Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Adorable Jane
If you loved the BBC Jane series featuring Glynis Barber from the mid 80's you'll love this too. Although this time Jane is played by Kirsten Hughes, who in my opinion is equally as gorgeously convincing as Jane. Adding a link to the TV series, the same writer Mervyn Haisman wrote the screenplay. Robin Bailey also returns in his brilliant role as the Colonel. The film...
Published on 7 Mar. 2011 by Wheatcroft

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Low budget camp humour misses the mark
Never having read or seen any of the Jane adventures before, I cannot say whether this is a film version of one of her adventures or a cheap rip of Indiana Jones films, two of which had already been released by the time this film hit the screens. Although played for laughs and the very attractive Jane losing her clothes at inopportune moments, this offering leaves me less...
Published on 15 Jan. 2012 by ergoatlantis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Low budget camp humour misses the mark, 15 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never having read or seen any of the Jane adventures before, I cannot say whether this is a film version of one of her adventures or a cheap rip of Indiana Jones films, two of which had already been released by the time this film hit the screens. Although played for laughs and the very attractive Jane losing her clothes at inopportune moments, this offering leaves me less than impressed.

As an aid to the war effort, British agent Jane, along with The Colonel and his manservant Tombs travel to Africa in a quest to seize a hoard of diamonds before the Nazis, lead by Lola Pagola (Maud Adams) can get their hands on them. The British party meet up with American explorer "Jungle" Jim Buck (Sam Jones) and together they must overcome the jungle, hostile natives and the scheming Nazi secret agents, all played manically by Jasper Carrott.

The problem for me was that I didn't find the film the least bit funny. Maud Adams did try with her officious femme fatale role but it wasn't enough. Robin Bailey as The Colonel mumbled and bumbled along without adding much to the proceedings but the biggest let-down was Jasper Carrott. He overplayed his parts too much and so came accross as ridiculous and stupid rather than as a caricature. The only saving grace was to have Kirsten Hughes as Jane losing her clothes a few times but there were some missed opportunities for this to happen. I would have liked a few more location shots of Mauritius where filming took place but it still wouldn't have been enough to save this film.

On the technical side, the film is full screen, runs for 89 minutes and the cover says the sound is Dolby Stereo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Adorable Jane, 7 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane & The Lost City [DVD] [1987] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
If you loved the BBC Jane series featuring Glynis Barber from the mid 80's you'll love this too. Although this time Jane is played by Kirsten Hughes, who in my opinion is equally as gorgeously convincing as Jane. Adding a link to the TV series, the same writer Mervyn Haisman wrote the screenplay. Robin Bailey also returns in his brilliant role as the Colonel. The film overall had the feel of the Daily Mirror comic strip of being saucy and funny rather than erotic as the DVD artwork might otherwise suggest. A very enjoyable 90 minutes, such a shame this film has dropped into obscurity over the years. An added note Mervyn Haisman passed away in October 2010, he is mostly remembered for his Dr Who scripts. For me as I've only recently discovered, he was the writer who brought Jane back to our screens. Hopefully one day the TV series and this movie will be relaunched on DVD. Although stated this a R1 DVD, I found although it played OK on my region free DVD player, it also played fine on standard R2 equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to own, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane & The Lost City [DVD] [1987] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Was very pleased with the DVD Jane & the lost city. Apart from Jane loosing her dress frequently which was nice I felt the whole film was amusing and most enjoyable, I am pleased I bought it as it's a DVD I shall watch again. The comedy these days has lost it's appeal the humour has gone, this of course makes comedy of this Lost City a real gem. Thanks to all involved in the making of it. Such a shame that Kirsten Hughes no long makes films as her expressions were wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars comic strip from daily mirror brought to cinema, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
does it work yes surprised by bond actress.maud adams.
jasper carrott terible acting. sam jones(flash gordon) good
funny pacy humour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane & The Lost City [DVD] [1987] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
dvd jane & the lost city
i gave this dvd 4 stars
i would recomend it to everyone who's a jane fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hahaha jane, 16 Jan. 2005
This review is from: Jane & The Lost City [DVD] [1987] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Cant believe i found this, and on dvd!! i watched this film many moons ago, it stars jasper carrot, and when i was little i used to love him. Thanks amazon :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews