Customer Reviews


200 Reviews
5 star:
 (142)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovin' it...
Lots of people say that only `spotty kids' listen to Slipknots music (and that it isn't really music at all).

Well, I'm a well educated, self-employed 28 yr old, who has recently bought this album (along with `Iowa' and `The Subliminal Verses'). And all I can say is, that it's absolutely brilliant.

This will go down in heavy metal history as one of...
Published on 25 Oct. 2007 by Not a Fanboy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New Noose
The darlings of the nu-metal explosion, Slipknot ruled all that was metal at the turn of the century. They were fresh, vigorous and had anger and youthful exuberance coming out the wazoo. And they had eminent marketability. Their music was a sort of mixture between death metal, rap metal and hardcore with a bit of drum and bass for atmosphere. And their look, whatever...
Published on 4 May 2011 by ratmonkey


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovin' it..., 25 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Slipknot (Audio CD)
Lots of people say that only `spotty kids' listen to Slipknots music (and that it isn't really music at all).

Well, I'm a well educated, self-employed 28 yr old, who has recently bought this album (along with `Iowa' and `The Subliminal Verses'). And all I can say is, that it's absolutely brilliant.

This will go down in heavy metal history as one of THE greatest albums ever made.

Slipknot are one of those bands (along with others [in my opinion]: Nirvana, Metallica, Rage Against The Machine, and Green Day) that defied convention. They created music in a style that they wanted to hear, and to stuff anyone else. They merge heavy metal with nu-metal with death metal, with heavy punk - in short - groundbreaking.

A lot has/is written about what Slipknots' songs are all about. But if you research what they say their intention was, and study the lyrics for yourself - you'll begin to see how poetic and intelligent, the songs actually are, through the beautifully crafted angry lyrics.

It's not mindless noise, you couldn't get any random person off the street to produce an album like this (unlike Pop music with `X-Factor' et al).

Definitely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FUTURE CLASSIC, 2 May 2004
By 
Pascal J Middlemiss (Spalding, Lincolnshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slipknot (+Bonus) (Audio CD)
This album is brilliant!! In 10 years time it will be to nu-metal music as Nirvanas Nevermind is to grunge! This band is a breath of fresh air to the sudden influx of nu-metal bands that appeared on the scene after Korns debut album. Slipknot have managed to create a form of melodic death metal which many thought could not be done. This album has been fantasticly produced by Ross Robinson (korn, Limp Bizkit) and signalled the rebirth of a dying nu-metal genre. Nu-metal is back and while this album is not for everybody, if you like the hard stuff then this is it! This particular version of the album is a must for any true slipknot fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest albums you could own, 15 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Slipknot Digipack (Audio CD)
From the looped intro of '742617000027' through to final track 'Scissors', the eighteen-legged hate machine known as Slipknot take you on a musical journey, the likes of which you may never have heard. This album has it all. From eardrum battering tracks such as '(sic)' and 'Surfacing' to slightly "mellower" tracks such as 'Wait & Bleed', there is something on this realease for every metal fan. Granted, the image may put people off as being a gimmick to sell more, but I personally heard them before I saw what they looked like, and if you listen to the CD and let the music take over, then you will forget that masks and boiler suits dominate the image. A large number of people will have this CD by now, but if you don't, it really is a must have album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best album ever, 8 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Slipknot (Audio CD)
this is really the best.

admititly the digipack is better cause of purity

tracks

1- 742617000027 : good, smart build up to a great album 8/10

2- (sic): one of most brutal songs ever. superb 10/10

3- eyeless: another classic with an amazing climax 10/10

4- wait and bleed: not as brutal as the first 2 but still great 9/10

5- surfacing: your new national anthem. music dosen't get better 10/10

6- spit it out: a fast mash of techno and death metal 10/10

7- tattered and torn: an eerie, slow, epic masterpiece 9/10

8- me inside: not as good as the others. but still rips your face off 8/10

9- liberate: great opening riff. another stand-out track 9/10

10- prosthetics: one of my favorites. an haunting track indeed 9/10

11- no life: a bit like me inside. good chorus though 8/10

12- diluted: also one of my favs. some good use of samples 10/10

13- only one: bit forgetable. still. not to bad 7/10

14- scissors: well. truly one of the most hauntingly epic songs ever. an absolute gem. brill. 10/10

sercret track- eyore: keep the cd going after scissors for ten mins and you'll hear people talking. this goes on for a while then eyore kicks in. a nice treat at the end of the best album ever 10/10

buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of the past decade, 14 Nov. 2008
By 
T. Edmunds (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slipknot (Audio CD)
Best album of the past ten years - I'm serious.

'Slipknot' crystalises all that is good about hardcore metal. I've loved this kind of stuff from the mid 80s, all the way from Celtic Frost through Naplam Death in the Lee Dorian days to 90s death metal. Great stuff that's always scratched an itch for me.

But nothing brings it all together like this album. It just gets everything so... RIGHT. The combination of emotion - raw aggresion, rage and a bit of humour - with melodies, awesome percussion, theatricality is spot on and quickly gets under your skin. Nothing quite else really comes close to making it all work so well. Vocals, riffs, samples - everything is just in the right place.

This is a truely stunning set of tracks that brings a smile to my face every time I listen to it. It is a special album and you should buy it immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIC Package, 10 Oct. 2009
By 
MicHaeL H. (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
OK, first of all I wanted to say, I expected some nice positive review about this nice product,
rather than 2 negative ones from some guys that don't have anything to do but complain about SlipKnoT.
They hate SlipKnoT by default, so they just come here to complain some more because they can't appreciate what SlipKnoT is.

Also note that myself I'm not some type of hardcore SlipKnoT-fan, so I'm not biased or anything.
Now, on to the review I planned to do:

This is just a very nice package.
It comes with SlipKnoT's debut-album, with added mixes and demos, which before probably only have been available unofficially I guess.
Those are interesting to hear, one or two in my opinion even better versions than what ended up on the album.
It's funny, in my case I didn't have the original and I really like 'Get This' which is also included and 'Purity' was put back on.
So you definitely get the complete package as it comes to the album and extra tracks.

On top of this you also get a DVD, which contains some video-clips that go with some tracks on the album.
But more importantly it contains a nice recording of a show in The Netherlands in 2000.
The video is fine, it's probably from a Dutch TV-channel and shot in 4:3,
but the audio has some more issues, I think it's recorded in mono or something and sounds quite muffled, messy and inconsistent.
Keep in mind, however, it's recorded at an open-air-show too, and with SlipKnoT being fairly new, it's not a like an official DVD-recording.
Nevertheless, it's a great recording to have, previously I could only get even worse downloads, so I'm glad they added it.

Then there is also a video which is just a compilation of all kinds of backstage-recordings.
There's just a lot of SIC stuff going on, take that word however you like, it's just SlipKnoT as they are.
You might not understand what it's about, it might not make sense at all, but it's just a look behind the scenes of SlipKnoT.
Besides that, it also starts off with a message from Shawn "Clown" Crahan.

There's also a booklet included, which contains the lyrics and a message from Corey Taylor.
All this in a nice cardboard box as it's the trend lately.

Overall, this is obviously a nice improved version of the original album for existing fans.
But if you don't know SlipKnoT well, this is a great introduction to their music and what they're like.
Besides that, it's just a very complete package of the time of their official debut.
You can't go wrong, especially not for the price.
So the 5 stars definitely don't represent the content, as it's definitely not perfect, but it's a great and SIC package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New Noose, 4 May 2011
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slipknot Digipack (Audio CD)
The darlings of the nu-metal explosion, Slipknot ruled all that was metal at the turn of the century. They were fresh, vigorous and had anger and youthful exuberance coming out the wazoo. And they had eminent marketability. Their music was a sort of mixture between death metal, rap metal and hardcore with a bit of drum and bass for atmosphere. And their look, whatever your opinion of it, forced them into the public consciousness and garnered them fans from across the globe. From underground Iowan alternatives they soon became mainstream metal icons and surprisingly also became extremely good musicians and songwriters. Makes me think that maybe the hype was slightly engineered and these guys were always marked for greatness. However, at the present (2011), they are 4 albums into their career and riding the wave of success and reverence. In years to come teenagers from a decade ago will be mentioning them in nostalgic ephemera in the same breath as Iron Maiden and Black Sabbath et al. On the evidence of their last 2 albums this will be justified. Their debut, however, was less than classic, musically.

After the great looped opening recording '(sic)' kicks in with the power of a demolition ball. It seems to crush all who went before and was the best track to come first. It showed their intent as well as their mastery of turning powerchords into something quite classical. The track itself is not a world-beater but it wins primarily because of its overall effect. 'Eyeless' is more akin to punk than metal (nu or otherwise) or possibly hardcore. It is another excellent, raw, catchy without being mainstream tune. Then 'Wait & Bleed' appears and stuns the socks of you. It needs no critique as it rightly seen as one of their altime best tracks. It's an anti-single single. 'Surfacing' adds some drum and brass into the mix and is a welcome, if not wholly effective, effort. 'Spit it Out' is the angry classic and it is a great, effervescent track.

Unfortunately, after the opening greatness the rest of the album submits to sameyness and mediocrity, which is odd for a band marketed as game-changers. 'Tattered & Torn' is dull and dirgey. 'Me Inside' is forgettable and average. 'Liberate' and 'Prosthetics' are ok I suppose but when compared to 'Wait & Bleed' or the storming opener they pall. The only other track of any merit is the closer 'Scissors' although that's not really A* either.

Not a complete failure but far worse than many made it out to be. It is no classic in musical terms although it does mark the beginning of sorts of a particularly interesting revival in the metal scene, one that still exists today. And it introduced us to a bunch of complete metal heads that turned into a very serious band indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Does Its Job, 23 Jun. 2014
By 
Becky Prince (St Annes, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I unfortunately lost both pairs of keys to this (my bad) and no matter what I've done I cannot for the life of me get into it. I've tried pliers, hammers, screwdrivers, rocks, throwing it at walls and picking the lock. It really does its job, just don't lose the keys.
The stuff inside the box is also really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Knot, 6 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Slipknot (Audio CD)
This album is split into two halves. The first half sounds like a band who are adept at copying Korn and doing it well, with thier own additions to Korn's sound. The other half is vile, vomit-inducing and yet addictive insanity. I use the word carefully. This isn't the half-assed 'insanity' of The Used or Gallows - instantly replicated and fun to listen to. This is the insanity of Marilyn Manson and Eminem, which leads to many persons (mostly parents) baying for the artists blood.
Long Live The Knot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely amazing, 16 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Slipknot (Audio CD)
Slipknot are possibly the best band to come out of the nu-metal scene since Korn released their first album. Whilst bands like Korn and Limp Bizkit have gone softer and absorbed hip hop into their sound, Slipknot do no such thing - their music is brutal and unrelenting. Showing hatred for absolutely EVERYTHING, especially in the lyrics for songs like "Surfacing", their compassion for their music is fantastic. Brutality is the order of the day, most evident on the songs "Sic" and "Surfacing", but also throughout the entire album. Standout tracks are the first five excluding the intro ("Sic", "Eyeless", "Wait And Bleed", "Surfacing" and "Spit It Out"), plus "Purity", "Liberate", "Prosthetic", and "Scissors", as well as the bonus tracks "Me Inside" and "Get This" and the hidden track "Eeyore". Easily the best album of last year, and with a sold out UK tour and writing for the second album underway already, the best is quite possibly yet to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slipknot - Limited Picture Disc [VINYL]
Slipknot - Limited Picture Disc [VINYL] by Slipknot (Vinyl - 2000)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews