Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The soundtrack to heaven, 3 Feb 2004
This review is from: Head Over Heels (Audio CD)
It seems funny but before this album the world had no sound like the cocteau twins - this album transformed the independent music landscape and created a new genre based on beautiful, ethereal soundscapes, backed by sinewy 3/4 drum patterns and haunting chiming guitar refrains. But that was only the start - Liz Fraser's gorgeous, haunting and evocative voice was the defining and compelling instrument which set the Cocteau's apart - at once melancholy yet uplifting, caressing yet plaintive, articulate yet mysterious - and above all simply the most beatiful voice you will ever hear. Influences from Bulgarian folk singers, Billie Holliday and even opera can be heard but nothing prepares you for it's sheer delight. This, the Cocteau's first album with their more accessible sound provides ten tracks which, in my opinion, represent the best of a long and very productive career. If you are new to the Twins it's the perfect start - despite being nearly 17 years old - if this is missing from you collection then - remedy that anomaly now. One of the best albums I have ever - and probably will ever hear - pure undiluted bliss. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The start of something special, 14 May 2006
By 
Music Matt (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Head Over Heels (Audio CD)
This review is the starting point of a journey to find my music and marks the start of a sporadic series of reviews to try and chart this journey and hopefully provide some pointers on the way. Not the first record I bought (anyone who says a record this good is the first record they bought is obviously a liar - mine... 'Remember your a Womble' aged 7) but the first record I bought that felt truly unique, that I felt was mine, and it instilled a need from thereon to find music that did the same.

I first saw the Cocteau Twins on The Tube perform what is still for me the defining track - 'Musette and Drums' and was awestruck. It sounded like music from another world - Liz's voice was becoming her own and Robin Guthrie was finding the sound that would become a cornerstone of my collection.

The nostalgic in me has given this album 5 stars, looking dispassionately at it now it is probably only a 4 star record, but to forget the passion I had then and still do (Lullabies to Violaine made sure of that - 'Sugar Hiccup' especially) would be to forget what made the Cocteau Twins then and now a special band. They would go on from here to make their masterpieces, for me Treasure and Victorialand plus the EPs in-between, but this is as much a landmark for me as for them and is essential.

From this point on the label 4ad could do little wrong - this was a period when you could buy a new 4ad release without even hearing it and be guaranteed something special (not only the record either, with Vaughan Oliver and 23 envelope producing some of the most beautiful artwork to grace a sleeve). Soon after they would release the much coveted This Mortal Coil album 'It'll End in Tears' which again featured Liz on 'Song to the Siren' - another remarkable performance on a remarkable record.

However I'm going to skip labels from here to another that could be relied upon for the same combination of outstanding music and beautiful artwork - that of Factory records, Peter Saville and most importantly The Durutti Column with 'Return of...' - another pivotal release from the criminally underated Vini Reilly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 12 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Head Over Heels (Audio CD)
Surprised there are no reviews of this albumn already since in my opinion it is the very best example of the Cocteau's unique style. Incredibly spacey and atmospheric but also including what I can only describe as "cathedrals" of sound (Musette and Drums being in my all time top ten due to the power, drama and sheer ecstatic feeling of joy I still feel when listening to it; arms flailing around to the drum beats and "singing along" to the word sounds of Liz Fraser's vocals). Later Cocteau albumns became a little on the "twittery" side. This one comes from the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite Simple Really., 14 Dec 2011
This review is from: Head Over Heels (Audio CD)
I remember the first time I heard this album (on vinyl) the day after it was released - a rainy Tuesday...in the local Indie Record Shop...It literally 'Blew Me Away'...the assistant played it start to finish four times one after the other, no other music inbetween, and I stood there mesmerised, spellbound, transfixed...in awe of this MUSIC...and the Voice!!!! Oh! The Voice. Needless to say I left with a copy under my arm and proceeded to play it constantly for the next 6 weeks or so....I still listen to it regularly, alas, now on CD.

Some artists work their way towards their best creation, song by song and/or album by album..often finding their pinnacle by the third, fourth or fifth album...But "Head Over Heels"..the Cocteau Twins first (Official) release...was and is quite simply their best.

If you have yet to hear this album be prepared to be Mesmerised, Tranfixed, Transported, Spellbound - BLOWN AWAY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, 2 Sep 2003
By 
kurt (St.Louis Missouri U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Head Over Heels (Audio CD)
I would have to say that I listen to this album about as much as my Chameleons UK and Big Country albums (all the damned time). The sound is hard to describe, and not neccessarily comparable to anything else I've heard, new or old. It's pretty fair to say that this album has a "haunting" type of sound, Frazer's strong,unique, sometimes incoherent and spooky sounding vocal style, is definately first rate. The guitars are worth a praise as well, being very distinctive in providing a echoing, drawn out, kind of sound, and the thick pounding drums tops off the wonderful formula. The tracks on this album definately contain an atmosphere all its own, especially songs like,The tinderbox (of a heart), My Love Paramour, and Musette and Drums. So....if you're like me and you don't really fancy the overdone happy music, give this album a listen, and make it part of you're lifes soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Other-worldly magic, 30 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head Over Heels (Audio CD)
The Cocteau Twins' vocalist Elizabeth Frazer is one of the most influential vocalists in rock history, and the band that she fronted was at the forefront of one of the many psychedelic-rock genre offshoots - 'dream-pop'. Frazer consciously appropriated the voice as an instrumental appendage. The Cocteau Twin's melodies are sublime which Frazer delivers by way of an ethereal and other-wordly contralto. Frazer's 'voice instrument' is wrapped in layer upon layer of Robin Guthrie's shimmering oneiric guitar and keyboard lines.

'Head Over Heels' (1983) blends celestial singalonds, middle-eastern psalms, majestic spirituals, vibrant melismas, tinkling guitars and neo-classical keyboards. Cocteau Twins' songs exhibited the levity and grace of madrigals but also the gloom and pomp of requiems. The dream-pop of the Cocteau Twins shares the contemplative quality and the passion for textures with 'shoegazing' bands like 'Slowdive' and 'My Bloody Valentine', but diverges from this genre in terms of both narrative development and emotional intensity.

'Head Over Heels' is not only one of the key albums of the 1980s but remains one of the seminal recordings of the last quarter century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bowled Over, 2 Nov 2009
This review is from: Head Over Heels (Audio CD)
This was the first Cocteaus album I bought, albeit a couple of years after it was released. Every now and then (not all that often), John Peel would play a piece of music that I immediately liked and felt compelled to buy as soon as possible - and Musette and Drums sounded like nothing I had ever heard before. I had been vaguely aware of their existence prior to this through hearing (with bafflement) Pearly Dewdrops' Drops on the radio when it was a minor hit (peaking at 29, their biggest hit so my Guinness book sez). The cover art is gorgeous (so much more so in full-sized vinyl) and the plastic within did not disappoint. Few of their albums are as consistent as this from start to finish.

Opening track When Mother Was Moth sets the tone, with a slow drum machine drenched in improbable amounts of reverberation and Liz Frazer cooing strange nothings over the top. The effect is either magical (if you're a fan) or possibly very dated indeed if you're hearing it for the first time in 2009. In between this and the closing Musette and Drums is a sequence of often brilliant tunes. Some, like the single Sugar Hiccup are sedate and almost poppy, whilst the fabulously titled Glass Candle Grenades and Tinderbox of a Heart are of the more swirly and adventurous variety. There is not one duff track on the whole LP, and it all culminates in the simply incredible Musette and Drums. A looping, dramatic guitar phrase underpins one of Liz Frazer's strongest vocal performances on a killer melody. Robin Guthrie tops even this with a rare screaming guitar solo that sounds like nothing else I've ever heard before or since - barely a recognisably melodic note in it, yet full of intense drama, angst and melancholy. It still makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up.

Where the album loses a star (and only by comparison with their other work) is in the production, which sounds thin and harsh in places. Recording as a duo, they had yet to completely find their sound - it took the arrival of Simon Raymonde on bass to round it out. The drum machine is also occasionally plodding and metallic, though it might be churlish to say so given that it was 1983 - but to 21st century ears it will certainly sound dated. Probably not the best album for someone new to the band - but one that is very rewarding after a few listens. Get it maybe third or fourth (I'm aiming to write a review of all of them, oh yes).... But definitely get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what i call music!, 23 Jun 2006
This review is from: Head Over Heels (Audio CD)
This is my favorite Cocteau Twins album, from the eerie opening track, When Mama Was Moth a wall of sound draws you in. The whole album has an atmosphere that only the Twins knew how to create. Who cares if Liz's vocals were indecipherable, it added to the magic of it all. What a loss it is that Liz Fraser no longer makes music, we can live in hope I suppose!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Head over heels? Five ten fiftyfold!, 20 Oct 2005
By 
Kevin Clarke "kevin17566" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Head Over Heels (Audio CD)
The Smiths, the Bunnymen, New Order - these 80s' indie heroes are frequently cited as influences by today's bands, but the Cocteau Twins? No one ever mentions 'em. There is a reason for this of course. Liz Frazer's astonishing vocals and Robin Guthrie's miraculous guitar sounds are far harder to replicate.
Many Cocteaus' fans view 'Treasure' as their creative high-water mark, but I always preferred this harder, rockier record. What I particularly love about this album is that it showed that it was possible to make BIG music without it getting all stadium-y and Simple Minds. Who would've thought that drum machines could've BOOMED so.
The opening track, 'When Mama Was Moth', plunges you immediately into the Cocteaus' strange and eerie netherworld, with its huge swashes of sound and unfathomable lyrics. 'Sugar Hiccup' is especially fine, showcasing Frazer's vocals and Guthrie's expansive guitar work.
Elsewhere we have the frantic stomp of 'Glass Candle Grenades', the irresistible drive of 'In Our Angelhood' and the album's closer, 'Musette And Drums,' which is one of those songs that just makes you want to lie back and HOWL!! In the words of massive fan, John Peel, truly "one that will change yer life." One critic at the time described the guitars on 'Musette...' as "sounding like a giant crying inside a mausoleum." Hyperbole, perhaps, but if you've never heard it before, it's a track to make you fall 'head over heels' in love with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Took Bulbiform, 14 Sep 2013
By 
White Tea (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Head Over Heels (Audio CD)
It's hard to pick the best Cocteau's album, but for me this is it. You know when an album starts with a song titled When Mama Was Moth and then delivers the dark, brooding cascades of sound, the beautiful, eerie vocals and the atmosphere to match, that you're in for a winner and this album delivers from start to finish. This was the first Cocteau's album I bought (their second album), on vinyl, and it blew me away completely. Other than Psychocandy, there's no other album by a Scottish band that comes close to this. Musical perfection, which fills me with weepy old-man nostalgia for my lost youth like no other can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Head Over Heels
Head Over Heels by Cocteau Twins (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews