Customer Reviews


172 Reviews
5 star:
 (147)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rare and Wonderful thing
I caught the tail-end of Toy Story one Christmas time, a couple of years ago, and the next thing I knew, I was in Blockbusters, renting it. Browsing through the 'cartoon' section, I caught sight of "Toy Story 2", and thought 'oh, another trite Disney sequel', and dismissed it.

Well, six months later, I was in Blockbusters again, with a couple of friends, and...
Published on 26 Sep 2006 by Kate

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film
Great film for the kids they sit glued to the TV and will watch it time and time again, look forward to getting 3, when its cheap enough.
Published 20 months ago by Philip Barker


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rare and Wonderful thing, 26 Sep 2006
I caught the tail-end of Toy Story one Christmas time, a couple of years ago, and the next thing I knew, I was in Blockbusters, renting it. Browsing through the 'cartoon' section, I caught sight of "Toy Story 2", and thought 'oh, another trite Disney sequel', and dismissed it.

Well, six months later, I was in Blockbusters again, with a couple of friends, and one of them started waxing lyrical about it, insisting that we rent it, and, to my shock, everyone else backed her up. I couldn't really say no, could I? So I bought popcorn, and resigned myself to a torturous night of cringes and bad jokes.

It was amazing. A really wonderful movie - more than that, a really wonderful story, a story with jokes that make you laugh, characters you believe in, and a moral that doesn't slap you round the face and shout "Look at me! I'm here!".

The scene with Jessica, talking to Woody about 'her human', Emily, is particularly moving. I'm sure I'm not the only kid in the world who gave some of my older, less loved toys a dust-down and a bit of a hug after watching this film.

If you don't want to buy it, at least rent it, or borrow it off someone who has it. It's rare that a cartoon can simultaneously be forward thinking and an immediate classic, but these one does it with ease; it's so very much worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Blu-ray for Toy Story 2, 16 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This being an older Pixar release, I was a bit unsure about whether to order it. I feared it may be a DVD upscale or some other rehash - or that the source material simply wouldn't look as good over 10 years (and many other excellent Pixar films) later.

All these fears were unfounded. The transfer is quite simply excellent. There are one or two moments with a little digital noise (in bright areas) and some anti-aliasing issues but they really are very, very minor indeed. The textures are more plain in design and colour than later Pixar efforts but everything is rendered absolutely pin-sharp. The colours, though plain as I say, are very rich indeed. Some scenes show breathtaking detail and the whole feel is really appealing and very suited to the 'toy' setting and characters.

The sound is a Master Audio track. It's very powerful indeed, so much so that I lost the dialogue in some places. However this could have been because I was listening quietly. Overall the sound treatment is excellent. (Edit: The dialogue remains clear and intelligible throughout, it's just the sound effects are mixed quite high in places, it seems, so I had to turn it down for comfort reasons only.)

There are a few extras on the Blu-ray (I haven't checked the bundled DVD yet; it appears to duplicate the Blu-ray but with a bit less content). They are mainly short, funny - and rather odd - 'cartoons' about the production of Toy Story 2. They are charming enough. There doesn't appear to be a Pixar short in the package though, from my first quick glance at all the extras. There is an audio commentary though.

To sum up, if you like the film, don't be put off by the lack of reviews. I was initially but there was nothing to worry about. The transfer is great, the film doesn't show its age and does stand up very well even against recent Pixar masterpieces like the Up and WALL-E Blu-rays.

Very highly recommended!

(It also seems like it's a region-free Blu-ray too, judging by the A-B-C playable regions printed on the disc, though this is untested and unconfirmed.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant film, if anything better than the original., 19 Jan 2005
This review is from: Toy Story 2 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
There is a rumour that this was planned as a straight to video (DVD) release and it only secured a cinematic release when Pixar realised how good it was. It certainly was good enough.
A great story following the gang attempting to rescue Woody after a toy collector has kidnapped him (technically I guess he is stolen but it feels like a kidnapping). As in the first film the story works on a number of different levels successfully appealing to children and adults.
Once again the animation is fantastic and the vocal talents superb: Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, Kelsey and Joan Cusack are all excellent.
Simply wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collectible Sequel, 14 Jun 2006
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Things have calmed down in the world of Andy's room. Woody the cowboy doll (Tom Hanks) and space ranger Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen) have learned to get along and are in fact great friends. Even the addition of a puppy hasn't changed things much.

Andy is getting ready to go to cowboy camp for the weekend, and Woody can't wait. This is the highlight of the year because of the one on one time they spend together. Unfortunately, right before Andy leaves, he accidentally rips one of Woody's arms. Andy decides to leave a dejected Woody behind so nothing more happens to him.

The next morning, Woody is horrified to see Andy's mom is having a yard sale. Trying to rescue another toy, Woody accidentally gets discovered by Al, a greedy collector, and toy napped.

Seems Woody isn't any ordinary toy. He's a valuable collectible based on a popular TV show from the 50's. In Al's apartment, Woody meets the rest of the action figured based on his TV show and learns just how valuable he really is.

Buzz, meanwhile, is trying to track down his friend. He leads a rescue party that includes Mr. Potato Head, Slinky Dog, Rex the dinosaur, and Hamm the piggy bank. But will Woody want to be rescued if they find him?

This is a rarity in Hollywood, a sequel that is better then the original. While Toy Story entertains, Toy Story 2 surpasses it. There is a very simple reason for this, too. This movie takes the characters we love and builds on them while giving us a completely new story. Too many sequels feel like retreats of the original, but, while this movie has lots of nods to the original, it doesn't restrict itself to things we have already seen.

This is shown right from the start by showing that Woody and Buzz are still friends. While in the first movie, Andy had Buzz fighting Woody, now Andy has them teamed up to save Bo Peep. Once Woody is toy napped, which happens pretty quickly, the action leave Andy's room and only return for the final scene, a departure from the original.

Plus the story they tell is extremely entertaining. I don't know now many times I've seen the movie since it first came out, but I always get completely caught up in events just like the first time. The pace is quick and humor is plentiful, with several parodies of famous movies and jokes about American culture. They even find a way to bring back delusional Buzz, and he's still a riot. The story does take time to give us several tender moments as well. And, in the grand Pixar tradition, the climax just keeps going and going.

While story make be king with Pixar, character is queen. We care for these characters, which makes us invested in the story. The returning characters are still fully developed, but time is made to help us get to know the characters from Woody's TV show: Jessie the Cowgirl, Bullseye the horse, and Stinky Pete the prospector. Plus this movie introduces Barbie into the mix. While her scenes are short, they are some of my favorites.

Computer animation had really improved in the four years since the original. The humans look better, although they still aren't perfect. There are a couple shots that are truly amazing, however. The dust used in several scenes is great. The highlight is watching Woody get cleaned up. The attention to detail in that scene is amazing.

Pixar is also known for their great DVD releases, and the new two-disc set for this movie is another great example. The picture and sound, taken directly from their computer files, is absolutely outstanding. Most of the extras appeared in the three disc "Toy Box" set released years ago. There's a fascinating audio commentary, abandoned scenes, storyboards, and two behind the scenes documentaries, including a new one. For the kids, there's a "Which toy are you?" game. And of course, the outtakes are included as well.

This was Pixar's third film, but it is still one of my favorites. It's a great film that will appeal to kids of all age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable tribute to modern humour in animation, 16 Sep 2000
This review is from: Toy Story 2 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Although this film is aimed at children. It packs a punch for the mature viewer with its 'tongue and cheek' approach which is so admirable. TOY STORY 2 deserves to become a classic along with it's predecessor. This is one of few sequels (along with THE GODFATHER PART II) which has such depth and originality.
The jokes in this sensational movie keep you laughing till bedtime. I remember resiting all the witty lines to my friends who had yet to see it.
The voices are first rate (a grade up from the original), Joan Cusack most notably. Kudos most also be given to the animated team who (still) make us marvel at such fantastic special-effects animation skills.
The mood is different from the original too. The whole set-up of the story felt different and there was one touchingly tender moment involving beautiful little Jessie (Joan Cusack).
I think this movie should be taken from the kids and watched late-at-night when they're all tucked in bed purely because this is deep, touching and often hysterically witty storytelling. Just don't tell the little rascals you've bought it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 20 Sep 2005
By 
coming up for a sequel for Toy story must have been difficult but this story is just as magic as the first, in fact even more so. For the first time Ham, Rex, and Slink leave Andy's room along with Buzz as woody has been stolen by a toy collector. they ned to act quick if they are to save him. All the characters are incredibly funny and deserve oscars for their performances.
If you are looking for a DVD for the kids this christmas then this is it, and even adults can enjoy it! Have a laugh and learn who woody really is.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for the whole family, 11 Dec 2000
This review is from: Toy Story 2 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Toy Story 2 explores the simple (though intriguing) theme of the meaning of life for a toy! This was touched on in the first film but it is central to Toy Story 2.
The animation is excellent, and the film is commendable simply on this basis alone, but the characters are even better. The pace of the film is handled very well with never a dull moment.
Some may dismiss this as a film for children, but I think that would be a mistake. There's plenty there for children and adults alike. No need to get too deep and meaningful over this as it's just good wholesome family fun.
If you enjoyed the first film you will certainly enjoy this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A triumph!, 23 Sep 2003
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toy Story 2 [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
In this sequel to Toy Story, Woody (Tom Hanks) begins to fear that his usefulness as a toy is coming to end. When Woody is stolen, Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen) organizes a rescue. While our erstwhile heroes are seeking Woody out, Woody finds out the truth about himself; it seems that in the '50s he was the star of a hit show - Woody's Round-up. Given a choice between returning to his owner (and facing the end of his usefulness), or staying with the Round-up gang and living forever in a toy museum, Woody is torn. Simultaneously, the rescue team is facing peril after peril, culminating in the ultimate confrontation - Buzz Lightyear versus the evil Emperor Zurg! [Color, created in 1999, with a running time of 92 minutes.]
This movie is outstanding, and even better than the original! The darkness that shaded the original (Sid) is missing in this one, and the minor sadness is quickly replaced with adventure and hilarity. As an added bonus, the VHS includes the original Pixar cartoon Luxo Jr. and a set of outtakes (both originally seen in the theatre version), plus a video of the Riders in the Sky singing the Woody's Round-up Medley.
The movie is entertaining and lighthearted, the soundtrack is entertaining, and the action is spellbinding. This is a great movie for all ages. I can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More adventure and more laughs!, 6 Sep 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story 2 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Another great film from Pixar, during a period when computer animated films were still a bug thing, unlike now where they come out all the time, and we take them for granted.

This sequel is almost perfect really - even the computer technology had advanced over the 6 year gap, and the film looks so more detailed than the original. The plot is more adventerous, and the new characters are a real laugh, making it very fresh.

I think the first film was more "original" but this sequel has more of the laughs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney and Pixar do it again!, 17 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Toy Story 2 [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
What a pleasure. Sat down in the cinema, the lights go down and Disney's/ Pixar's logo appears and for once you know what your going to get from those boy's. It's a treat from start to finish, a beautiful piece of animation blessed with a terrific script and talented voice performances form Tom Hanks, Tim Allen et all. Originally slated for a video release ( an unforgivable crime) this sequel crashes onto the screen and superceeds the original on every level. Cracking animation by the Pixar crew, great in-jokes,Randy Newman's songs, and best of all an inventive script that doesn't patronise. The story is simple,young Andy's favourite toy cowboy doll Woody is stolen from a garage sale by scheming toy store owner Al and Woody's friends are out to rescue him. Buzz, Slinky, Rex all lend their own unique personalites and an engaging performance from Joan Cusack sheds some much needed female support. Whatever it takes rent it, buy it, but you must see it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Toy Story 2 [VHS] [2000]
Toy Story 2 [VHS] [2000] by Lee Unkrich (VHS Tape - 2000)
£6.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews