Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rebecca - a gem of a thriller.
Rebecca is by far one of Alfred Hitchcock's most entertaining and often overlooked masterpieces. In this film his US directorial debut we see at work the first signs of his genius as the master of film suspense coming to life. Laurence Olivier is great as the tortured Maxim haunted by the memory of his beautiful and mysterious first wife and Joan Fontaine puts in a good...
Published on 5 Jun 2003 by F. V. L. Buliciri

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There is no English subtitles at all
There is no English subtitles at all. I'm absolutely disapponinted because the informaticon in web page is not accurate.It's a shame.
Published 5 months ago by Nicolás Sánchez Ortega


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rebecca - a gem of a thriller., 5 Jun 2003
By 
F. V. L. Buliciri (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rebecca [VHS] [1940] (VHS Tape)
Rebecca is by far one of Alfred Hitchcock's most entertaining and often overlooked masterpieces. In this film his US directorial debut we see at work the first signs of his genius as the master of film suspense coming to life. Laurence Olivier is great as the tortured Maxim haunted by the memory of his beautiful and mysterious first wife and Joan Fontaine puts in a good performance as the shy dowdy second wife of Maxim who slowly unravels dark hidden secrets behind Rebecca's tragic death. They don't make classic thrillers any more like Rebecca and I like it because the film is still good entertainment after so many years. Dame Judith Anderson is probably one of the best female villains of all time in her portrayal of the sinister housekeeper Mrs Danvers.
One of the great thrillers of all time and a film that must be added to any Hitchcock fan's movie collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Hitch's Best, 1 Jan 2006
This review is from: Rebecca [DVD] (DVD)
This 1940 film was a star at the Oscars, winning two and gaining a raft of nominations in almost every class. Hitchcocks first Hollywood studio-bound feature, it oozes deft cinematography, eerie scenes, brilliant studio sets and acting. Of course it has that slick direction from Hitch that we've come to expect from later films. It's exciting, romantic, gothic, it even has a lesbian sub-plot, and shows a young dashing Olivier (before his over-acting days came..) and the ever-gorgeous Joan Fontaine. Each scene is exquisitely lit, the dialogue is succinct, incidental music is passionate and the book-based story intelligent. No matter that it's 1940 black and white, I'm 30 and found the film 'spine-tinglingly' enchanting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm asking you to marry me, you little fool.", 29 Aug 2004
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rebecca [DVD] (DVD)
Joan Fontaine stars as a miserably shy and awkward lady's companion who meets the worldly and recently widowed Maxim de Winter in Monte Carlo. They seem an odd couple, but after a few short weeks, they marry and come home to his elegant country estate, Manderley. There, the new Mrs. de Winter is overwhelmed with her new, grand lifestyle, and is especially frightened by the forbidding housekeeper, who keeps her first mistress' memory and influence alive. Maxim reveals a terrible secret which forever alters the couple's life, and affects the very existence of Manderley.

This wonderfully atmospheric tale, complete with swirling fog and spooky organ music, will take you away to the glamourous, yet lonely world of Manderley. Joan Fontaine gives a breathtaking performance, convincing us she really is crippled with feelings of inadequacy, despite being a flawless beauty. Judith Anderson is unforgettable as the sneering housekeeper. Laurence Olivier makes a properly snobbish and brooding Maxim, and manages to be the hero despite a very fatal flaw. The title character, Rebecca (the first Mrs. de Winter), is never seen, but makes her intimidating presence known. If you like gothic romances filled with 1940's elegance and lots of creepy atmosphere, you'll enjoy Rebecca.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest film of all time, 3 Sep 2005
This review is from: Rebecca [DVD] (DVD)
This film is so great it is sublime. Both Fontaine and Olivier give the performances of a lifetime in this dark, exquisitely filmed and haunting masterpiece. The mise en scene is so perfectly co-ordinated that one is taken through the film in an almost dream-like state. This film really does have something for everyone- romance, mystery, suspense and even the odd quip from dapper Olivier, who surprisingly gives a rather understated performance. My only criticism is that this is the type of film that you just wish would never end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars early Hitchcock classic: atmospheric, haunting and psychologically intense, 2 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Rebecca [DVD] (DVD)
The most beautiful thing about "Rebecca" is its brooding atmosphere and gothic feel surrounding a macabre marriage between wealthy, jaunty yet volatile widower and timid, naive & average young woman, who was haunted by the memories of her husband's deceased first wife. Alas, let's say that this is a "ghost story", but not in the literal sense of the haunting of the supernaturals, but in the form of psychological torment created by the secrets and mysteries, whose answers were "sunk" on the deep sea floor.

Undoubtedly Hitchcock was a visual master, taking advantage of his entry to the movie industry during the silent film era. Two great movements of this era - "Soviet Montage" & "German Expressionism" - contributed greatly to the development of his visual style, especially in fields of framing of shots, tracking and compositional techniques which enabled him to create maximum emotional effect through lights, shadows and camerawork. Here, we see some cool examples of his outstanding style too. To increase the moodiness and dark atmosphere of the film; he took every possible advantage of glorious b/w cinematography and used plenty of wonderful closeups (with tricky plays on somber shadows), amazing low angles and gorgeous long pans all worked very well on screen.

This is Hitchcock's first American project and first and only film to win the Academy Award for Best Picture (with Best Cinematography Award it wins 2 Oscars out of 11 nominations). Although it lasts 130 minutes, takes the point of view of a single character and has a slow, measured pace; no single moment or line is wasted. It never drags or gets boring. Hitch's trademark suspense elements, psychological intensity, glamorous set pieces and unforgettable performances of Joan Fontaine, Laurence Olivier and Judith Anderson make "Rebecca" a timeless Hitchcock classic. (4.6/5.0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitchcock goes to Hollywood, 12 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rebecca [VHS] [1940] (VHS Tape)
This is a truly magnificent film. All the more engrossing for it being Hitchcocks first foray into Hollywood. Although the film is largely a studio production, it is great to see some real trademarks (who said there was no such thing as an auteur?) including the amazing shadow of Mrs Danvers which towers over Mrs De Winter II. I loved the book, in particular, that gripping entrance, to which this film is so true (if perhaps not quite to true to the ending, but hell, this is Hollywood!)
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitchcock in Hollywood, 19 Jun 2008
By 
David R. Bishop "Bishbaby" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rebecca [DVD] (DVD)
This fine movie is worth watching just for Laurence Olivier at his sophisticated sexiest. He exudes British qualities of confidance, pragmatism and eccentricity. The enigma surrounding his dark moods unfolds as the story continues. There is however, a lot more than him that is good in this film.

Beautiful, doe eyed Joan Fontaine is well cast as his un-named second wife. The character is overwhelmed and out of place as the lady of a great house. Director Alfred Hitchcock told Joan that the rest of the cast hated her, to get that awkward feeling from her acting. This was hardly true, although Laurence had wanted his wife Vivien Leigh for the role.

Hitchcock shows his skill and mastery of suspense here. This is an early Hollywood effort by he, who would go on to legendary status in coming decades.

Of the supporting cast, Judith Anderson is memorable as housekeeper Mrs Danvers. She treats her new mistress with an icy disdain. The way she almost warms up to the new Mrs De Winter, when showing her the rooms of Rebecca, is doubly chilling. She retains a dark obsessive devotion to her former mistress.

This David O'Selznick production is full and un-skimped. After nearly seventy years, it remains the definitive production of this classic tale, in my opionion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm not the sort of woman men marry, 17 Aug 2008
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rebecca [1940] [DVD] (DVD)
The one that got the Best Picture Oscar...even if it was David O Selznick who picked it up as producer. It remains one of his most popular features, especially with women by all accounts, although Germaine Greer isn't a fan.

This was Hitch's first Hollywood film and is a brooding atmospheric film that takes a great novel (which was normally something Hitchcock would avoid like the plague, arguing that if a novel was too good, how could he possibly improve on it) and makes it into a film that is just as good, if not better.

Joan Fontaine makes a compelling "Second Mrs De.Winter" and whilst Laurence Oliver can't quite drop his "luvvy" acting style to make the role as Maxim De Winter equally as compelling, it's fair to say that he does make a good stab at the role. Judith Anderson makes a great Mrs Danvers, effortlessly adding the neccessary creepiness and spite to the chararacter, whilst George Sanders role as Jack Favell may not take up too much screen time, but is very memorable.

Sticking mainly to the plot of the novel, the changes Hitchock made to the book's plot aren't neccesarilly for the best. The film laws of the time meant that murder had to have consequences, so as a result, Rebecca's death is treated as an accident in the film. Secondly, Hitchcock takes away the ambiguity of the book's ending with his own fiery resolution.

I tend to think that the film takes a little too much time meandering whilst you wait for the "important" bits to come along, but by any stretch of the imagination, it's still a very fine piece of cinema. And it's hard to think of any other version of this classic story has ever come close to matching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Blu-Ray import plays on Region B player., 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rebecca [Blu-ray] [1940] [US Import]. There are very few Amazon customer reviews for this import. I can confirm, that despite the 'A' labelling on the rear cover, it plays perfectly on my Philips BDP5200.
The picture is a noticeable improvement on the DVD, especially with contrast (costume blacks really are for example) and shadows are not as impenetrable. Add subtitling clarity and material texture sharpness and the whole is far more engaging. Not a fantastic transfer overall (skin txtures lack something), but is very well worth having IMO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Why Don't They Make Movies This Good These Days?..., 15 Jun 2006
By 
L. Black "lorcanblack" (Dublin, Republic of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rebecca [DVD] (DVD)
I'm 19 years old, when I first saw this movie I think I was like, 17. The very first time I saw it I fell in love with it. I'd read the novel beforehand and this is one of the few movie adaptations of a novel I've seen that actually does it incredible justice. The whole mood, the acting, the anxious subservience of Mrs. De Winter and the straight-laced broodishness of Maxim are just acted out perfectly! Joan Fontaine looks stunning, and Manderly looks almost exactly similar to how I pictured it.

They stayed incredibly close to the novel, in fact they didn't really change anything, they simply just had to leave things out (which actually slowed down the plot so it's a plus for the movie).

I remember being so shocked by the end, it's got a good twist (better than some movies these days). I didn't care that it was black and white and that feminism wasn't around so much at that stage, Joan Fontaine just makes you believe her need to please and to fit in, especially in the awesome shadow of the former wife Rebecca, and her housekeeper Ms. Danvers, who the new Mrs. De Winter feels she must impress. You can literally feel Mrs. De Winter's suffocating need to please. Feeling empathy toward her is easy during this movie.

Watch it, watch it again, and keep watching it! You won't be disappointed, even after several views!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rebecca [DVD]
Rebecca [DVD] by Alfred Hitchcock (DVD - 2004)
£12.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews