Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The End Of An Era
This is the final episode in a long and popular series. The end of Morse has arrived to the disappointment of many people. This DVD will preserve this instant classic and complete a brilliant collection. This Episode shows further depth into the past of Morse and the true person behind Morse. The extra features on the DVD make it worth getting. The bonus appreciation of...
Published on 16 Nov 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
ok
Published 1 month ago by william andrew jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The End Of An Era, 16 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Inspector Morse -- The Remorseful Day / Rest in Peace [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
This is the final episode in a long and popular series. The end of Morse has arrived to the disappointment of many people. This DVD will preserve this instant classic and complete a brilliant collection. This Episode shows further depth into the past of Morse and the true person behind Morse. The extra features on the DVD make it worth getting. The bonus appreciation of Morse is brilliant and the greatly loved theme tune is included for all of those Mores lovers. If you like Morse then I strongly suggest that you buy this DVD or the video before you miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Walk Away from this one., 1 Jan 2001
By 
railton@talk21.com (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Make a brew and regret it. If you miss the finale to this, you will regret it after an excellent build up. Without revealing the end of this marvelous piece of work, all I will say is, don't scrap the Jag. Murder, sex, tears and laughter are all in this one. Everything you could want to see in a final episode of an era of T.V is here. It had the country glued to their t.v sets on the evening of the showing. If you missed it, now is your chance to see what all of the fuss is all about. Or if you want to re-live that evening last year, then here goes. And don't move away from your set when you have started it. This is a standing ovation piece of work to be watched over and over again. Maybe a collectors item in years to come. Enjoy........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So who cares if it departed from the book...?, 20 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Inspector Morse -- The Remorseful Day / Rest in Peace [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
A TV script and a novel are two completely different, separate entities. Surely that is obvious? Oliver! the musical uses only about one-third of Dickens' Oliver Twist. That does not mean that Oliver! is not one of the greatest musicals of all time. Inspector Morse is probably the finest TV detetctive series of all time and John Thaw's performance as Morse was sublime. Because this was Morse's swansong - and, let's be honest, everyone knew it - the TV adaptation HAD to concentrate on the decline and ultimate demise of the great detective himself. And with only 140 minutes in which to do this AND provide the usual murder-mystery, many of the sub-plots of Colin Dexter's novel (which I HAVE read, by the way) had to be discarded. Perhaps The Remorseful Day isn't the best Morse adaptation (given that it wasn't adapted by the series' best scriptwriter Julian Mitchell, how could it be?); but it is an important milestone in British television history and you'd have to have a heart of stone not to be moved by the finale. The documentary on the DVD is compelling, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Farewell to a true gentleman, 5 Sep 2008
This review is from: Inspector Morse -- The Remorseful Day / Rest in Peace [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
This last appearance of inspector Morse in a criminal case that (a bit of a spoiler here) that partly involves the good man himself, is both beautiful and terribly depressing, as the good inspector did not survive that case. As the story progresses, we understand that nothing is at it seems, and that there is hardly someone (except for Lewis) who has not been affected by the life and death of the victim Yvonne Harrison. Perhaps, it is not so much a whodunnit than a whydunnit, as the spectator may find that being murdered sometimes happened for a good, or at least a decent reason! Morse is true to himself, with his nostalgic makeup and a thing for quoting poetry, not to mention his irritating (to those who cannot keep up with his brilliant detective mind) way of being far ahead everybody. As a guest star, Paul Freeman has an intriguing role, but given his enormous talent and presence on the screen, his part was too small. I found this dvd set plus its wonderful documentary, to be both of high quality. The dvd sound is very good, and the subtitles actually keep up with the dialogues, which is not always the case. To those who loved Morse, even if not big fans, this last case is a must-see. To others, it is definitively a detective story that offers great value for its money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALL THINGS MORSE, 27 Dec 2013
By 
DEE (CHESHIRE, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse -- The Remorseful Day / Rest in Peace [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
HAVING ALL THE BOXED SET OF MORSE I JUST HAD TO HAVE THIS SPECIAL ONE - HIS END - SO SAD - BUT AT LEAST WE HAVE ENDEAVOUR TO LOOK FORWARD TOO, AND I HAVE ALL THOSE TOO ! GREAT PRICE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse -- The Remorseful Day / Rest in Peace [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All Good Things Must Come To An End, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse -- The Remorseful Day / Rest in Peace [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
Usual "Morse" high quality,except that it is particularly sad.
All good things must come to an end.
Recommend to all Morse fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Classic Inspector Morse episode, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Billy J. Hobbs "Bill Hobbs" (Tyler, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse -- The Remorseful Day / Rest in Peace [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
A tremendous, fitting tribute to our Inspector Morse--a real tear jerker, but in the best of taste and decorum. This TV series is certainly one of the best, and "The Remorseful Day" simply caps it.

That said, as another reader pointed out, the BOOK and the FILM have some differences, mainly in the ending and who actually was the murderer. I never understood why the film version changed that. The book's conclusion was more logical, although the film's ending was more gripping. The Morse-Lewis relationship comes to fruition and logically so.
What the film omitted is the REASON that Supt. Strange and Morse were so tolerant of each other, often covering each other's backs. In the book, we find the REASON and for the life of me I cannot imagine why this was omitted in the film.

Still, both book and film are top notch. I've read the book more than once and seen the film more often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The end of Morse sets the scene for the Lewis pilot., 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse -- The Remorseful Day / Rest in Peace [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
With intimations of Morse's heart attack in previous episodes, the finale is no surprise, but it is deeply touching. Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Remorseful Day, 17 April 2012
By 
D. J. Barton Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse -- The Remorseful Day / Rest in Peace [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
My wife is Morse fan. Dispite skillful production, good acting etc, I love James Grout, I am not but she was well pleased with the DVD and its extra's. Usual great free Amazon postal service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews