Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original and best
I originally bought this on vinyl in the 70's when it was realeased as B S & T The First Album with a review from Noel Edmunds on the back cover. It really has everything; great songs, amazing horn section, brilliant vocals from Al Kooper. It has stood the test of time and still sounds fresh today. If you have never listened to B S & T then this will tell you all you need...
Published on 10 Jun 2007 by David Mcclernon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A curate's egg
There are some great tracks (I Can't Quit her, My Days are Numbered and I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know) but many of the others are definitely sounding a bit dated now. Still it is what it is - an album from the 60s so you can't expect more than that but it's worth buying for the good songs which are excellent. The cover is fantastic but sadly rather less impactful...
Published 11 months ago by hal_the_gal


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original and best, 10 Jun 2007
By 
David Mcclernon (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I originally bought this on vinyl in the 70's when it was realeased as B S & T The First Album with a review from Noel Edmunds on the back cover. It really has everything; great songs, amazing horn section, brilliant vocals from Al Kooper. It has stood the test of time and still sounds fresh today. If you have never listened to B S & T then this will tell you all you need to know and if you only know them from later albums this a must for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...You Can Say I Told You So..." - Child Is The Father To The Man by BLOOD, SWEAT & TEARS (2000 Expanded CD Remaster), 10 Sep 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Child Is Father To The Man (Audio CD)
Arising out of the ashes of THE BLUES PROJECT - both AL KOOPER and STEVE KATZ joined forces with Bassist JIM FIELDER and Saxophonist FRED LIPSIUS and formed Mark 1 of BLOOD, SWEAT & TEARS. And what a debut album "Child Is The Father To The Man" is. This September 2000 CD remaster on Sony/Legacy 499823 2 does that stunning debut proper justice.

1. Overture
2. I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know
3. Morning Glory
4. My Days Are Numbered
5. Without Her
6. Just One Smile
7. I Can't Quit Her
8. Meegan's Gypsy Eyes
9. Somethin' Goin' On
10. House In The Country
11. The Modern Adventures Of Plato, Diogenes And Freud
BONUS TRACKS
12. Refugee From Yuhupitz
13. I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know
14. The Modern Adventures Of Plato, Diogenes And Freud

Recorded in late 1967 - the LP first appeared in the USA in February 1968 on Columbia CS 9619 (on their famous '360 Sound' label) while it showed up later in the UK - June 1968 on CBS Records S 63296. This expanded CD (63:55 minutes) adds on three previously unreleased bonus tracks - the Al Kooper instrumental "Refugee From Yuhupitz" and Mono Demos of "I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know" and "The Modern Adventures Of Plato, Diogenes And Freud".

Once you get past the superfluous "Overture" with it's manic giggling - you're hit immediately with Bluesy Rock genius - "I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know" (lyrics above). It's the kind of great drama love song that lends itself to cover. Tina Britt did her version on the 1968 Minit Records LP "Blue All The Way" while one of my fave covers is Donny Hathaway's faithful Soulful variant on his stunning 1973 Atlantic album "Extension Of A Man". Even legendary guitarist Les Paul revisited it in 2005 on his "& Friends" CD project with Mick Hucknell on Vocals and Joe Perry of Aerosmith on Guitar.

You're then hit with a brass/keyboard cover of Tim Buckley's "Morning Glory" sung sweetly by Steve Katz. "My Days Are Numbered" is another superb Kooper original - this time in a funky vein. Things go almost Lounge Lizard with their cover of Nilsson's "Without Her" - another album highlight. The tempo's changed again to something more solemn - Randy Newman's "Just One Smile" which leads it into another gem "I Can't Quit Her". After all that brass and rock - the beautiful acoustic opening of "Meagan's Gypsy Eyes" comes as a welcome surprise (a Steve Katz original) - the remaster really shining here. And on it goes to the cover of Goffin/King's "So Much Love". The three bonuses are interesting - especially the simple piano basis to "The Modern Adventures..." - it gives you an idea of how advanced the arrangements on the finished track are.

Kooper left almost immediately after the LP was released - replaced with the superb vocalist DAVID CLAYTON-THOMAS who brought the band proper chart success with their self-titled 2nd album in 1969 - spawning hits like "You've Made Me So Very Happy" and "Spinning Wheel". I'd argue in fact it's just as good as the debut. But that starter album just had something special about it - and this dinky CD remaster of it recaptures that in spades...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Child is father to the man: Blood Sweat and Tears - Overture to a class act., 9 Jun 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Also known as `The First Album', this is the debut recording from the enduring collective known as Blood Sweat and Tears. Setting out their agenda of fusing rock with a big band jazz and classical style, the album contains a collision of musical influences that works well, largely due to the talent of the musicians.

This album has a big sound, a bombastic depth from the horn section coupled with the intimate bluesy sound of the keyboards and guitars. The band synthesise soul, jazz, rock and blues with a classical influence that gives a complex and unique sound totally their own. Al Kooper's vocals are probably the weakest aspect, not quite managing to match the power of the music. This does not detract however, and a classic album results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish that all albums were this good, 18 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Slowly, I am reclaiming my old vinyl onto CD and I had delayed getting this album, but so glad I did. This album is so timeless.

The opening 'Overture' with it's crazy laugh brought back memories of how I enjoyed this album. Then 'I love you more than you'll ever know' and I was back then and knowing all the words! It was also a timely reminder of just how good a vocalist was Al Kooper - from memory, I recall I was tracking down any album that he had to do with!

To the old goats remembering this from days goen buy, just get it again. To newcomers, buy the album and immerse yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A curate's egg, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are some great tracks (I Can't Quit her, My Days are Numbered and I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know) but many of the others are definitely sounding a bit dated now. Still it is what it is - an album from the 60s so you can't expect more than that but it's worth buying for the good songs which are excellent. The cover is fantastic but sadly rather less impactful in CD format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been looking for this for years, it is certainly the best album made by Blood, Sweat and Tears largely because Al Kooper was with them and did such a great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big surprise, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent price and packaging. The album lives up to the reviews I have read over the years and then some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Child Is Father To The Man
Child Is Father To The Man by Blood Sweat & Tears (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews