Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why the bad reviews?
Just listen to the guitar solo on "Just Like A Prisoner" and all the rest doesn't matter! Even then, it's not a bad album by any means! It's Eric!
Published 17 months ago by N Attfield

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best but still a worthwhile Eric Clapton album
Eleven tracks of which six were written or co-written by Eric Clapton with production by Phil Collins who also is involved with drums, various percussion, and background vocals. 'See What Love Can Do' opens with a lovely intro of drums, bass, and synthesizer. This is a relaxed pop/rock song which finds Clapton in good voice, there's also some fine guitar playing. A nice...
Published on 30 Jun 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why the bad reviews?, 25 April 2013
By 
N Attfield "Neilatt-UK" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Behind The Sun (Audio CD)
Just listen to the guitar solo on "Just Like A Prisoner" and all the rest doesn't matter! Even then, it's not a bad album by any means! It's Eric!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric moves with the times, 1 April 2013
This review is from: Behind the Sun (Audio CD)
Behind The Sun was something of a controversial release; some fans felt it sounded too contemporary and original producer Phil Collins was very miffed at Warner Bros.' decision to replace three songs. Producers Ted Templeman and Larry Waronker were drafted in to secure a hit single and although a questionable move from an artistic point of view (Collins' comment that Behind The Sun wasn't the album Eric had made was understandable) commercially, at least, it worked.

With Jamie Oldaker once again behind the drum kit, partnered by Donald "Duck" Dunn on bass, the album has a great feel. The opening tracks - "She's Waiting", with its sparse guitar chords and extended instrumental ending, followed by "See What Love Can Do" (the first Jerry Lynn Williams composition) suggested it would be something different. But the track which followed shows where Eric has his roots: "Same Old Blues" is eight minutes of angst, performed mostly live, and his performance has to be heard to be believed. Unusually, although the blues is never far away, the album doesn't have a traditional blues cover and "Knock On Wood" (the soul classic) is as close as it gets. This track certainly lightens the mood after Eric's own blues and Eddie Floyd cited it as his favourite version, so it must be good. Jerry Lynn Williams' celebratory "Something's Happening" closed the original lp side 1 and his "Forever Man", which opened side 2, would become the hit single the record company had wanted. Recorded at a time of considerable personal turmoil for Clapton, the final three tracks (all written by him) have a rawness that could almost have required a warning label - "Never Make You Cry" is drenched in emotion, "Just Like A Prisoner" has a similar live feel to "Same Old Blues" and a truly exceptional extended guitar solo (one of Eric's best) before the aching sadness of the short title track closes the album in painful and reflective mood - just Clapton and Collins together.

Several out-take tracks appeared subsequently - two on film soundtracks - "Heaven Is One Step Away" (on Back To The Future) and "Loving Your Lovin'" - another from Jerry Williams - (on Wayne's World) - and two on singles - "Jailbait" as the B-side to "She's Waiting" and "Too Bad" as the B-side to "Forever Man" + "You Don't Know Like I Know" - one I don't know, for some reason released only in Australia. "Heaven ..." and "Too Bad" also appeared later on the Crossroads box set. Having his album rejected initially was a real shock to the system but, for my money, the suits called it right and it was improved by Jerry Lynn Williams' contributions. As has often been the case for Eric, the recording sessions also introduced him to players who would later join his band (this time Greg Phillinganes and Nathan East) therefore taking on an even greater significance in his musical journey. Behind The Sun would set the scene for Clapton's later '80s output and Phil Collins would have a second stab behind the mixing desk for the follow-up album, August. There are some albums that take you right back to the time of their release and, for me, this is one of them. 5*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best but still a worthwhile Eric Clapton album, 30 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Behind the Sun (Audio CD)
Eleven tracks of which six were written or co-written by Eric Clapton with production by Phil Collins who also is involved with drums, various percussion, and background vocals. 'See What Love Can Do' opens with a lovely intro of drums, bass, and synthesizer. This is a relaxed pop/rock song which finds Clapton in good voice, there's also some fine guitar playing. A nice song with a good overall sound. 'Same Old Blues' is a Clapton written and composed song which is superbly handled by him both vocally and instrumentally. This track confirms Clapton's blues roots and is an excellent offering of over eight minutes long which never becomes tiresome. Clapton gives a straight treatment of the Floyd/Cropper soul classic 'Knock On Wood' ie he sticks closely to the original - and it's good, I like everything about it. 'Forever Man' was one of the tracks which was taken from this album and released as a single. 'How many times must I explain myself before I talk to the boss?' asks Eric with real conviction; and listen to the guitar work which is superb - a great song! 'Just Like A Prisoner' is a dramatic number with loads of atmosphere and confirms Eric Clapton's fine songwriting ability as well as a great singer, and of course a great guitarist - excellent! This might not be Eric Clapton's finest album, but for me personally it is a good album which shows EC's strengths in songwriting, singing, and guitar work. This is still a welcome cd in my collection and if I could I would give it three and a half stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid album with flashes of genius, 22 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Behind the Sun (Audio CD)
Whilst it is fair to say that this is not one of Clapton's more purist efforts, it does contains flashes of brilliance, and the guitar work on Same Old Blues and Just Like A Prisoner alone are worth the cost of the album. On Just Like A Prisoner he lets rip with a string of searing solos, the like of which you may have forgotten were within his reach. A truly sensational piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too young to retire; too old to learn another trade, 15 May 2005
By 
Patrick Neylan "Patrick Neylan" (Orpington, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Behind The Sun (Audio CD)
Tom McGuinness once likened Eric Clapton to sex: "When it's good, it's very, very good. When it's bad, it's still alright." If my sex life ever gets as dull as 'Behind the Sun', I'm joining a monastery.
In 1973, Eric's music biz mates had gathered round to rescue him from the pit of heroin addiction. A dozen years on and his record company, realising Eric had delivered a stinker, sent Phil Collins to rescue him and this record from the pit of mundane middle-aged mediocrity.
Collins - the only one of the old farts generation with any commercial standing at the time - fulfilled his brief, to a degree, by adding some heavier drums and production gloss. But none of that can hide the tiredness of the material and the performance.
Amid the torpid sludge there are a few lighter moments. Forever Man is a decent, if typical mid-period Clapton pop song, while the old favourite 'Same Old Blues' gets a loving if uninspired workout.
At the other end of the scale, on 'She's Waiting' Eric sounds like an old lady burdened with several bags of shopping - struggling to carry not very much. And the flat, pointless cover of 'Knock On Wood' is nothing less than an admission of defeat.
Eric, who turned 40 the year this was released, must have approached this record the way many 40-somethings approach their jobs - not because they love it, but because it's their living, and they're too young to retire but too old to learn another trade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Attracted by one of the songs, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind The Sun (Audio CD)
I was only after one of the songs, "It all depends" but I do not like buying singles so I bought the whole CD. I am still getting used to the other songs but they seem to be average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Behind The Sun: Eric Clapton - The first real clunker of a solo album from Clapton, 30 Aug 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Behind The Sun (Audio CD)
In his early career as a solo artist, Clapton had something to prove, and a real passion for the music. He was also aided by some of the best producers in the business. This led to some classis recordings. However, come the mid eighties and the recording of this album, Clapton just doesn't seem all that interested. Added to which is the overly glossy, heavy, and synthesiser rich production from Phil Collins, which to my ear just does not suit Clapton's style and obscures rather than illuminates his contribution.

The whole thing is a bit lacklustre, with little feeling of originality or spark. Occasionally things do get off the ground with cuts such as `Knock On Wood', but in general this is a pretty mediocre affair from an artist whose muse has deserted him. 2 stars, as worse was to come in the form of 1986's `August'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mundane, far from classic Clapton, 29 Nov 2007
By 
Comical Engineer "comicaleng" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Behind The Sun (Audio CD)
It's a tired and mundane album overall saved only from total anonymity by the cover of Knock on Wood. The Collins influence is obvious in the very 80s drum sound and glossy production but it's shallow and ultimitely unfulfilling. Clapton mostly sounds like he's going through the motions and the album has a "contractual obligation" feel about it. It's not raw enough to be blues and not slick enough to be pop. How many times have you heard Forever Man played on the radio lately?

Buy this only if you desperately need it to complete your Clapton collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars reasonable price & in good condition. Thanks, 29 Aug 2014
By 
H. Golder - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Sun (Audio CD)
Prompt delivery, reasonable price & in good condition. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEHIND THE SUN, 10 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind The Sun (Audio CD)
I bought this CD to my Clapton Collection. I liked it very much.

Everything was perfect with the acquisition itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Behind The Sun
Behind The Sun by Eric Clapton (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews