Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honestly entertaining.
Honestly its GOOD.
I have just today watched this dvd of 'Honest'
which I bought from a car boot for 50 pence.
I dont normally watch these type of films ,
but to my surprise I thoroughly enjoyed it.
I was surprised there where a lot of negative reviews.
Yes it is very 60s and I agree that some scenes could ,
annoy some people ,reminded...
Published on 7 Feb. 2011 by Barry

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Ewww minging sisters plus band mate try to act... Unintentionally hilarious, dire film. A dis ahhhhhhh ster to be sure
Whilst nowhere near as appalling as that spice film or atrocious as that seeing double tripe, this is far from being a good film. Just when you think the film cannot get any worse... it does, in spades, with bells on. Watch it once then burn it. I am proud to say I do not own this dollop of poo.
Published 11 months ago by BigAl82


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Ewww minging sisters plus band mate try to act... Unintentionally hilarious, dire film. A dis ahhhhhhh ster to be sure, 21 May 2014
This review is from: Honest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Whilst nowhere near as appalling as that spice film or atrocious as that seeing double tripe, this is far from being a good film. Just when you think the film cannot get any worse... it does, in spades, with bells on. Watch it once then burn it. I am proud to say I do not own this dollop of poo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was this a comedy?, 8 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Honest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
When this film had finished, I was still trying to work out exactly what I had seen. Was this an attempt at a Brit gangster film? Perhaps it was a comedy of sorts offering a popular culture view of the sixties. Whatever it was meant to be, it was, to say the least, cringeworthy and embarrassing to watch.

Three sisters dress up as men in order to go burgling and in so doing, they hope to get out of the social rut that is the east end of London. The problems with the film start here. The women, despite the disguises, are still obviously female and they still speak in undisguised female voices. Surely no-one would fall for this. The accents are obviously fake cockney and the facial grimmaces when trying to look hard are laughable, and this being set in the sixties, the whole film is sixties cliche overload.

This film was an attempt by the Appleton sisters and Melanie Blatt to break into films, but someone should have had a few words in their ears, and whatever Dave Stewart does, directing a gangster film is not his forte. In my opinion, this film is not recommended viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable caper; HONEST!, 9 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Honest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I actually enjoyed this film. It is quite well made and most of the performances are good. I could get picky with quite a few bits but for me the only real hate-point is the turgid 15 minute "Awayday" scenes in the middle of the film that interupt the pace of the story.
This film is one of those curios; popstars leading a film primarily because they are popstars. However I thought the Appletons were good (forgiving the accents!), and Mel Blatt showed some real talent but was sadly under utilised.
Credit to Dave Stewart for actually getting this film made, many people talk about making films but few actually get it done, however I'm not sure we are ready for a sequel just yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars still rubbish., 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Honest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Worst film ever.... Still. Just wanted to check really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honestly entertaining., 7 Feb. 2011
By 
Barry (Stoke-on-Trent. Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Honest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Honestly its GOOD.
I have just today watched this dvd of 'Honest'
which I bought from a car boot for 50 pence.
I dont normally watch these type of films ,
but to my surprise I thoroughly enjoyed it.
I was surprised there where a lot of negative reviews.
Yes it is very 60s and I agree that some scenes could ,
annoy some people ,reminded me of films like 'Loot'
or 'confessions of window cleaner 'ETC! anyway it cheered ,
me up ,and the acting wasn't as bad as they make out.
I have seen far worse ,its cheap enough ,buy it .
Kind regards Barry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This film is wrong, 19 Jan. 2003
This review is from: Honest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This film is not good, please! What are people talking about?! The 'acting' is hilarious to watch, the lack of talent is clear for all to see in almost every scene. The 'directing' is pitiful, whoever it was (I don't care what his name is) should stick to directing music videos, where the art of storytelling isn't necessary. The story itself is boring and implausable, the dialogue is poor and the characters are inconsistant and one-dimensional. No attempt was made to give the film any meaning or main themes, and it's not particularly fun to watch either. Nudity has been casually thrown in to give the film a selling point in the most contrived and obvious way; a nude scene is one of the main pictures on the back cover, which amusingly signposts this.
The critics slated the film for a good reason; it's pathetic. The perfect example of how not to make a film. It will never become some kind of 'gem' simply because it tries to give an 'original' moody feel to the sixties. It's just boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars honest, 21 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Honest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
good film and good dvd goodgoooooooooooooooooooooooood put the film on and experience very good Be detailed and specific. What would you have wanted to know before you purchased the product?
Not too short and not too long. Aim for between 75 and 300 words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film. Good DVD, 11 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Honest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The film was good when i saw it back in may and it is still good now. The picture is sharp and the sound clear. The extras are a bit thin and a commentry or out takes section would have been good. The film itself is funny and violent. if you get over the fact that 3 are singers you wont be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A very poor DVD, 5 May 2001
This review is from: Honest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Honest is a decent film and not as bad as the media lets on but the DVD is very poor. The only feature on this DVD is the original theatrical trailor so if you really want the film i suggest saving some money and buying the video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
By 
Ole Jensen "Raven" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Honest [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Honest [DVD] [2000]
Honest [DVD] [2000] by David A. Stewart (DVD - 2003)
£4.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews