Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the most part, a sparkling restoration
If further proof be needed that when it comes to Blu-ray, the old ones are the best ones, along comes this superb version of The Bridge on the River Kwai.

Occasionally in HD/Blu-ray forums I read ill-informed comments that such and such a film will look rubbish on Blu-ray because it 'pre-dates HD'. Well this one was released in 1957: see for yourselves. The...
Published on 16 Jun 2011 by Chris White

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bridge over the River Kwai - which version?!
Bridge on River Kwai [Blu-ray] [1957] [US Import]

Be sure you know what you're buying. The picture and title are of the US blu-ray version.
The description and reviews refer to the DVD version
The UK Blu-ray version is released later 2011 for the same price.
Better wait for that and be sure?!
Published on 22 April 2011 by B. Kumar


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the most part, a sparkling restoration, 16 Jun 2011
By 
Chris White (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If further proof be needed that when it comes to Blu-ray, the old ones are the best ones, along comes this superb version of The Bridge on the River Kwai.

Occasionally in HD/Blu-ray forums I read ill-informed comments that such and such a film will look rubbish on Blu-ray because it 'pre-dates HD'. Well this one was released in 1957: see for yourselves. The fact is that film has a vastly high resolution to begin with, even greater than that of Blu-ray. As long as the original negative is in a pristine condition, it can't help but look better. Many older movies are given a new lease of life on the format and quite often - thanks to state-of-the-art restoration techniques - can sit proudly alongside the best of today's titles.

BotRK boasts a fine new transfer: "a 4K digital restoration from the original negative with newly remastered 5.1 audio" according to the sleeve notes. If the film does show its age to some degree, it's where the source elements don't quite match and look slightly grainier. This is certainly true of the opening few minutes but don't let that put you off. Once the PoWs have marched into camp, the picture is exemplary and is easily on a par with other highly regarded Blu-rays, such as Zulu or The Sound of Music. The DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack has been mixed with care: any effects are only sent to the surround channels when the scene justifies it and not for their own sake. Music for the most part is confined to the front stage and a crisp dialogue track is anchored to the centre, where it belongs.

As regards the film itself, it won seven Academy Awards and deservedly so. Alec Guinness' portrayal of the by-the-rules British colonel, who engages in a stubborn battle of wills and then elects to put his men's morale above the Allies' war objective, is one of the all-time great performances.

This is a movie that I came to quite late in life and upon first viewing, it held my attention completely from beginning to end. It's now arrived for a new generation to discover in the best way possible. You don't know how spoilt you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still my favourite, 2 Sep 2006
By 
Sarakani (Harrow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bridge On The River Kwai [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I can't name my favourite book - there are too many. But my favourite film has to be this. Principally I am attached to its depiction of Sri Lanka including waterfalls, rivers and a sense of jungle even if some of the film was filmed in pretend jungle in botanic gardens. I think this film is so incredibly well packaged and the script is so good and the visuals are stunning - that I can return to it again and again.

The criticism is that this film does not relate any reality. Those who want to know about the real Bridge can go to Thailand and do their own research.

This is principally an entertaining "war" film all about face, principles, the British Empire, life in the army with a not unsympathetic portrayal of the Japanese general who in reality would have represented a more brutal oppressor.

Everything about this film resonates with something you can connect with in daily life:

"Without rules commander there would be no civilisation"

"We're under the heel of a man who'll stop at nothing to get his way"

"As for me, I'm just a slave, a living slave"

"someone deserves a medal sir!"

Some excellent speeches and a panoramic look at Life and Sri Lanka, captured at a time a little more pristine than at present. Extraordinary climax at end with tremendous camera shots for a 50s film. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three classic films at an excellent price., 25 Jan 2005
I shan't bother describing the films themselves here, as you can find many good reviews elsewhere on Amazon. The box set is reasonably well put together, although the hinging of the plastic trays that contain the discs looks a bit flimsy (held together by Sellotape?). The discs and booklets for each film are taken directly from the Columbia Tri-Star releases of the fims available individually. However you only get disc 1 from the "Bridge on the River Kwai" two-disc set released in 2000. You lose some of the "making-of" documentaries, interviews and picture galleries ... but you get the film, which is the important thing!
The "Bridge on the River Kwai" is a remastered version with a remixed Dolby 5.1 soundtrack. I found the stereo separation too wide for my tastes and would have liked the option of the original mono soundtrack (artefacts and all). Picture quality is fair, although there are some scratches and hairs during the opening credits as well as the occasional jump during the film.
"From Here to Eternity" has the original mono soundtrack (I believe a Superbit Dolby 5.1 version is also available, but, really, what's the point?!). Note that this film is shot in black and white.
"The Guns Of Navarone" has surround sound and the picture quality is good.
In conclusion, if you're not bothered by the lack of extras, I would highly recommend this set. At the current prices you save 10 pounds compared with buying the films separately (16 vs. 26 pounds).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Madness... Madness" and Yet, 26 Sep 2005
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Directed by David Lean, this film focuses on an attempt by a team led by Major Warden (Jack Hawkins) to destroy a strategically important bridge over the Kwai river in Burma in 1943, a bridge built by British prisoners during World War II. An epic in every possible sense, the inhumanities of the Japanese are probably underplayed somewhat so that we can focus on two essential conflicts of will, one between Japanese Colonel Saito (Sessue Hayakawa) and British Colonel Nicholson (Alec Guinness) and the other between Warden and Shears (William Holden) who is forced to join Warden's team and thereby avoid a court martial for impersonating a U.S. naval officer. It should also be noted that Nicholson struggles with a conflict between his obligations as a British officer (i.e. to resist his enemy in any and every possible way) and his determination to demonstrate British superiority over the Japanese captors. Colonel Saito has his own conflicts, notably between imposing his will on Nicholson and the British troops and getting the bridge built. At the heart of this magnificent film are several moral dilemmas which help to explain why we become so emotionally involved with its narrative.
One of the many pleasures of seeing this film (especially in its DVD format) is the juxtaposition of lush tropical settings with the raw emotions of those who are building the bridge and those who are determined to destroy it. I am also struck by how carefully Lean develops the semi-adversarial relationships between Nicholson and Saito and between Warden and Shears. Although "Madness... Madness" is frequently quoted as an evaluation of those relationships, I disagree. Saito has been ordered to built the bridge, Nicholson agrees to accomplish that task but on his terms, Warden has been assigned to destroy it, and Shears (who considers all this "madness" but plays a key role in achieving that objective) lacks the circumspection which Lean enables us to have. Of course, war itself is madness...and yet there is (or at least can be) a redeeming if misguided integrity in how adversaries conduct themselves amidst that madness.
The excellence of this film was acknowledged by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, receiving in 1957 seven Oscars for Best Actor (Guinness). Best Adapted Screenplay (Pierre Boulle), Best Cinematography (Jack Hildyard), Best Director (Lean), Best Editing (Peter Taylor), and Best Score (Malcolm Arnold). Years later, it was ranked #13 among "America's Greatest Movies" by the American Film Institute. I consider it ludicrous that Gone With the Wind (#4) is ranked higher than The Bridge on the River Kwai by the AFI. For those with a sensitive palate, the former is junk food whereas the latter is gourmet cuisine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praise, glory, admiration, adoration, and honour forever!!!!, 23 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bridge On The River Kwai [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is simply THE BEST MOTION PICTURE EVER MADE. It is the example that all directors should seek to adhere to. Its complex characters, outstanding screenplay and cinematography make this film PERFECT. Alec Guiness is so good that there are no words to describe him. Moreover, thanks to the producers of this excellent DVD, "Bridge" has never looked and sounded better. The image quality is absolutely STUNNING! The documentary on disc two is very interesting, and it's a delight to be able to watch the original 1957 trailer. Very charming how they promoted films 44 years ago. Don't worry about the fact that it's a WW II drama. It focusses on characters and story, not action scenes, and could therefore be set in any period or location. It deserves the 7 Oscars it got in 1958, and it's really a DVD you will want to have in your collection. But don't put it together with your other DVDs, put it somewhere where it's well stored and where people can see it. It'll make YOU look good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilter has only got one ba,,., 24 Mar 2014
By 
Ivan Bradley "Using Mrs's credit card again..." (Central England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bridge On The River Kwai [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Jolly spiffing film.
An absorbing study in obsession where any notion of right and wrong seems to be entirely predicated on subjective notions of duty, regardless of consequence. A remarkable eye opener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "With you it's one thing or the other, destroy the bridge or destroy yourself!", 27 Nov 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
"Take a good look, Clifton. One day the war will be over. And I hope that the people who use this bridge in years to come will remember how it was built and who built it - not a gang of slaves, but soldiers, British soldiers, Clifton, even in captivity."

Still one of David Lean's very best films despite its faults, unlike most of his epics, the plot of The Bridge on the River Kwai is focused enough to allow the film its debate on the nature of heroism and command without seeming forced, and is divided clearly into two halves. The first is a battle of wills between two madmen and their respective codes of honour; the British Colonel Nicholson, who seeks to turn defeat into victory, and the Japanese Colonel Saito, whose cruelty comes from his inability to see his lack of shame over their surrender.

Nicholson is so determined to use the building of the bridge as a weapon against his Japanese captors to rebuild his troops' morale that he is blind to the strategic consequences ("I hope these Japanese appreciate what we're doing for them." mutters Donald's medical officer). As Nicholson exceeds his requirements, he assumes Saito's role, even to the point of forcing officers and those on the sick list to work - the very points they had earlier clashed over - forcing the Japanese Colonel to face a surrender of his own. Ultimately reduced to the meek voice of acquiescence at one of their conferences, he alone achieves his objective but only at the cost of his self-respect. He alone realises what he has become.

The second half is more standard adventure fare, as anti-heroic escaped prisoner Holden (his casting clearly based on his similar role in Stalag 17) is press-ganged into returning to the bridge with gung-ho masochist Jack Hawkins to blow it up. If at the camp Donald is the voice of common sense, Holden is the voice of the common man. Faced with the wounded Hawkins' self-sacrificing heroics, he responds with a tirade against everything he stands for; ("With you it's one thing or the other, destroy the bridge or destroy yourself!"). But though he rejects the insanity of heroic codes and proclaims that the only true dignity lies in survival, he dies upholding just such an ideal. This is just one of the contradictions of an undeniably problematic ending, which opts for the spectacular at the cost of much of the substance of the film.

In reality, the bridge was never destroyed, but Lean discards history to give the audience the large explosion they've been waiting for. Depicted with intriguing ambiguity as to Guinness' motives, it nonetheless tends to obliterate the assertion of Pierre Boulle's novel that all the suffering has been in vain by allowing a victory, albeit at hideous cost. War is no longer a pointless and vainglorious farce played with human lives, but a place where even a cynic and an unwitting collaborator can redeem themselves through the nobility of self-sacrifice.

Yet if ultimately the film lacks the commitment of Bryan Forbes astonishly bleak King Rat or even Spielberg's dark Empire of the Sun, there is still much to admire, not least a quartet of great performances from Guinness and the under-appreciated Holden, Hawkins and Hayakawa. Lean is much more in control of his narrative than when he started making love stories with casts of thousands, his masterful use of the Scope frame coming over particularly well in this restored version (no new footage but a cleaned-up print) which finally gives blacklisted writers Michael Wilson and Carl Foreman their screen credits.

The Blu-ray restoration is a mixture of good and bad. The picture is certainly clearer and cleaner than any previous version, but the colour at times doesn't seem quite as rich and sweltering as it should be - the scenes of the prisoners standing on forced parade in the sun now seeming a little cold rather than humid. No complaints about the extras, however, which build on the previous DVD release, carrying over the documentary The Making of The Bridge on the River Kwai, featurettes An Appreciation by John Milius, Rise and Fall of a Jungle Giant and USC short film introduced by William Holden, ...On Seeing Film - Film and Literature and trailer (with both original and re-release versions here), and adding an extract from the Steve Allen Show with Holden and Guinness and a text track (though the isolated score from the DVD is now missing). The UK version has very bland packaging, but the initial run of the US edition, which is helpfully region-free, includes an attractive digi-book with stills and behind the scenes information and 12 reproduction lobby cards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A flawless war flm., 13 Jan 2009
By 
ric03 (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bridge On The River Kwai [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is a an exceptional film, which both entertains and moves you. There is little action -- everything is based on character on careful plotting -- although the action filled finale is blisteringly intense. The characters here are instantly likable. Even the awful Japanese general becomes less tyrannical, once you get to know what drives him and see that he is willing to work alongside the allies. It isn't historically accurate, but as a human story it works perfectly.

I found after watching this, that I questioned todays standards. Everything today is about epic special effects and artistic achievement. What happened to simple, humble, honest characters, the like of which are here in abundance? It sounds cheesy, but when they march into camp whistling the famous tune, you can't fail but to feel moved by the human spirit. The same when the troop start singing 'For he's a jolly good fellow' when their leader (superb Alec Guinness) is put into the box, for refusing to make his officers do manual labor.

All in all, I cannot recommend this enough. It isn't flashy or full of action, but is at least as good as anything today and the acting is of the highest standard. One disappointment, the extras mention an isolated score. I expected this to be something you could listen to, but it just means you have can only listen to the music when it happens in the film, so have to watch the film with some very large spaces of silence before any music starts again. It seems pretty pointless to me.

Apart from that minor quibble, I'd recommend this to anyone who can watch a film without special effects. As good a story, drama and war film as I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great classic film; pretty good Blu-ray transfer., 7 Feb 2011
"The Bridge on the River Kwai" has long, and rightly, been regarded as a cinema classic. David Lean's masterly direction, the outstanding performances by the cast and spectacular Ceylonese locations together with Malcolm Arnold's stirring score ensure this film remains firmly on many people's list of favourites. It's taken a while to become available on Blu-ray and, as I project my films in a home cinema, definition is very important to me. By and large the transfer to Blu-ray is very good with just certain sequences/shots not upgraded; the background to the opening titles for instance and the shots of a hovering vulture which open and close the film. Presumably the fading involved from title to title would have made upgrading very laborious and time-consuming and the "hovering bird" sequences would appear to be on pre-existing film so possibly precluded those parts of the negative from being restored to the same degree as the rest of the film. On the whole then, a pretty good transfer and well worth owning alongside the standard DVD - especially if you put your pictures back on the big screen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best WWII Epic, 11 Jun 2011
By 
B. Ying (Hong Kong, SAR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was in my junior high when my family attended this film's premiere in Hong Kong.
William Holden jumped onto the stage and gave a brief hello to the audience after
the film ended.
This film left such an impression on me that I drew many images of the bridge on
my text books. It might have planted the seed in me to become an architect in the coming
years.
I welcome this first epic by David Lean in Blu-Ray.
The title sequence showed the prisoners on the train has a slight grainy effect which might
be intentional to give a documentary look.
The rest of the film is a good improvement on the previous DVD issues but not to the
standard of "Patton" which might also be intentional since it is a WWII film with Burmese
background. The quality of the sound is okay.
Viewing this film again, I found other than the great script and fine direction, it is the
acting of the ensemble headed by Alec Guiness, William Holden, Sesse Hayakawa,
Jack Hawkins, James Donald and many others that made this film so special, especially
during the first half of this long film.
With this Blu-Ray comes a wealth of supplements including Making of and interviews
of the cast.
It remains one of the all time great film.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bridge On The River Kwai [DVD] [2000]
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews