Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Style, pace and beauty
This film is brilliant - in turns stylish, fast-moving, and intriguing. Even without Monica Bellucci, it would be excellent. The cheating Max, around whom the whole story revolves, is brilliantly played by Vincent Cassel. And the slightly golden hue, in which the film is shot almost throughout, gives it added elegance as well as an almost surreal texture.
But with Ms...
Published on 5 Mar 2001

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars intriguing but odd
I got the feeling, after watching this film, that I was supposed to be lying limp on the sofa, overcome with admiration at the cleverness of the plotting and the style of the director. I wasn't completely won over though. It's certainly plot driven, and demands a lot of viewer attention; if you look away from the screen for a second you will probably miss an important...
Published on 27 April 2008 by M. Duncan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Style, pace and beauty, 5 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: L'Appartement [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
This film is brilliant - in turns stylish, fast-moving, and intriguing. Even without Monica Bellucci, it would be excellent. The cheating Max, around whom the whole story revolves, is brilliantly played by Vincent Cassel. And the slightly golden hue, in which the film is shot almost throughout, gives it added elegance as well as an almost surreal texture.
But with Ms Bellucci, the film becomes almost mesmerising. For me, she is the film's pièce de résistance. Her Italian accent while speaking French, which lingers almost imperceptibly at the end of every word she utters, is simply delicious. This, combined with her stunning physical beauty (let's be honest here!), and a very believable character, make this film memorable and take it comfortably into 5 star territory.
This film will stay in your mind long after watching it. So my advice is: Go and buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest films of the decade, 16 Jan 2006
This review is from: L'Appartement [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
One of the striking things about this film is just how confident the direction seems to be. There is no hesitation, no fear, just a fluent film leading smoothly from one situation. It's difficult to believe that it was the director's first film, but it certainly can't have hurt to have an experienced actor like Vincent Cassell taking the main role. Cassell is superb as a man who knows who he wants, but all too often settles for second best, having had his heart broken before.
The film follows him pursuing his old love (Monica Bellucci), but seemingly never able to quite get to her, and leaving in his wake (through no fault of his own) a trail of destruction behind himself and the other characters. The supporting cast is rock solid, and the story captivating. I watched this film and made it my mission in life to see all the films Cassell has ever made - he's really that good.
If you like French films, buy it. If you like love stories, buy it. If you like good acting, good direction, good editing, buy it. In short, unless you don't like foreign language films, buy it, and if you don't like them, what are you doing reading this? Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great love story, 14 Dec 2003
By 
J. E. Holden (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I caught this film on TV at midnight a few years back. I was tired and just about to go to bed. But after the title sequence (brilliant tune "It's the same") and the first minute, I was hooked. The film got better and better all the way to the end and the next day I was seeking out the video.
This is a great love story, with a brilliant intricate plot and excellent performances. Vincent Cassel (also brilliant in La Haine & Irreversible) is captivated by his impossibly beautiful co-star and wife, Monica Bellucci (Irreversible), simply walking down the street. He stalks her and ends up meeting her in a shoe shop. From there the journey is set, and a love affair takes place. The tragedy that then enfolds is brilliant and quite heartbreaking.
The chronology of the film is as complex as Pulp Fiction on first viewing and wonderful to follow knowingly on subsequent viewings. The beauty is in the portrayal of the simple twists of fate that occur in all our lives for the better or worse. Their simplicity sometimes has a farcical quality, and it is that which is quite tragic.
This is a film that you have to have, and yet again proves the mastery of French film-making over the rest of us. There is also the love story between myself and Monica Bellucci that first night I saw the film, but I'll keep that one to myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Trouble with Love, 3 Feb 2002
This review is from: L'Appartement [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
'People in love don't realise the harm they do'
So says Alice (Romane Bohringer) towards the end of the movie. And you know what she means. With a script that would have pleased Billy Wilder and a use of color, structure and mirrors that Hitchcock would have purred at this is an assured movie from Mimouni. Using a narritive sewn together with flashback clues the film is a thriller that grips you... but also so warm and at times outright funny that your never quite sure, even in the last reel, where everything will go.
Cassel is a very likeable protagonist,unable to forget the woman who left him. His performance is deft,light and elegant, as are those of the whole cast. Jean-Pahillipe Ecoffey is excellent as Cassel's close friend, Bellucci does enough to make one realise that she is far more than a pretty face, whilst Bohringer does a great job of a very complex personality.
This really is a movie for the lovelorn - you end up hoping everybody comes out happy - but then we don't know the harm we do when we're in love.
If you do enjoy this movie, then check out 'In the mood for love' - and let's hope we'll soon get 'Un Coeur en hiver' - great movies all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE PERFECT 1990'S MASTERPIECE, 1 Jun 2006
By 
H S Marks (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: L'Appartement [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
A brilliant film but this UK disc is second rate. If you go to Amazon France you get the France edition which is far nicer and does have sous-titres anglais.

This is the best non-epic film of the 1990's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fanstastically tragic love story, 15 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Vincent Cassel is remarkable in this movie, a truely versatile actor. The story line is a classic love story tragedy, but contains none of the usual love story cliches that sometimes marr an otherwise good film, thus giving l'appartement a refreshing outlook. Supported by a fantastic cast, Vincent Cassel is excellently cast as high flying businessman Max, who, instead of going to Japan on a business deal, sees his old love Lisa and thus tries to find her. A wonderful film, which deserves a place on any video library shelf and in the homes of any true film fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Close to perfection, 11 April 2002
I agree with the other reviews praising this outstanding film, though I've read no mention of the soundtrack which is crucial to the enjoyment of the film. In particular when Max follows Lisa half way up the stairs, but then retreats when she slips on the cafe floor. The music immediately draws you into their history and the depth of feeling he has for her. I have recommended this film to many people, all of whom have shared my absolute enjoyment of it. Sadly it is one of those films that when finished, you wish you could watch it again as if for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heartaching story..., 27 Sep 2001
This review is from: L'Appartement [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I could not take my eyes off the screen, I was mesmorised by the plot and it gets more intriguing as the pace quickens. The acting is superb and the director reels you into this excellent storyline. I highly recommend this film. Don't let the French language or having to watch this film with Subtitles put you off. A real portrayal of the power of love, that some may relate to ! I wish I could give more than 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chic French Thriller, 2 May 2006
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: L'Appartement [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
"L'Appartement" is a stylish ,slick French love story cum thriller, featuring two legends of European cinema; the charismatic Vincent Cassell and the almost perfectly beautiful Monica Bellucci, who illuminates the film with her every appearance. The plot bears certain similarities to that of "Single White Female", as two pairs of friends get involved in hopelessly confused relationships with each other that,at times, turns the film into something of a comedy of errors .Cassell's pursuit of Bellucci leads him into an unexpected tryst with Romane Bohringer, Bellucci's friend and the film is further complicated by a murder-mystery involving Bellucci as well. There are a lot of flashbacks in this film which has a non-linear narrative that works quite well. "L'Appartement" is well acted by all of the cast and the cinematography is highly polished. This film is as good a romantic comedy/thriller as you are likely to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most compelling film I have ever seen!, 20 Mar 2003
This review is from: L'Appartement [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
A fairytale without a happy ending....the main male character becomes entranced by a beautiful woman only to become ensnared in anothers web. Realising that in reality he is in love with someone he should not be, fate conspires to leave him trapped and without love at the end (with the other characters in the film suffering tragically in his wake).
In spite of the film being deeply sad it takes you on an emotional journey that leaves you remarkably touched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

L'Appartement [DVD] [1997]
L'Appartement [DVD] [1997] by Gilles Mimouni (DVD - 2000)
7.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews