Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

215
4.8 out of 5 stars
Edward Scissorhands [1991] [DVD]
Format: DVDChange
Price:£2.92+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 1 July 2011
This review is going to be more about the Blu Ray side of things. The film in general is legendary and my favourite film ever personally, visually the film is stunning and the acting is superb, featuring some amazing actors (Johnny Depp, Winona Ryder etc.). Now for review of the Blu Ray version. I have the original DVD version which is very basic and has no special features at all which I found highly disappointing. The Blu Ray version does have a featurette which contains cast interviews and in sight into the making of the film which I found very good. It also includes original theatrical trailers and commentaries. In comparison to the DVD version this version has much more to offer. I personally think they should of released a 20th anniversary edition of the film which would had much more special features but for the time being this version is reasonable. As far as the resolution of the film, I think the remastering of the film is amazing considering this film, is 20+ years old now. I was a little hasty about how much of a difference it would be to the standard 480p version and wondered if it would be worth buying a film I already have on DVD, but I was not dissapointed with the new 1080p version. The colours are much more vivid and the picture quality is superb, you can see much more detail in facial shoots and a lot more in landscape shots.
All in all a great film to experience on Blu Ray and for the price it is now, a bargain.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 17 March 2004
In my opinion this has got to be Tim Burtons best film it also has to be Johnny Depps best, even though he's hilarious in Pirates of the Carribean he does to go a bit over the top in that role but this role he plays Edward perfect. Edward Scissorhands is one of my favourite films ever. Its a film that can make you laugh and can make you cry. The story is about Edward who was created by an inventor (respectfully played by Vincent Price )Edward wasnt created perfect he had scissors for hands. I dont get why the inventor didnt give him hands when gave him everything else eg: eyes, feet, hair etc. Anyway the inventor died before Edward could be completed. Ever since then Edward lived alone until a kind lady Peg took him home to live with her and her family. At first everyone is took to Edward, but the novelty soon wears off. But only one person Kim (Beautifully played by Winona Ryder) loves Edward for who he is on the inside. The film deserves 5 stars, watch it and try and be man enough not to shed a tear at the end. Edward Scissorhands Rules!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 18 November 2001
Any one familiar with other works by Tim Burton has already become aware that the main characters of his movies are charming but lonely outsiders. I am referring to Jack Skellington, the Pumpkin King, or young Vincent, the hero of his first short film.
Jack discovers Christmas Land, and dreams of becoming the new Santy "Claws" (as he thinks his name is), and tries to bring the opposite worlds of Christmas Land and Halloween Town together. However, he fails and realises that he will remain an alien in normal society.
Likewise, Vincent is a young boy from Suburbia who dreams he lives in a story by Edgar Allan Poe, and thus becomes alienated from his family.
Edward Scissorhands comes from the same family of brilliant but isolated characters. He has been created by a scientist (Vincent Price), but the untimely death of his creator left him unfinished; his hands are sharp razors. He is different physically from other poeople, but also very innocent, as he has never been in contact with mankind.
His isolation comes to an end when an Avon-representative knocks on his castle's door, discovers him, and decides that, in his best interest, she will take him to Suburbia.
Disgusted by his appearance, the narrow-minded suburbians distrust him until they find out his gift for hair-cutting. A new phase in his life begins, and he finds himself attracted to Wynona Ryder, but is too shy to tell her.
The situation reaches a climax when he is taken advantage of by the girl's boorish boyfriend, a typical sports-addicted youngster with a pea-sized brain (if any). She then realises that he is too pure for this conformist world, and makes the police believe Edward is dead, so that he can go back to his castle and be out of reach of these stupid people.
The Story is told by a grandmother to her granddaughter. it turns out of course that the granny is Wynona Ryder's caharcter, who is now old. But she still remembers the joy and fun brought into her life by Edward, and he he is in his castle, fondly thinking of her and carving her image in ice.
The story of this simple yet moving film is the story of how misfits try to adjust to a self-righteous society, and finally realise that they cannot fit in, and are better off staying away from the people who cannot and dont want to understand them.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 4 April 2013
I've hesitated about buying this Blu-ray release countless times in the past and until recently suddenly decided to invest in it.

Here is a brief overhaul.

I was dubious about picture quality and sound at first and could apprehend the possibility of significant grain (this being one of the earlier Blu-ray releases). However my first impression of the picture quality, seemed rather mediocre at first (essentially the opening scene), but as the film progressed the high quality image blew me away. It is consistently sharp throughout and the film being riddled with outlandish Tim Burton quirkiness, verve and creativity makes this a steal whatever the price. 'Edward Scissorhands' truly defines the standards of Blu-ray and it's novelties. If like me, you previously owned the VHS/DVD version, discard of that and buy this instead.

To note, this is the extended cut and to my knowledge the 'PG' version shown in the picture is non-existent. The '12' rated version is not really an 'extended cut' per say, it's the original cut that was initially pre-cut by the BBFC to remove Anthony Michael Hall's lingering relentless beatings upon poor Edward to a pulp in the infamous climatic scene. I reckon the BBFC were cautious about younger children being exposed to this hard hitting scene (if you'd excuse the pun). So endure, in all it's (mildly) gory glory!

As a plus this release offers a limited range of special features. It features a brief glimpse of footage from the cast prior to the film's release which is relatively endearing, several trailers presented in HD, and a Tim Burton audio commentary track. Which I haven't as of yet listened to in full due to how it's constructed, rather poorly if anything. The formation of this commentary is in the style of an audio bite, as it persistently cuts out (presumably due to Burton's umming and erring) which annoyed me to some extent. It's a no wonder his memories of making the film are absent, his career has certainly rocketed since then. Hats off to him.

Film: 5/5 - one of my all-time favourite Tim Burton compositions. This modern classic surely moves along with the times effortlessly. If you've enjoyed either one or more of the following; Beetlejuice, A Nightmare Before Christmas, Mars Attacks, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, this is destined to appeal to you.

Picture quality: 5/5 - as aforementioned, the picture quality is very sharp and sublime. The characters are very distinguished from the background elements and the ever so vivid and delightfully distinctive rich colours in the neighbourhood scenes look great.

Audio quality: 4/5 - the soundtrack (notably Danny Elfman's 'Ice Dance') is executed almost flawlessly. I can't say five for sure, as I only have integrated speakers for my television, thus inhibiting it from it's full potential.

Special Features: 3/5 - personally I would've preferred some input from Johnny Depp and Winona Ryder despite the stingy featurette provided. Perhaps this release could've benefited by a 20th anniversary edition, which could've included a reunion with the cast. Then again 20th Century Fox, being the tight-fisted tyrants they are, need an incentive to do anything nowadays.

One minor nit-pick dispute I have is with the menu design. It could do with being perhaps a little more ideal. In order to access the menu and play the special features, you have to leave the film running until you've came to a conclusion.

Overall a great Blu-ray, if like me you loved the film in standard definition, you'll love it even more so in High-Definition. Get yourself a copy and embrace the desirable brilliance that is 'Edward Scissorhands'.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 8 March 2004
I find it hard to rate beauty. I'd prefer to refrain from grading this masterpiece, as it superceeds such triviality and simply regard this film as it is...a moving tale.
I think that Edward Scissorhands was actually the first film I ever rented. I was five years old at the time and I guess the cover allured me, being fairly imaginative as a youngster. At such an impressionable age, this movie really did have a huge affect on me. Without realising, I drew an affinity between myself and the character of Edward and always felt a great deal of empathy towards the pure humanity and tenderness of this story. On viewing this film once again at the age of 18 I found myself reduced to tears again. Edward's predicament of simply not being able to touch those he loves truly captivated the romantic in me, and the metaphor of destroying everything he touches struck a chord within me.
The scene where Kim dances in the snow was the first scene in any movie that moved me to tears, simply for its beauty. Johnny Depp's expressions still sadden me deeply, and Winona Ryder's delivery of the elementary line, 'I love you,' and Johnny Depp's subsequent reaction move me more than I could ever convey with words. After watching with great sadness and sympathy, the yearning of the outcast and then for such perfection to fall for Edward....The score by Danny Elfman coupled with this scene heightens the sorrow and beauty and remains a major factor in tears flowing from my eyes.
Being an 18 year old man, I would admit that perhaps this film is catered for the ladies and not just because Johnny Depp stars in a leading role. That withstanding, if you are like me and enjoy thought provoking, beauty then I would certainly recommend this film. You most definitely have to have a sensitive disposition and a prediliction for all that is romantic though.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 21 December 2003
Jonny Depp shines in this ninety's classic, and in my opinion,is one of his best films to date. Set in a modern day, slightly surreal senario, this film describes how an inventors unfinished project of a human is brought into family life with no knowledge of morals of that time, and his struggle to fit in.
This film had me weeping, laughing and above all amazed at the sensitivity of this film, without it being at all soppy, boring or predictable.It left me fully amazed at Jonny Depps ability to make the viewer completely understand of all his characters thoughts, without even uttering a word. The passion of this film had me raring, and jonny Depps good looks just add to the succes.
This film is like no other i have ever seen, but is well worth buying, for this film is a trgedy to miss.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 14 July 2006
Edward Scissorhands rates as one of my all-time favourite films. Why? Because through this film, Tim Burton - a seriously underrated director - pours out the confusion and loneliness of adolescence, in the guise of a modern fairytale.

The film follows the plight of Edward, who is put together by an inventor. He is discovered living alone by the local Avon lady, who brings him to live in the 'perfect' town with her family. At first the locals are fascinated by this strange individual with scissors for hands, and welcome him, but it is not to last as Edward is hounded out of town, in scenes reminiscent of Frankenstein.

Burton picked the perfect leading man in a young Johnny Depp, who was desperate to shed his teen heart-throb image. By making him virtually unrecognisable as Edward, and by communicating through minimal speech, he paved the way for himself. Edward is a thoroughly engaging character - funny, sweet and tragic in turn. The story is captivating, and Depp plays it with such an innocence, using facial expression to wring the most out of his lonely character.

The imagery in the film is perfect - the carbon-copy houses juxtaposed brilliantly with the dark castle on the hill, the cheery nature of the locals compared to Edward's restrained emotions, the colours used for costumes with Edward in black, while everyone else is in bright, clashing shades. Burton uses this to communicate to the audience that we all feel the need to be accepted by society, and the pressures to be 'normal' can be overwhelming. Edward is an extreme example of an 'outsider', and his castle does not match the rest of the town, marking him out as 'not-one-of-us', to the townspeople. His attempts to fit in will ultimately never work because he does not know hate, anger or fear - until the end, when he realises he must be alone.

The central love story between Edward and Kim (Winona Ryder), is your basic Beauty and the Beast fare, although it is played beautifully by both, with a depth of understanding that these two are doomed never to be together. The scene where they part for the last time is heart-wrenching. Edward learns about love and human companionship only to have it snatched away at the hands of the ruthless mob.

The film is intricately shot and directed, and Danny Elfman's atmospheric score lends the film a haunting beauty. It is an absolute must-see for anyone, and essential for Burton and Depp fans. BUY IT!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 31 July 2008
Tim Burton's attention to fairy tale detail is perfect for Blu Ray. Every blade of grass visible, all the colours crystal clear. This is the perfect DVD to watch on Blu Ray.

The film is visually stunning and the story is sad, funny and very sweet, but with a dark edge that Tim Burton is renowned for.

Thoroughly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 15 November 2008
Edward (Depp), born with scissors for hands, is brought into the local village and becomes the talk of the town.

God bless Tim Burton. Who in their right minds would take a fairy tale and include a man with scissors for hands? Burton's sheer strangeness continues after his beautiful Beetlejuice and Batman in this darkly colourful fantasy drama and throws the fairytale convention out of the window. Burton is an inspiration to the film industry, a man who does everything differently and there is no one else out there like him, and his finally cut creation, inspired by one of his own drawings, is a sentimental spark in his collection, his most touching to date.

For those fairytale lovers out there don't worry. This 1990 picture follows the convention of an outsider trying to make it in a land of troubles and difference, also including a beautiful girl and a touching if slightly obvious love story.

Like many Burton films he gives us a wonderful imaginative other world.

The oppositions encoded into this drama are fantastic. From the cold hearted dark home of Edward's to the unbelievably organised and colourful suburban town below, Burton's imagination allows viewers to see two opposite worlds living next door to each other.

These settings are exquisite in establishing the characters. The similar styled houses are those tidy and sophisticated homes you expect the rich and posh to live and sure enough all the middle aged gossip loving women live next door to one another. Their tidiness and appearances create that stereotypical shallow middle aged woman that shapes the story in so many ways.

The darkness of Edward's home is brought to life through the cold machinery. The inventor's house is a dark walled, miserable and negative creation and marks the quietness and shyness of central character Edward.

Who would believable Captain Jack Sparrow and Edward are portrayed by the same actor? You see Jack's cockiness provoking Elizabeth Swan with his quiet ruthlessness, and then you see Edward hiding his face from Kim with his Scissorhands. How Depp was never nominated for as Oscar for this performance will rage on until the end of time. Words cannot describe how he makes this character.

Good support is given by Ryder, West, hall and beautiful protagonist Joyce is created by Kathy Baker's ultimate fake charm.

Burton has waved his wand again to cast a dark and imaginative spell over the conventional fairytale and turned it into a bubbling dark and touching fantasy

9/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
This is the fantasy tale of a boy (Johnny Depp) who is built by an aging inventor. The old man dies before giving the boy real hands; instead, he has knife blades where his fingers would be. A motherly Avon lady finds him hiding alone in his abandoned castle and brings him home to suburbia to live with her family, which includes daughter Winona Ryder. Edward is extremely shy, never having been around any people, but he is sweet and helpful, and soon the neighbors all love him. He likes Winona, which angers her bully boyfriend, played by Michael Hall (the geek from Breakfast Club).
The star, of course, is Johnny Depp. As Edward, he is painfully timid and longs to be, like Pinnochio, a real boy. His character is so heart-wrenchingly delicate that you ache for him in his confusion over the evil that others do. Even with white make-up and very few words of dialog, Depp proves he is a very talented actor. Diane Wiest is adorable and funny as the Avon Lady. She lives to take care of people and can only see the good in others. Winona plays her role in a foggy, teenage haze, not realizing how wonderful Edward is until it's too late. Michael Hall is the villian you love to hate. He is so cruel to poor Edward; partly because he is jealous, and partly because he is just mean. The wonderful and quite frail Vincent Price, as Edward's loving creator, is quite likely to bring a tear to your eye if you remember him in his prime. This was his last role.
This completely unique film blends comedy, horror, and a love story to become a modern fairy tale both teens and adults will enjoy. It is a heart-breaker; bring your hankie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Big Fish [DVD] [2004]
Big Fish [DVD] [2004] by Ewan McGregor (DVD - 2004)
£3.47

 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.