Customer Reviews


11 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nevermore once again proves that metal has no boundaries .., 19 Dec. 2001
This review is from: Dead Heart in a Dead World (Audio CD)
And just when I thought Y2K couldn't offer anything as awesome as Symphony X's V, Nevermore comes along with another masterpiece to blow away the rest of the competition. To sum this album up, it is simply crushing and heavy albeit less darker than it's predecessors.
Almost every song has a particular guitar riff or melody that really stands out. From the opening track Narcosynthesis, you can tell that Nevermore have not lost any of their heaviness or brutality. The riffs are simple yet effective. Hell, the main riff on Sound of Silence sounds as tho it came off a Deicide album ! More awesome guitar riffage can be heard on the verse of Inside Four Walls. Combined with harmonics, the moshing effects are pretty impossible to resist. Jeff Loomis's guitar work here is outstanding once again, as heard on the harmony solo on The River Dragon Has Come. He chooses to restrain himself from being a flashy guitarist and instead put more emotion into his playing. He tends to focus on using the lead to create melodies instead of just plain guitar solos which is a nice change. Van Williams's masterful drumming is totally uncompromised, and his pounding grooves really help in bringing out the heaviness in the overall feel of each song. The main highlight would be Warrel Dane's vocals, which are probably the BEST I've heard in years. The way he connects with each song and how he conveys them through his singing is simply unmatched.
On this album, they seem to have moved away from their progressive side and towards a more straightforward approach in writing their songs. Jeff Loomis used to come up with somewhat complex arrangments and odd timing (as heard on previous Nevermore songs like Politics of Ecstasy and Poison Godmachine), and I for one feel that this is sorely missed on this otherwise outstanding album.
On the brighter side, there are also more varied songs found on this album. Take the metal ballad Believe in Nothing for example. Alot of people are having mixed reactions on this track, but I am really moved by the melody and vocals on this song. I must've lost count on how many times I've kept this song on repeat ! Another memorable chorus line would be the track We Disintegrate. The haunting melody is a truly hair-raising experience.
This is an extremely well-rounded album, with heavy songs and lighter ballads to keep the mood flowing. Coupled with 2 extra video tracks, this album is an absolute essential, not to mention being one of my Top 5 metal albums for Y2K. If you are new to Nevermore, don't forget to pick up Politics of Ecstasy as well, which is probably the best Nevermore album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Power, thrash, metal the American way, 13 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Heart in a Dead World (Audio CD)
Even if you're not a fan of traditional heavy metal in the vein of Iced Earth or recent Arch Enemy, this is still well worth checking out. Excellent guitars, melodramatic vocals that fit the music perfectly, crystal clear production, and social lyrics rather than the usual Warhammer 40000 guff. Every song is catchy, but the best tracks here are the emotive Evolution 169, and the fantastic ballad, The Heart Collector. The latter song is cheesy but brilliant; the kind of song that Brian May, Slash and Steve Harris would have written had they ever jammed together.
Other albums like this: Iced Earth - Something Wicked This Way Comes; Testament - The Gathering; Arch Enemy - Wages of Sin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never left my stereo since day of purchase, 18 Dec. 2010
By 
A Nevill (London, England) - See all my reviews
Picked this up as I gradually collected their back list. One of the very best power metal albums I have ever owned, and I've being buying in the genre on and off since 1984. This is also my favourite Nevermore album. Fantastic musicianship and song-writing from start to finish. World class band who have been overlooked for the mainstream success they deserve. Warrior Soul are the only other metal band I know of who have been as overlooked as Nevermore. Nevermore have also observed total quality control throughout their career. Huge recommendations from this veteran metal head. I only wish critics would stop calling them progressive - always puts me off, and its become too trendy a classification of late. To me progressive means Yes and Marillion. But this album is as true to the authentic power metal stylings defined by priest and Maiden as you will ever get. As good as Maiden and Priest at their best too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pure metal!!!, 2 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Heart in a Dead World (Audio CD)
Well what can I say, this is just amazing, the guitars by Jeff Loomis are outstanding and Dane lets his voice reach incredible ranges. Songs like 'Inside 4 walls' 'River Dragon' and 'Narcosynthesis' show u how Nevermore can pound your ears with incredible heavy metal, and what makes this album so good is that these guys can also write songs with some beautifull melodies but without loosing any of their heaviness, just listen to the title track or 'Believe in Nothing' 'Evolution 169' or the absolutely outsatnding 'Heart Collector'. They arent as well known as some inferior bands and its a pity that its like that, so go out and BUY!!! i can assure u that u wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A definite classic, 10 Nov. 2007
By 
This album is a classic and I can't stress how good this is if you like you rock basic, hard and heavy.

The music has some seriously heavy riffs combined with some fantastic lead work which is combined to perfection. The singing is distinctive, reminiscient of Rob Halford of Judas Priest.

The album hits you at 100mph and occasionally lets you come up for air with a few 'slower' tracks but not too often. It shouldn't be overlooked that despite the speed of most of the tracks there are some seriously good melodies also.

Recommend for those of you who love your guitar riffs heavy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars if this is the sort of thing that you like, you are likely to like it, 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hits the spot if you're looking for progressive metal which is melodic and features a range of vocal, instrumental and genre features. Lyrics are sometimes very earnestly delivered, but the idiom and the characteristics of Nevermore's songs are engaging and the band skilfully weave together thrash riffs and lyrical, even soulful moments. As with any music, if this is the sort of thing that you like, you are likely to like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 13 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. Robert Jones "jonesr001" (Woodbridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Astonishing & searing. Nevermore have been one of my favourite bands for a while now & they hit form here. The relentless riffing is terrific and Jeff Loomis (lead guitar) comes up with some twisted stuff. Highly recommended - file alongside Iced Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars superb, 24 Feb. 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
this is a sensational album,there isnt a bad song on here,in time it may gain legendary status to me and get the 5 stars but its closer to four and a half stars than four if im honest,the songs are layered with melody,fury and great lyrics,the songs twist and turn and cant be described as predictable,some say that danes vocals are annoying or dont suit the bands sound,that is nonsense my friends,if you dont sing along to the heart collector then you are clearly dead inside,this is superb,i would say that this is the best nevermore album ,you should own this if you like thrashy riffs and killer chorus',how can a combination like that fail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Mar. 2010
By 
George R. J. Greaves (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazing album from an amazig band. I can't wait to hear their newest and to see them live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Metal!, 28 April 2015
Brain crashing Metal! Full on magic on this release! Fantastic! J Counsell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Heart in a Dead World
Dead Heart in a Dead World by Nevermore (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews