Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars82
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2011
Having managed to somehow garner a second series from the BBC, the writers made the genius stroke of changing Blackadder's character in his return for this series, set in the court of Elizabeth the first. In addition to Blackadder acquiring a new found set of Machiavellian characteristics, Baldrick seems to have received several blows to the head, though not yet the total lobotomy that he seems to undergo in series 3 and 4. Percy is both amusing and irritating, much as he was in the first series. However, the undoubted star of the series is Miranda Richardson whose queenie is comic performance of world class proportions. The supporting cast is first rate, with the likes of Stephen Fry, Rik Mayall and Hugh Laurie ensuring that Blackadder was a comedy of sheer class.

The script gets sharper and sharper, with some of the finest insults ever committed to screen. Part of the genius of it was the historical setting, which ensures that now, around a quarter of a century after it was first broadcast, it hasn't aged at all. There were no jokes that depended on a contemporary understanding of the mid 1980s and so it is as fresh to new audience today as it was back then.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
well what can i say?blackadder 2 is absolutely superb,still one of the most funniest thngs ever filmed.theres no extras on this disc which was a tad disappointing,if you want them you'll have to invest in the blackadder box set.the picture and sound are much better than the previous bbc release.wont tire of watching this :)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2000
Quite simply this is the funniest 3 hours of comedy you'll ever see. Anywhere. Blackadder 2 is the greatest series I have ever seen. Miranda Richardson as Queenie, flanked by Nursie and Lord 'Stephen Fry' Melchet sets this one apart from the others. And as for an inspired cameo by Tom Baker as a crazed old sea dog....well you all know it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2015
After the disappointment of the big budgeted but poorly realised Blackadder, the BBC almost ditched the idea. Then Ben Elton and Richard Curtis got together and produced (what I consider to be) the best Blackadder season of the lot. Blackadder II. It is set in the era of Queen Elizabeth II and Blackadder is a mere Lord rather than a Prince. They changed the dynamics and made Baldrick incredibly stupid, Blackadder an evil genius and kaboom! We have six tightly written and well structured scripts that are guaranteed to have you laughing from start to finish. Queen Elizabeth, far from being the strong, austere woman depicted in history is an immature girly who has let power go straight to her head. Her closest and most trusted companion being her nurse who still treats her like a two year old is joined by Lord Melchet, Queenie's most trusted advisor with a severe dislike of Edmund Blackadder.

Many people say the fourth series is the best. I feel that is because of the nearness of the first world war and the familiarity that brings to the stories. Personally, I think this is the best season by far!

If the first season had you reaching for the off button, give this season a try. You won't regret it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 July 2012
On a production level this second season, produced 3 years later seems
actually less sophisticated; cheap looking sets, much more of a
standard sit-com look.

But this is a sit com ala Fawlty Towers, weird, whip-smart, subversive
and very dark. While I can't say for me that it quite stands up to the
greatness of Fawlty Towers or Monty Python, the two shows to which it
is inevitably compared, it has a ton of very funny moments, and the
acting is top notch.

It's 100 years plus since series one, and Blackadder is no longer the
weaselly immoral wimpy swine of the first series. He's now a handsome.
dashing weaselly immoral swine, a favorite of the vaguely insane Queen
Elizabeth --that is when she's not threatening to execute him.

It's a lot of fun to see Atkinson in this very different, non Mr. Bean
persona, and he pulls it off wonderfully. And Hugh Laurie is hysterical
in two completely different guest roles, while Miranda Richardson as
Queen Elizabeth displays a flair for goofy silly physical comedy one
would never suspect from her body of work.

Very worth a view, even if you were iffy on series one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 June 2000
The funniest run of the best series ever written for TV. Blackadder is funny in all series, but this is arguably the best, with not a single weak link in any of them. If you have seen them before, you'll still find yourself laughing as each line comes up. If you haven't, well, you're really missing out. Starring Kate (short for Bob), Lord and Lady Whiteadder, The Wise Woman, the Old Sea Dog, Walter "ooh what a big ship I've got" Raleigh, Flossy, and, best of all, Evil Prince Ludwig, vreaking his rewenge for all his worth.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2004
This is simply the best. No competition.
The usual superb cast of Blackadder, Baldrick and Percy is joined by the superb characters of Melchett, Nursie and Queen Elizabeth. This is by far the funniest, wittiest series of the Blackadders. The episode involving Lord and Lady Whiteadder is undoubtedly the funniest thirty minutes ever on television.
The only complaint could be that it has to end and it is such a disappointment that there were only ever six episodes made.
BUY IT NOW !!!!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2001
I have to be honest here. The first time I ever saw Blackadder II I nearly had a heart attack. I had been such a major fan of the Medieval romp, that this more traditionally-styled sitcom was a bitter pill to swallow. However, following the 3rd and 4th similarly-styled outings, I have now reassessed my appraisal, and can finally objectivelty see this as the gem it is. Excellent performances all round, and a barrage of non-stop humour that'll make you miss half the jokes since you'll be laughing so hysterically make this one of the greatest televisual achievements of all time. However, the catch, is the first series was THE best televisual achievement of all time...
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
The fact that this is hilarious is an understatement, a vast majority of it verges on hysterical. The Elizabethan period detail is sumptuous, the stories are clever and interesting, the opening credits are fun and the writing is sharp, cynical, sophisticated and hilarious. And once again I loved the performances, instead of the slimy, selfish and stupid character he played in the first series, Rowan Atkinson superbly plays a much smarter, cunning and more like-able lead character, and his cynicism also creeps in too. Baldrick here adopts the persona we are more familiar with dirty and incredibly stupid, and Tony Robinson couldn't have been a more perfect choice, he is priceless. Miranda Richardson makes for a suitably shrill Queen Elizabeth I, Rik Mayall is hilarious and Patsy Byrne is delightful as the daft nurse. Stephen Fry and Tim McInnery are also wonderful in their respective roles as Lord Percy and Lord Melchett. Overall, simply hilarious and a must see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2010
Blackadder 2 is an outstanding series and you must buy it and add it to your comedy collection. Rowan Atkinson is outstanding as Lord Edmund Blackadder and the rest of the cast are brilliant too. Tony Robinson is great as Baldrick, Tim McInnery is terrific as Lord Percy and Stephen Fry is very funny as Lord Melchett. Miranda Richardson plays a terrific part as Elizabeth I and she steals the show. Patsy Byrne was great as Queenie's Nurse and has some great lines. Written by Richard Curtis and Ben Elton, Blackadder 2 is set in Elizabethan times and is absolutely hilarious. Follow Blackadder's adventures as he tries to please the Queen. There are some great guest appearances in the six episodes by great comic actors like Hugh Laurie and Rik Mayall. Tom Baker is brilliant in his nautical role as an eccentric ship's captain.
They don't make shows like this anymore. Great acting, great actors and brilliant lines.
5 stars. Comic genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)