Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Great Great!!
This album is the best thing to come out of Ireland since Guinness. It really is the dog's. THE album of last year, combining thrashing rock music with gentle ballads that really bring out the singer's very soul. This is an album that lets you know winter's coming, and you'd better be ready, cos it's coming in hard. The singer (not sure of the name) has an amazingly...
Published on 25 Jan 2001

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little nugget of surprise
With Muse's career hitting ceiling at the moment it's easy to forget about these guys. To be honest, I did. It was god knows how long ago this album came out, and I can't help but think that at the time, I thought them annoying, and ignored it.
But shuffling through a box of CD's in a Pawn shop in Brighton I came accross JJ72's debut for £3.50 and thought, well why...
Published on 8 Dec 2003 by R. Cook


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Brilliant album for the Collection., 2 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: JJ72 (Audio CD)
I have to say, I thought this band was amazing just listening to one song. "October Swimmer". Never mind the rest of the album. This must be the best album I own. Without a doubt. The vocals are just amazing not to mention the instrumentation and Lyrics. Mark Greany's vocals really dominate the songs and brings them to life. I just love this album!!! xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUYBUYBUYBUYBUYBUYBUYBUYBUYBUYBUY NOW!!!!!!!, 6 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: JJ72 (Audio CD)
I had heard this trio on the radio on the top 40, a couple of times and hadn't really paid much attention but when i saw the advert for it on MTV albums of the week i had to have it. And sure enough on xmas day santa delivered, what an album, so much emotion, every track is worth 5 stars but even that doesn't do it enough justice. If this album isn't a hit i pray for the british music industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The tracks run into each other, 27 Mar 2001
This review is from: JJ72 (Audio CD)
While the singles reveal how good they can be , most of the album sounds exactly like those singles . Good , but I wouldn't play this everyday . This is your bedtime album ie a lot of these songs will cure your insomnia .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic in time, 31 Aug 2000
This review is from: JJ72 (Audio CD)
Like the current single, it reminds me of Drugstore/Radiohead and current Mercury Prize niminees Coldplay...which aint a bad thing at all. after a few plays the songs grew on you and you will enjoy to listen to it..very loud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leeds noticed!, 29 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: JJ72 (Audio CD)
I saw JJ72 at Leeds this weekend and they really made an impression - a cross between Placebo and coldplay, and they rocked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Put your textbook down Mark!!, 6 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: JJ72 (Audio CD)
Oh, Mark Greaney, what a tained soul you must be. Only 21 and already wailing at the moon like a peculierly angry wolf. I wonder what caused you to have this almighty cob on: Was it that meany who stole your dinner money and your Joy Division C.D or perhaps it was that nasty-pasty music teacher who said that your voice was too high to be soprano. Looking past all the petty angst and pointless screaming, there are some fantastic songs on this record, improv and Long Way South are remincent of New Order's best and the awesome quiet bits on the Holy Bible, She is Suffering i.e. but, until he leaves Hillary, Fergal or even James Dean Bradfield (we all live in hope) take over JJ72 will never achieve their full potantial. But, It's Mark Greaney's Everything Must Go and if he can't be James Dean Bradfield he's going home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Expected Better, 19 May 2006
By 
This review is from: JJ72 (Audio CD)
I bought this CD because i had heard JJ72 compared to Muse so i thought i'd try it out. I found very few simiarities between them and JJ72 are certinly not up to the standard of the great Muse. However it is not a bad album, some songs i still think are good, but not great. In short i wouldn't recommend this album to everyone but it's not all bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

JJ72
JJ72 by JJ72 (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews