Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic of Belgian cinema, and I'm not joking!
Anyone asked to name a classic of Belgian cinema can simply point to this film, a production all the more remarkable for its bargain basement provenance. Made by three film students with a budget which makes shoestrings look like a luxury, "Man Bites Dog" ("C'est arrivé près de chez vous") is proof that making a memorable movie depends more on talent and a...
Published on 8 May 2005 by Budge Burgess

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A day in the life of a serial killer...
A sort of serial killing This Is Spinal Tap without the jokes, as a satire Remy Belvaux, Andre Bonzel and Benoit Poelvoorde's Man Bites Dog just isn't very funny. The film is more a stylistic exercise and intellectual essay on cinema's relationship with violence, and as such is open to endless debate and reinterpretation.

The film follows the exploits of the...
Published on 5 Dec 2007 by Trevor Willsmer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but very bad., 30 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Man Bites Dog [1992] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
A masterpiece, and from film students. credit to them.it would be better if i spoke fluent french and didn't loath sub-titles. it was actually funny, in a strange kind of way, until that one scene that reminds you that you shouldn't even be smiling while watching it. dark, sick and twisted. smashing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man Bites Dog [1992] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
When I first saw this I wondered if it was real as the acting is so good it looks like a genuine documentary about a guy killing people in different way whilst being filmed by a documentary crew. The most shocking scene for me was how he kills a pensioner in her own apartment and the way he disposes of the bodies. You will despise him by the end of the film. Showed it to someone else who said it was the most disturbing thing they had ever witnessed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant little Belgian., 25 April 2013
By 
Pete Johnson "Pete Johnson" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Man Bites Dog [1992] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Years before the common theme of `fly on the wall' film-making became popular, this 1992 film from Belgium came as a sharp satire on the whole idea of reality TV, and documentary films.
A film crew decide to shadow the `work' of a mundane serial killer. They go everywhere with him, and film his ramblings, as well as his frequent, and often very violent murders. Their involvement with him begins to spiral out of control, as they sink ever deeper into his dark world.
This is not a comfortable subject, nor is it filmed sympathetically. However, as an idea, and as the film shows, it just works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 10 April 2013
This review is from: Man Bites Dog [1992] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I'm a sucker for films like this, probably because I'm a latent gorehound. But, much like Funny Games and Martyrs, this is a film that uses the most controversial of cinematic tools, violence, to make an ultimately important and philosophical point, and for that I respect this film immensely.

It is also a gruelling film, and one that subjects its viewers to all manner of nasties such as a very in-your-face gang-rape, realistic looking shootings, innards and casual racism. However, for those with a strong stomach, this film is actually a very developed satire (although there will be a point where you stop laughing) on the nature of news reporting, the media, and the morbid public fixation with violence. The plot, that a documentary gang stumped for a subject stumble across a charming serial killer and focus their attentions on him, is merely a springboard for the ideas.

And to the naysayers, yes, the violence is necessary, because real-life violence is shocking and people are obsessed with it, and so the violence in this film is shocking as well. The violence brings the conviction of the message.

Benoit Poolvorde puts in an excellent performance as, basically, pure evil; his killer Ben is an abject exercise in needless sadism and a charming facade masking a horrible truth(ála Hannibal Lecter).

All in all, for those who can take it, this is a very sharp film, guiltily laugh-out-loud hilarious, and one that is not easily forgotten. It would make a great triple bill with the aforementioned Funny Games and Martyrs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Modern day Robin Hood, 13 Oct 2010
This review is from: Man Bites Dog [1992] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Man bites dog is about a psychopathic serial killer masquerading as a working-class hero and modern day Robin Hood, followed by a film crew that are making a movie about him It is Beautifully shot in black and white with handheld cameras, no music and most of the actors are amateurs. But there is nothing amateurish about this film. The violence is shocking and the party rape scene is very disturbing. The real standout is the abruptness with which Ben (the killer) switches' from being a swell guy to a total monster. Truly a powerful piece of cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good!, 24 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man Bites Dog [1992] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I had seen this film before and I was happy to see it again, being able to share it with my boyfriend this time. We both like it in a kind of sick way... What I like most is the main character's theories on important and less important aspects of society, and his reciting poetry...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Man bites dog. Viewer goes blind., 3 May 2007
By 
B. S. Barker "brendanbe" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As stated in another review of this otherwise brilliant film, the subtitiles have no black border and become extremely hard to read.

I saw this at the pictures and could read everything on the subtitles on the screen but I hired a video version and had to turn it off because my eyes were hurting so much. Maybe the DVD version has been souped up and has better subtitles but unless you're planning on watching this film up close to the TV...or you are very fluent in Belgian French and a lot of slang words, I'd maybe give it a miss which is a shame as I thought it was a brilliant film when I saw it first. It came out at about the same time as Natural Born killers which was meant to reflect the medias obsession with killers but I think this film does it so much better. It does not glamorise killers. It IS violent and not for the faint hearted but there are many depths to it without it being a THUG film as a previous reviewer seemed to think it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic insight into the humour of serial killing, 18 Feb 2000
By 
Andy Barratt (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
I totally disagree with the other reviewer of this film. Man Bites Dog is a work of art. The superficially grim exterior (and it's B&W) mask an intense feeling of well being that is given off by this film. Admittedly the rape scene is a bit on the rough side and the gerantocide element is worrying "have you ever been snuffed - granny snuff?". However, this shouldn't necessarily obscure the humour of the subject - particularly the way in which our killer takes a pride in the quality of his work e.g. "I like to start the week with a postman" or "your professional killer has to know the relative desities of dwarves and children". Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pause for thought, 29 Mar 2000
By A Customer
Man Bites Dog is a truly memorable film. The director seems to be taunting the viewer, provoking him to laugh at scenes which - with the gritty b&w realism - are a little too disturbing for our own good.
The paradox is shown best in the particularly unpleasant rape scene where, having built up this almost comic character, we are brutally reminded of the fact that we really shouldnt be laughing.
The edginess of the viewer is matched by the edginess of the film crew in filming their subject.
A fantastic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brave and succeeds because of it., 26 Nov 2002
some of the films coming out of europe in the last decade (1990's-today)have been excellent. this is certainly one of them. influenced by american neo-noirs, such as Taxi Driver and this shows but it seems totally okay, unlike some rip-offs which this certainly isn't. the comparison comes with the lead role - similar to travis bicle. shot similarly in that Benoit is on the screen almost constantly. using the cult of the serial killer as its focus the film combines a hand held documentary feel with a superb script and barnstorming performance by Benoit Poelvoorde. it is effortlessly clever and ahead of its time. this is a provocative film which is darkly comedic and deeply disturbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man Bites Dog [1992] [DVD] [1993]
Man Bites Dog [1992] [DVD] [1993] by Rémy Belvaux (DVD - 2000)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews