 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. Craig Henderson (North East, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackadder 2 - The Entire Second Series [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Blackadder 2 is an outstanding series and you must buy it and add it to your comedy collection. Rowan Atkinson is outstanding as Lord Edmund Blackadder and the rest of the cast are brilliant too. Tony Robinson is great as Baldrick, Tim McInnery is terrific as Lord Percy and Stephen Fry is very funny as Lord Melchett. Miranda Richardson plays a terrific part as Elizabeth I and she steals the show. Patsy Byrne was great as Queenie's Nurse and has some great lines. Written by Richard Curtis and Ben Elton, Blackadder 2 is set in Elizabethan times and is absolutely hilarious. Follow Blackadder's adventures as he tries to please the Queen. There are some great guest appearances in the six episodes by great comic actors like Hugh Laurie and Rik Mayall. Tom Baker is brilliant in his nautical role as an eccentric ship's captain.
They don't make shows like this anymore. Great acting, great actors and brilliant lines.
5 stars. Comic genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious, 14 Oct 2010
This review is from: Blackadder 2 - The Entire Second Series [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
I have been a blackadder fan for years now, had them all on video (recorded from TV). Series 2 is brilliant, Blackadder's sly devious ways are back and incredible. very very funny. Recommend all the Blackadder DVD's to people who love Comedy and have a good sense of humour! very cheap aswell :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'Percy! It's GREEN!, 28 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Blackadder 2 - The Entire Second Series [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
'I don't want to be pandantic or anything,but the colour of Gold is "Gold",thats why it's called Gold..what you have discovered,if it has a name,is some GREEN!'..'Edmund,can it be TRUE!! that i hold in my mortal hands,a nugget of pureist GREEN!'..'Yes but more of a splatt really!'..'So we Three in all the land can create the finest GREEN at will?'..'Yes my Lord..not sure about counting Baldrick in though'..' So you know what this discovery means don't you!..That you Percy, Lord Percy! is an utter BERK!'
A dialogue from the third episode of the the very best of this series 'Blackadder 2'..a great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purse, 28 Nov 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackadder 2 - The Entire Second Series [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst perhaps not quite as good as series 4 this is still amongst the finest British comedy series ever produced.

As with series 3 & 4 Rowan Atkinson delivers his lines with a bite and comic timing that is only matched by John Cleese in Fawlty Towers. Atkinson is an obvious highlight, but the other cast members are all superb. Miranda Richardson's marvellously childish but scary Queen is inspired and Tim McInnery's idiotic Lord Percy is the perfect fall guy for Blackadder.

There are a few guest appearances, perhaps the most noteable is Tom Bakers completely nutty Captain Rum - "You have a womans purse my Lord"! This series is as good to watch now as it was 20 years ago and remains effortlessly brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just funny, 25 May 2009
This review is from: Blackadder 2 - The Entire Second Series [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
I would fail to see how anyone cannot laugh at the constant and in places somewhat dated "one liners" written by the great Black adder team. Hours of enjoyment - one to pass down to the grand children (Not)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackadder 2 - The Entire Second Series [1986] [DVD]
£9.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews