Customer Reviews


13 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia for an age yet to come, 7 April 2010
This review is from: Moving Targets (Audio CD)
I bought this album on vinyl in 1979 but hadn't heard it for 20 years or so as I don't have a turntable to play it on any more. I saw Penetration gigging in Brighton with Stiff Little Fingers recently, was blown away with how fresh these 30 year old songs sounded and had to buy this CD. At the gig, Penetration opened with 'Future Daze' and 'Life's A Gamble', the opening songs on the CD and these are both excellent songs which set the scene for this album nicely. The following track, 'Lovers of Outrage' is probably my favourite track on the CD with its singalong chorus showcasing Pauline Murray's breathy,passionate vocals. Penetration in my mind were an underrated punk band who wrote memorable songs with intelligent lyrics whilst demonstrating excellent musicianship - check out 'Vision' and 'Stone Heroes' in particular. Two Songs rather sag in the middle of the CD ('Too Many Friends' in particular - Pauline can even be heard saying "this is boring" in the background!) but things pick up with the (now very appropriate) cover of Buzzcocks' 'Nostalgia' and the excellent 'Free Money'. Bonus tracks include classic singles 'Don't Dictate' and 'Firing Squad'. I ahve been playing this CD almost constantly for the last month - even my 13 year old daughter loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Punk rockers in mature LP shock!, 2 Mar. 2005
This review is from: Moving Targets (Audio CD)
You would have been forgiven, after the punkiness of the early "Don't Dictate" single, for expecting 1978's "Moving Targets" to have been something like a cross between Buzzcocks (Pete Shelley's "Nostalgia" is covered here) and X-Ray Spex (Pauline Murray's voice sometimes sounding uncannily like that of the warrior in Woolworths, Poly Styrene).
Despite being released on nearly unlistenable luminous vinyl, what Penetration actually served up was an adept and surprisingly mature set of songs. Murray and company had the confidence to let slower, reflective passages appear in some of the tracks, such as "Reunion", whilst speedier tracks like "Stone Heroes" conformed a little more closely to the amphetamine pace of the times. The original material is strong and the two covers (the second is Patti Smith's "Freemoney") well executed.
What makes Penetration stand out from the multitude of punk groups that sprang up in 1977 is Murray's distinctive and powerful voice, whilst her lyrics perhaps hint at a vulnerability and introspection that became all too evident in later years.
"Moving Targets" was a fine debut but also a dead end. There are places in which the guitar playing unpleasantly prefigures the "New Wave Of British Heavy Metal", which aspect of Penetration's sound helped ruin the dismally poor second LP, "Coming Up For Air". Unsurprisingly, the group split shortly after it.
At a reduced price this CD reissue is well worth having. The Invisible Girls' material is hard to find but showcases Murray's voice and songwriting even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent debut LP, 23 Feb. 2002
By 
¥ø$$1960 (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Moving Targets (Audio CD)
Right from the outset of the first track (Future Daze), it is abundantly apparent that this is not the standard punk fare of the time. The musicianship and production are far in advance of much that was on offer at the time. Most of the material has a light, airy feeling to it, but that doesn't mean that it's lightweight. Far from it, this is serious music for serious people. Songs like "Silent Community" and "Lover Of Outrage" still have meaning even now, some twenty-four years after initial release. Most of the material is self-penned, but there are cover versions that don't sound like filler "Nostalgia" (Buzzcocks original) and "Free Money" (Patti Smith), are both excellent songs, covered well by the band; Pauline Murray's vocal talent coming to the fore, as ever. This CD release also features 5 bonus tracks not on the orignal LP release. These are taken from two single releases: "Don't Dictate" & "Firing Squad", the remaining three tracks being the b-side material from these singles. All in all, an excellent debut LP, with addition of those extra tracks makes this a worthwhile purchase. The only reason this CD doesn't rate 5 stars is that the follow-up LP is, in my opinion superior. That alone, should pique your interest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A belter of an Album!, 4 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Moving Targets (Audio CD)
In my teens I was put off this band by those who seemed to have a problem with a punk group fronted by a woman, however without a woman at the lead Penetration would be all but just another above standard bunch of musicians. With Pauline Murray on vocals this band becomes not only unique in a mostly male orientated punk genre but more importantly it is the unsung hero that helped spawn Blondie and Suzi Q to future fame. Now talking of vocals, Pauline Murray is better than any other female punk vocalist I can think of, she has both range, depth and originality. Most importantly she avoids singing the little girl part and instead sings like she means to rock.

Now I am in my 40s and most of my friends have sold there Punk albums in a car boot I have done what I dared not do then, I have purchased a Penetration LP and indulged my senses. I you are looking for another Pistols, Damned, Fingers, Ramones, X Ray Specs,...then please look elsewhere. This LP is classic Punk Rock with a twist. It is played my musicians who can play and a singer who reaches all notes to define an original sound. This is the first Punk LP that I have ever given a 10 outta 10 review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Penetration at their primeval power punk best., 22 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
From the first razor edge chords of Neale Floyds and Fred Pursers guitars, you know that you are in for sixteen tracks of Penetration at their best. ( The original eleven plus five bonus tracks ). Blended with the haunting vocals of Pauline Murray, that on many occasions leave Siouxsie as a second division performer, you have the shrill rawness that encapsulated their pure energy live. Although the rhythym section has lost a little of its power in the studio mix, the album as a whole remains a classic of the late 70's punk generation. A must for any punk fan - For those of you that have the "Vision", like a little "Nostalgia", are ready for a "Reunion" with the past, go on - "Life's a gamble" !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As Good As I Remener, 27 Jun. 2012
By 
K. Moran (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moving Targets (Audio CD)
I bought this on vinyl when it came out, in 1979, I think. It still sounds great - Pauline Murray's clinical, "Grace Slick"-style vocals still thrill. A great remaster - with the added bonus of " Don't Dictate". She practically defines breathlessness in her delivery, a very much underrated singer. If you bought any of their stuff in the 70s, buy this with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars energy is eternal delight, 5 Dec. 2013
By 
the phantomn thinker (directly above the center of the earth) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moving Targets (Audio CD)
this is the best album that came out of punk but ironacly it was a heavy metal album not a punk album .it is an inteligent well played and briming with energy it allways sends shivers up my spine like all good music should do
Another plus is that penetration had the grace to stop in 1979 like all 'good'
punk bands should have done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Punk Album, 20 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Moving Targets (Audio CD)
Okay Penetration were my favourite band and this was my favourite album...I had it on luminous white vinyl...looked great at night. The extra tracks on here spoil it for me, I switch it of after freemoney and then play the rest of the tracks separately.
Still sounds great to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 20 Nov. 2013
By 
Anthony Britton "TB" (East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moving Targets (Audio CD)
forgot just how good this was - Nostalgia possibly better than Buzzcocks original (from massive Buzzcocks fan). pace and energy - miss this band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Targets - Penetration, 9 July 2009
By 
Matthew McMillan (Weymouth,Dorset.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moving Targets (Audio CD)
Moving Targets
Brilliant album. Bought for a £1 originally on vinyl and looked like it had been dropped in the middle of a tiger hunt and sounded like it!! New all the songs well as had adored most from John Peel sessions as a kid - now its good to hear them unscratchy on CD at a bargain of £3.87.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moving Targets
Moving Targets by Penetration (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews