Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, gritty and explicit! Its great!
This is a fantastic film which follows one day in the life of a Gay Greek Australian who is having a tough time deciding what he wants in life!
On this one day, fuelled by drungs, alcohol and sex, he goes out on a destructive bing, hurting the one man who has told him he loves him, gets arrested and nearly losese the only friends he has. He tells himself that he is...
Published on 14 Jan 2003 by H. Trivass

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable to a point
I bought this as it was listed under the "GLBT" listings. Don't buy it if you're looking purely for a 'gay' story though, it's very much about a guy trapped between his greek family lifestyle and his gay lifestyle. I did enjoy watching it, though felt some of the camera work has dated considerably. Also, I really didn't understand the ending and can't say I could tell...
Published on 3 May 2009 by Caspar Aremi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, gritty and explicit! Its great!, 14 Jan 2003
This review is from: Head On [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic film which follows one day in the life of a Gay Greek Australian who is having a tough time deciding what he wants in life!
On this one day, fuelled by drungs, alcohol and sex, he goes out on a destructive bing, hurting the one man who has told him he loves him, gets arrested and nearly losese the only friends he has. He tells himself that he is living but wants to remain invisable and never remembered.
It is a wonderful tale, that is sexually explicit, and shows how within a family and community, hatred still exists. The scene at the police station filled me with anger and pain as it is a harrowing event.
All in all this is a gripping tale, wonderfully acted and brilliantly brought to the screen!
Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interest in Gay life in Austrilia then this is it!, 29 Jan 2001
This review is from: Head On [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is absolutely fantastic. Not only is it poinient and clever it also captures everything you could want from a film that could be laced with cliché. A really coming out of age film. Ari is a young Greek man who is depended on by his father to carry on the family name. However Ari is gay and incredibly confused. The film touches on points that Queer as Folk merely glossed over.
As a young gay male, I absolutely loved it. As usual of Austrailian films the movie is littered with amusing one-liners and coembacks. As in the spirit of Pricilla and Muriel's Wedding this film shines with the greats.
The personality of Ari is depicted clearly through the performance of Delimitri. You will probably recognise the star from 'Neighbours' of old. He has a fantastic performance and makes the most of his material.
Anyone who has thought about coming out, has come out or even knows someone who has come out, I would recommend this film to them. It will make you laugh and cry at the same time. "Give it a go, you may just like it."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a "happy ending", gay movie, 23 Nov 2000
By 
This review is from: Head On [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The story of a first generation young guy, Ari,of Greek parentage living in Melbourne Australia, who is trying to come to terms with his homosexual tendencies, and his general rebellion against the expectations of his parents and the community he lives in. Acted by Alex Dimitriades, the films deals with a brief period in which Ari, engages in gay sex for money, uses drugs and is arrested with his best friend who just happens to be a drag queen. In other words an action packed 48 hours or so, in a young man's life. While a very dark movie it is an entertaining and thought provoking one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aussie film at its best, 1 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Head On [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
This was my first forray into Australian film. If all the rest are as good at this one I'll be coming back for more for a long time to come!
The acting was first class. I had only ever seen Dimitriades in 'teen' soap dramas before which clearly never gave him the opportunity to show his full potential. As Ari he was simply brilliant.
Ari was an interesting character. One never really got the full picture of him but this is probably what makes the film a great watch from start to finish. He seemed to be lost and confused one minute and brutish and self-assured the next.
Backed up by an excellent cast and superb direction 'Head On' must surely become something of an Australian classic. Although the subject matter may not to be to everyone's liking (it is pretty graphic) the story is unique which in turn makes the film itself 100% original.
Gay/straight/bi/confused/whatever, this is a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to be shocked, 18 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Head On [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Head On is very aptly named for both the pace of the film and its graphic portrayal of the life of Ari a young homosexual greek immigrant.
Compulsive viewing, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a change, 15 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Head On [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
What a change to get a really good story in a film essentially targeted a gay audience, but which will also appeal to a wider-straight audience. Good characterisation, subtle messages and very reflective of the gay scheme, revealing, but perhaps could have been a bit more revealing at times.... Altogether brilliant!
I would also recommend "To die for" less serious, but pretty good. This is not the Hollywood film of this title, but the British one with Tony Slattery as the "straight" social worker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sadly , the story of my life, 22 Mar 2012
I saw this film for the first time on a vhs tape when i was twenty years old . I didn't identify myself as gay at the time and couldn't make sense of Ari's journey . The erotic scenes seemed to dark for me , the scene at the police station way too excessive and everyone surrounding the central character of the movie too narrow minded .

Fast forward ten years and after a lot of painful soul-searching and tons of denial received by my family and society , i deceided to watch Kokkino's debut film once more . Needless to say , it was a very different experience alltogether...

The film perfectly captures the hypocrisy of our family-centered , conservative culture concerning gay rights . Like it oftens happens with many groups of immigrants , greeks , in their effort to mantain their identity abroad , end up living locked in their own little bubble . Ari's parents obviously love him yet strangely don't won't him to be indepedent .They keep filling him with guilt and flatly deny the possibility of him being gay. " Why do you hang out with that 'pousti' ( f**got in greek ) " asks the father his son on the family table , refering to an openly gay cousin . The young man is confused and trapped in the stereotypes and roles his greek microcosm has prepared for him .

My mother has actually told me once a line that an aunt of Ari tells him at one point in the movie .." get your self a good girl , get married..then it doesn't matter what you do ..."

The film is not perfect but it's certaintly brave and Dimitriadis is magnetic in the lead role .

I wanna end this review by objecting to a comment another reviewer made in a one-star review of this movie ." The Greeks I have known were all warm, loving and generous. This film is insulting to them " ..The truth is that many warm , loving and generous people no matter what the ethnic background , can often be full of prejudices and taboos that neet to be adressed . This edgy movie does just that .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable to a point, 3 May 2009
By 
Caspar Aremi "aremi.me.uk" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this as it was listed under the "GLBT" listings. Don't buy it if you're looking purely for a 'gay' story though, it's very much about a guy trapped between his greek family lifestyle and his gay lifestyle. I did enjoy watching it, though felt some of the camera work has dated considerably. Also, I really didn't understand the ending and can't say I could tell someone what conclusions the film reaches. Still, it is well worth seeing. I'm surprised the lead actor hasn't appeared in more movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather disappointing, 4 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this film because of the almost universal great reviews which it received. However I found the film not only bleak but rather disappointing. Obviously the film seeks to portray the conflicts of identity which second and third generation immigrants can experience, but the idea is not new. The British film "East is East" explored the same topic with both humour and pathos, whereas "Head On" just leaves one is a state of despair.

Since I wrote my original comments there has been a follow-up to "East is East", not surprising called "West is West". This only reinforces my view that "Head On" is a film that offers no hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well tackled!, 21 May 2010
This review is from: Head On [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
Alex delivers an amazing performance, good to see him move on from Heartbreak High. Covers alot of ground and does it well. This film has stayed with me for years, very thought provoking with some hard hitting & emotionally tense scenes.

Watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Head On [2000] [DVD]
Head On [2000] [DVD] by Ana Kokkinos (DVD - 2000)
Used & New from: 6.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews