Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute masterpiece!
Andy Tennant directs Jodie Foster and Chow Yun-Fat in the true-life story of Anna Leonowens - her adventures in Siam and her relationship with King Mongkut. Although artistic licence has been taken regarding the possibility that she had a romantic liaison with the King (this has never been proved), it is still a wonderful story and well executed.
The DVD includes a...
Published on 18 Jan. 2004 by N. Oliver

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong film version
Very disappointed to play DVD only to find black and white version starring Rex Harrison. I should be able to claim but cannot. Not what it says in the box.
Published 14 months ago by Mrs Fiona McCallum


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute masterpiece!, 18 Jan. 2004
By 
N. Oliver ""pinky"" (barnstaple, devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anna And The King [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Andy Tennant directs Jodie Foster and Chow Yun-Fat in the true-life story of Anna Leonowens - her adventures in Siam and her relationship with King Mongkut. Although artistic licence has been taken regarding the possibility that she had a romantic liaison with the King (this has never been proved), it is still a wonderful story and well executed.
The DVD includes a nice behind the scenes feature with an in-depth making of the film and interviews with the cast. It is nicely packaged and easy to use. Worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gorgeous modern epic of human drama and love, 21 July 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anna And The King [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
It is a shame that gorgeous, poignant, sweeping epics such as Anna and the King rarely succeed commercially, as they have so much more to offer on so many different levels than your typical box office smash hits. I, of course, will watch anything starring Jodie Foster, and I thought she was brilliant in her portrayal of the controversial nineteenth-century tutor to the children of the king of Siam. I should say that I am judging this movie solely on its own merits as a motion picture; I know nothing about Siamese history and culture, and I have never seen this story as portrayed in The King and I. I do not know if the Siam we see here, most of which was actually filmed on a massive seven-acre lot far from Southeast Asia, provides a true picture of the land in question, but what we see here is undeniably beautiful. The filmmakers obviously went to great lengths, preparing everything down to the last detail, to provide a setting for this powerful drama that impacts the viewer quite forcefully and takes him/her to a place he/she has almost surely never gone before. Not only is the landscape captivating, but the palace, monuments, buildings, and religious icons depicted here are exotically stunning, offering even the most Westernized moviegoer the opportunity of seeing and experiencing an entrancing part of Far Eastern culture. Traditions and actions that seem immoral and unacceptable are at least made understandable, and that is the fulcrum upon which east and west can meet and work together.
This is a special love story, one that is enfolded within a complex vista of much larger, sweeping human dramas. Some might say the romance falls short, but I believe that the type of romance explored in this movie represents perhaps the toughest form of true love, and what it lacks in demonstrable passion, it more than makes up for in depth of feeling. English schoolteacher Anna Leonowens (Jodie Foster) has come to Siam (via India) to instruct the king's oldest son in English, but quite clearly she is not the type of schoolteacher the king expected, as she refuses to fully embrace the protocols of Siam. She is committed to showing King Mongkut (Yun-Fat Chow) the respect he deserves, but she stands in his presence, seeks him out rather than waiting to be summoned, and expresses her feelings and beliefs in a manner that would never be tolerated by a Siamese subject of the king. The king obviously admires her spirit, asking her to teach not only his eldest son but all fifty-eight of his children, one of his wives, and one of his concubines. The children do not respond to her very well at first, a fact which is not helped in the short run by her own son's spirit of independence, but her compassionate disciplinary ways soon make of her the kind of teacher Mongkut wants for his children. In time, she and King Mongkut develop a fairly close yet perfectly innocent relationship of their own, sharing a mutual bond of love for the children. Anna is never afraid to tell Mongkut what she thinks or to get involved in situations her conscience will not allow her to ignore, and a mutual understanding and respect is forged among these paragons of culturally different virtues. All the while, revolution is stirring in the land, and the king's throne and life itself are placed in great danger, yet Anna's presence and fierce spirit of goodness emerge as a secret weapon that stands to change the very fabric of Siam itself.
As wonderful and Oscar-worthy as Jodie Foster's performance is here, Chow-Yun Fat's is even better. King Mongkut is a complicated man, one who cares deeply about his family and his country, seeking to connect with the western world in order to promote the betterment of both. He does a magical job of balancing the burdens of a difficult kingship with those of a loving father and a very human man. Tom Felton is also very good as Anna's son Louis, although it took me a few minutes to see him in this new light once I realized I was watching Harry Potter's nemesis Draco Malfoy playing this role, and the children of King Mongkut are all portrayed masterfully by the whole cast of child actors and actresses. How this movie did not sweep the Academy Awards for 1999 is a mystery to me.
Anna and the King is a movie you can easily and happily immerse yourself in, journeying to a very different world and fully investing yourself emotionally in the drama focused on Anna and King Mongkut. The behind the scenes features afford a way of appreciating even more fully the job everyone associated with this motion picture did, and the deleted scenes offer a most interesting extended opening and ending to a wondrous picture stretched across two and a half hours in its finished form. If you have a heart, Anna and the King will speak to it, and you will feel touched in a very special way after watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a delightful story, 17 Mar. 2004
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anna And The King [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
After losing her husband in the jungle of India, Anna Leonowens embarks in a journey that will take her to Siam, where she will tutor the oldest son of King Mongkut. Her son, Louis, and two Hindu servants accompany her in this new endeavor. As soon as Anna sets foot in Bangkok, the difference between cultures surges as a predominant element that will remain present throughout the story. Even though the start is rocky, with Anna being called "Sir" for misogynist reasons and not being given the house she was promised but accommodation in the palace instead, the king discovers quickly the value of this woman that acts very different from what he is used to. That is why he decides that instead of tutoring his oldest son, she will be in charge of teaching all of his children...all 58 of them!
The movie evolves around three clear themes. First, the clash of cultures, which is enlightening and entertaining and as the movie evolves so does the acceptance and admiration each of the characters show for the positive points of the other's culture. Second, the relationship between Anna and the king, which starts as annoyance, moves to respect and continues developing from there. Third, the political atmosphere, which is characterized by attacks to Siamese people by Burmese armies, suspected to be supported by no other than the British Empire (the events unfold in 1862).
Although the movie is rather long, the events unfold at a pace that keeps the viewer interested at all times. The music fits the mood of the action perfectly well, and in the proper scenes it is so uplifting that it steals the attention of the viewer. Jodie Foster delivers a well-rounded role, but in my opinion the performance of Chow Yun-Fat is at a higher level. Finally, the scenery and the palaces where the movie develops are absolutely amazing.
Overall this is a highly enjoyable movie that will leave you thinking for a while about how every culture has its positive aspects and how, with a little patience, everyone can learn to appreciate this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget your remote yet again!, 4 Feb. 2002
As a child I was fed on MGM musicals, nothing could ever come close to the magical spectacle that they so effortlessly portrayed.
So as a result I wasn't too interested in Anna And The King, but on a lazy night in I decided to give it a chance and I'm glad I did.
Some people will say it doesn't hold true to the original story, and some will be disapointed it isn't like the musical version but what is the point of remaking a film of any sort if you don't add more to the story.
This film draws you in firstly by the beauty it portrays and then by both main characters and the people they are surrounded by.
The one thing I really like about this film is that more things come out, there is more to the story, there is more interchange between all the characters and there is more love shown by the King to his children and by the King and Anna...I'm happy to say I enjoyed it and will be watching it again soon.
It's another one of those films that makes you forget about the remote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visually splendid, 9 Feb. 2009
By 
Barbara R. Anderson (Adelaide, South Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anna And The King [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
It is a hard act to follow when the original The King and I with Yul Brunner and Deborah Kerr was so admired. This version has much to recommend it though. Visually it is absolutely beautiful with rich costumes, magnificent scenery and stunning sets. And Jodi Foster brings the same feisty spirit to the role as Deborah Kerr notably did. This is more dramatic, and less "musical" than the original. It benefits from the advances in film making which make it very luscious and rich. A wonderful experience in escapism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anna and the King, 8 July 2009
By 
Ms. P. Turton "Pam" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anna And The King [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fabulous film. History, romance, action, intrigue, it has it all.
The quality is excellent. I was pleased with the service and delivery. I play this frequently, so I hope I don't wear the dvd out. I would recommend this to anyone who likes these historical drama's. It will have you sighing, angry, crying, and on the edge of your seat. Totally engrossing!!!!
pam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visual orgy of colour, 3 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
I too was brought up on MGM and remember the musical version with affection, but what a treat this film is! The colour and costumes are outstanding. Yun Fat Chow is magnificent as Mungkat and I can forgive the miscast Miss Foster as Anna. There are powerful scenes in this film that held my breath and shed a tear or two. Definitely worth the watching more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tale of love, romance, and courage, 10 Oct. 2003
By 
R. Mauri (Como, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anna And The King [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
This movie takes your mind and brings it into another time and space, colourful, heroic, and exotic. Love, faith, courage are the themes of the story. Acting is deep and brilliant. Directing is perhaps a bit slow at times but it can surprise you with moments of passion and awe. Jodie Foster plays with British accent, which is amusing when you are used to her standard American one. Worth and Oscar for best player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have you tissues ready!, 26 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Anna And The King [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I didnt think I would like this movie if I am honest. I recorded it when it was on film four because I didnt think it would be good enough to buy! But oh my goodness was I wrong! I loved it! It's a story of growth, love, war, development.... its just packed full of everything that makes a movie great! One thing I will say about this movie was that Jodie foster does get a bit annoying at times with her average acting but you will easily get over that as the King more then makes up for her poor acting skills which is why I didnt take a star off for it!
I cried so much when I watched this movie! It is truely beautiful! The scenery aswell is breathtaking at times! Its a good movie for a lazy night in with someone you love! Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Foster excels, 12 July 2007
This review is from: Anna And The King [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
One thing that should be noted about Foster's performance is her deftness in playing an English woman. There are only three well-known actresses who can successfully portray characters with different accents than their own. One is Gwyneth Paltrow, the second is Meryl Streep and the other is Jodie Foster. These rare and very enviable skills can be seen most clearly in Shakespeare In Love, Out of Africa, and Anna and the King, respectively. Foster is perfect as the widowed English mother who takes upon herself the task of educating the King's many children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anna And The King [1999] [DVD]
Anna And The King [1999] [DVD] by Andy Tennant (DVD - 2000)
£3.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews