Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars11
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2003
Arc'Tan'Gent is the last, and greatest, album of Earthtone 9's short-lived career.
The dynamics the band display are incredible. They are capable of shifting from emotional beauty to calculated math rock or from sweeping melodies to brutal hardcore, and it all sounds like a natural progression - never contrived.
The music is often very dense and draws up bleak, perplexing soundscapes. Elsewhere, the haunting melodies and almost tribal drumming create a dream-like atmosphere.
The album seems to become more and more intense, the further in you get. It truly draws you in - once it grabs you, it won't let go. Opener, 'Tat Twam Asi', is the stand out track, as it constantly changes and evolves, building up to a fantastic chorus. From there the album never settles. The following two tracks are not only catchy, but brilliantly crafted and complex slices of melodic metal. 'Approx. Purified', on the other hand, is sheer metalcore might. It then goes on to the softest track on the album: 'Walking Day' is quietly understated progressive rock. 'Star Damage for Beginners' is simply intense, again built around a superb chorus. 'Ni9e - This is the Sound...' is a short instumental track before the dark, murky 'Yellow Fever', which features Liberty 37 frontman Ishmael Lewis on vocals. 'Alpha Hi' is a much more straight forward rocking track and the album finishes with the epic closer, 'Binary 101'.
The band's talent is simply unique. From the inventive riffs, through Karl Middleton's original vocals to the imaginative drumming of Simon Hutchby (which I believe to be almost as good as that of Tool's Danny Carey).
If you aren't persauded yet, you should be. This is one of the greatest metal albums of all time. Those people who say Britain lacks any great bands: idiots.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2002
This album truly is a work of genius. The third record from the Nottingham boys received great praise from rock journals and brought the band to a new level. Often being compared to acts such as Tool, Deftones and Anathema, Earthtone 9 blend melodic riffs and harmonies with brutal agressive hardcore. The album opens with "Tat Twam Asi", a journy of epic guitars and pwerful vocals. We then travel into some works of brilliance including "Star Damage For Beginners" and "Yellow Fever" (featuring Ishmael Lewis of Liberty 37 on vocals) As the album progresses, so does the intensity of melody and Si Hutchby's vital percussion shines throughout.
If your looking for a new direction in music and you apreciate epic sounds as evolution this is the record for you. This is my personal favourite album of all time and I never grow bored of hearing it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2001
Firstly, take a look at the last few people's reviews. They saw e9 at Disturbed, and were more impressed by the supports. That's because they blew them off the stage - they did not have easy to digest 3 minute rock screams, they had building songs, varying melodies and an abstractness that went further then most nu-metal bands.
Arctangent is a great album. Very Tool-infused but with a greater sense of simple rock aggression (Karl Middleton can roar on one line and sing in perfect harmony the next). The songs that combine these stand out - p.r.d chaos and star damage (for beginners) - but to truely understand e9 check out binary101 or tat twam asi, which combine eerie, almost tribal, rythms with a dreamy, other-wordly melody.
Imagine Tool being re-mixed by Fear Factory to get a small glimpse. Buy it
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2000
I find it really sad that this band are ignored by the masses, when they are easily the best UK band around and are far superior to any hyped up 'big in America' bands. Opening with the masterpiece 'tat twan asi', which is a archetype E9 classic, combining some of the heaviest aggressive riffs with a massive chorus, this album gets off to a good start. The good news is that the band never runs out of steam and they keep up this standard for the whole album. This is quite a challenging album and it may take a little getting into for those who have been brought up on tame, formulaic MTV crap, but it's very rewarding and definitely one to stick with. If you like bands like Sepultura, Machine Head, Tool, Vision of Disorder, Earth Crisis, Deftones and Will Haven then I can guarantee you will love this album. Also check out their other two albums because they are just as good.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2003
This is quite possibly the best British underground hardcore album. There is more musical talent involved in the writing of the songs on this one cd than in the whole pop music scene.
If you have never heard of them then I would suggest you do.
Its just a pitty they are no longer together but that seems to be a trend in a dying scene.(rip)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2001
Earthtone9 have found it hard to grab the recognition they deserve up until now. This album brings out the best of the band. With nu-metal bands poping up from america here there and everywhere, its good to have a breath of fresh air. With the opener 'ta twan asi'bringing melody, anger metal and a catchy chorus, together, its clear this band are talented. Songs develop through the album in a similar pattern. From sheer smashing up your room to pratically crying for 'binary101'. This band has hit me hard and it makes me proud to be British with earthtone,speedhorn and Stampin'ground all from England. Good on your lads and you'll be selling Brixton Academy out soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2000
This bonecrunching album throws you completely off balance with a sound that veers from one musical extreme to another. For example, opener 'Tat Twam Asi' has a melodic edge to begin with that starts the album off in a misleading fashion. Compare that to 'Star damage' where the band go back to their well known ways of hard metal. The melodies, the aggresion and the grind-fests of "arc'tan'gent" all gel together leaving you reaching for that repeat button.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2015
1 of 3 great albums by this Nottingham band. They were independant in every way, there music, there attitude, everthing, and this was at a time when Rock and Metal was selling out to sell records which Metal should not do as the mainstream doesn,t care enough.Buy this cd and there 2 others if yuor into TOOL and other such bands or just want something that cares.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2001
Earthtone9 have always felt quite personal to me after watching my friend's band (Ambervoid) support them at a few low-key gigs, I've always kept tabs on them. Their first 2 albums did lack a bit of definition and melody in places but they've hit the nail bang on the head with this masterpiece. This is a call to all british kids, forget your Slipknots and your Korns, you dont realise what you've got on your own doorstep. For me this album has got the lot, they show you that you can be very heavy and melodic without sounding fake and contrived and the guitarist's actually use more than one damn finger. Granted, you may not understand or like them at first but songs like 'Tan Twan Asi' and 'Star Damage For Beginners' will crawl their way into your head and refuse to leave. I saw them support Disturbed at the Astoria recently and in my opinion they had alot more to offer, they were more dynamic and soulful. I dont know, maybe they need an electric chair!!! Buy this album, you will be awakened!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2011
et9's best album and definately worth considering if you're into alternative metal. In fact, in my opinion, Arc'tan'gent is a must for any metal fans CD collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)