Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece
This remarkable piece of work captures the beuty and behaviour of all species of birds all over the world. It is not only educational but also quite comical to watch. A great DVD for all people from birdwatchers to children, this film captures it all and delivers alot of information on the breeding and hunting of the species aswell as how the birds attract mates and...
Published on 10 Mar 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The usual zoocentrist speil
OK. I can see that ornithology is a major passion of many people. And botany and evolution a much lesser thrill for folk but for natural history documentaries to spend such little time on these subjects is biased and frustrating.But I so would have loved to see MUCH more about bird evolution and origins! Attenboroughs series on Kew and plants generally rare such shallow...
Published 15 months ago by Green Man


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 10 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Life of Birds [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This remarkable piece of work captures the beuty and behaviour of all species of birds all over the world. It is not only educational but also quite comical to watch. A great DVD for all people from birdwatchers to children, this film captures it all and delivers alot of information on the breeding and hunting of the species aswell as how the birds attract mates and flying techniques. The photography and filming of this feature is remarkable as all of David Attenboroughs work is and you can see where all the hard work has gone into this.
A great film.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 1 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Life of Birds [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Can anyone make wildlife documentaries even remotely as good as this one? The photography is superb, the explanations made simple and astonishing facts crop up everywhere in the series. These 500 minutes will seem to short. Leaves you gasping for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Attenborough at his best, 4 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Life of Birds [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
The BBC have done it again, with more than a little help from the Maestro of Nature Documentaries, David Attenborough. The Life of Birds is an excellent series giving you comical, scary, strange and above all wonderful glimpses into our feathered friends. This will make a wonderful addition to anyones collection, whether ornithologist or just nature lover. Can't recommend this set highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too much birds eating and being eaten, 7 April 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Life of Birds [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This is just as good any documentary on single subjects and can give Blue Planet a run for its money.

From the beginning, it is fascinating with both extraordinary graphics and amazing insight as to the life of birds. Even though it comes on multiple disks, you will be left wanting for more. Naturally, one of the mod important elements in this production is David Attenborough with his intriguing presentation stile and pacing.

The only downside is that this documentary suffers from "yum yum eate'm up syndrome." The depiction of something being eaten is proportionally over emphasized; this distracts from the rest of the film.

The Living Planet - A Portrait of the Earth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Briliant. A must for anyone with interest in Nature programs, 12 April 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life of Birds [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This is one of the best DVD's in my collection. The set is excellent, entertaining, and educational. The best feature in my opinion is the sound. I switched my stereo on, and enjoyed unbelievable sounds from different birds.
Everything about this DVD is excellent. The case, film menu, quality of recording. Cannot recommend it high enough. This deserves a six stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable, 15 April 2005
This review is from: The Life of Birds [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Anyone who has even the vaguest interest in Natural History will mavel open-mouthed at the complexity, endless variety and unbelievable beauty of the subjects brought to life by the BBC and D.A. in this landmark of a series. Creatures from all points of the globe are encompassed with the help of incredible images of the world's birdlife.
I cannot forget the footage of the Superb Lyrebird impersonating the sounds within its rainforest home, many of which are man-made; the accuracy is incredible!
This is simply an unparalleled achievement within the ever expanding series of "Life" documentaries. I cannot recommend this set of DVD's more - a must for anyone, avian enthusiast or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Life of Birds, 23 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Life of Birds [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This DVD has great content and images and captures amazing footage, but unfortunately because it was filmed 14 years ago the quality of the film is not that great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delighted, 4 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life of Birds [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Delighted with this dvd, which I ordered to replace the original video recordings. Our video recorder died, replaced with a dvd recorder and I missed being able to see this wonderful series. Now I am enjoying viewing it all again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am speechless, 12 Dec 2009
By 
Arne Antonio Sanche (Salvador-BA Brasil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Life of Birds [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I have not words to describe this program. This documentary explains each step of the birds. It is beautiful, informative, fun, is simply complete. Definetly don't exist a program about birds that can be better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Utterly amazing, but..., 9 May 2009
By 
B Adams "Birdygirl" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life of Birds [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
There is no doubt that this is an amazing series, one of the best actually! I would have voted this 5 stars but I wish the video quality wasn't so poor. It reminds me of when I had to watch 'snowy' TV back in the age of poor analogue signal. This DVD deserves to be seen in clean and clear quality, the footage is too awesome to be this neglected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Life of Birds [DVD] [1998]
The Life of Birds [DVD] [1998] by David Attenborough (DVD - 2000)
£13.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews