Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars29
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
25
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2004
As if the hyperbole of the other esteemed reviewers wasn't enough to convince you to buy this album, let me humbly add that I own no other piece of music of any genre that is as intense, musical, long-lasting and utterly riveting to listen to than this.

I have been listening to these 2 CDs off and on for about two years now and I still find new 'moments' of pure musical bliss each time.

I simply lack the facility to describe the power of the start of the Tilt track 'I Dream' at the culmination of CD 2.

Listen to it in the car, in a club, with headphones, in your living room all alone with a beer - it doesn't matter, just listen to this as much as you possibly can before you die!
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2003
Quite the most wonderful expanse of music, hearing it, you can just drift away and imagine its 3am in a crowded club , bouncing to this most hypnotic of beats, eyes closed , people have entered their own worlds , but are fused as one, like the engine of a giant machine, Sasha provides the petrol!. This is dark twisted music, for people who like good music ..... more .... much more please!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sasha continues to push the boundaries of dance music to new heights. This blinding collection is yet another example of his sheer passion for his work. He's come a long way since the crazy nights at Shelley's and now bestrides the dance and remixing world like a colossus. He is the governor - it's as simple as that.
As with all his latest stuff, it takes a bit of listening too. It's not the instant, cop-out collections that Ministry of Sound keep knocking out, more an accurate reflection of a top dj's skill. (all credit to the GU boys for persevering along this line.)
The album is a storming collection of deep trance, that twists and turns along a deep, dark, progressive journey. CD1 is awesome, CD2 beggars belief, and one can only imagine the mayhem inside San Francisco's Spundae club during Sasha's twin spin of Breeder's 'The Chain' and 'Twilo Thunder' towards the end of CD2.
GU09 is up there with Sasha's GU13 Ibiza. If you were fortunate enough to have been present at Cream's 7th birthday last November, you'll know what I'm banging on about. If you don't already own GU09 and GU13, I suggest you rectify the situation immediately.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2000
Here is a phenomenon that must be owned. Sasha's art is, with care, to evoke in the listener a deep, rich, cerebral sense of peace and pleasure. It is far-reaching. I've not known it elsewhere. It will hold the soul of an entire group or, for an individual armed with headphones, become an almost spiritual, certainly personal experience. It is not a set, it is an ethos.
Throughout each CD, Sasha's mixing is to perfection. Genius presents itself not only in the choice of tracks but in their flow, each piece a natural successor and precursor, carrying the mood or furthering the journey. Sasha mixes almost in the background, fixing your focus firmly on the music. Like a good storyteller, who does not pause to trumpet his storytelling ability...
Only afterwards do you realise just how well it all works. In particular, the mixing on CD1 from "Bulgarian" onwards is really outstanding. CD1 eases you into a frame of mind which CD2 then expands radically without asking whether you can take it. Musically it's all great, with "Platform", "Bulgarian", "I'm Free", and "Hale Bopp" serving as personal highlights, and Dave Kane's "Clarkness" being one of the best ever. My only disappointment is that Sasha decided to fade out during the incredible build of Tilt's whopping "I Dream". Then again, perhaps that's the point...
Please do not mistake this all for an overreaction: it is an understatement. "San Francisco" is a strange creation, and words will never capture it; only by experiencing is it fully understood.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2000
Just fantastic, the finest piece of music I own. Disk one is possibly a little dissappointing although Travel - Bulgarian stands out superbly. Disk two is what it's all about. Track two opens with the single line - 'be aware of every sound'. What a joke, you couldn't possibly take it all in. Every time I hear this album I find something new. This disk builds slowly but surely. Some dance tracks have a build and break, this album is one continuous build until Breeder, Jark Prongo and DJ Tomcraft finally get your rocks off!
I sometimes play this disk and dance like a loon. Other times I can put it on, crawl into bed and sleep like a baby, dreaming happy dreams.
If you don't own it, you're wrong, simple as that!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2000
I am listening to CD2 as I write this review and let me tell you I am in heaven in right now and Sasha is god. Sasha's stuff is simply amazing. He builds a sonic path for you that is just brilliant in its creation and existence. If you like Sasha's incredible style and his very emotionally binding sets, then go ahead and buy this CD. Imagine the atmosphere inside Spundae when Sasha was playin live.....this CD accurately depicts Sasha's effort to push trance music & culture into American soil. Simple great, simply amazing, simply Sasha. Now I am gonna enjoy the rest of this CD......BUy it and join me in heaven.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2009
Ive been listening to this CD for what seems like forever, though its probably 8/9 years.

Every time i listen to it, it gets better.

Every time I listen to it, i hear things ive never heard before.

Everytime I listen to it, it surprises me.

Ive always told people if i could have only one album, this would be it.

William Orbits remix of Morgan Kings - I'm Free, is quite simply the best dance track ever produced.

If you dont own it, buy it, and you'll wonder how you lived without it.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2000
To sum up this CD is easy. It's quite simply the best mix CD in any format of dance ever recorded. Sasha is God and that's all you need to know! Dark, dirty and constantly building without and cheesey breakdowns, this mix basically kicks like a mule on steroids! Buy it without hesitation, and gain some taste.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
It is suggestive as trance should be, but after 149 minutes of quite nice trance mixing Ive got few really highlights.CD1 is Ok, but brings no new attention to all the former nice work done by Sasha. Beginning of CD 2 is pretty amazing, but soon it goes back to traditionell mixing rythms. In the 90.th they said CD killed the music? Because Vinyl LPs couldnt content more than 37-38 minutes of music, so if the band had one hit and 2 good tracks included in the album it was a real goal getter. One CD can play 74-78 minutes of music, therefore it is very difficult to perform high attention through the whole disc, not to mencion 2 discs.

Ok, mathematically disc 1 is a 4 stars and disc 2 is close to 5stars, so I end up in 4,4 stars! Which my school teacher told me should be written without decimals as 4. Sincerely, by all means Im speaking about stupid details, if you like Sasha, just go for it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 1999
There is a lot of music to listen to out there, but its what you do with it that matters, the mood it sends you into is crucial to me. Sasha knows where he is taking you, and what is important scenery all along the way. Don't miss this trascendental journey put together by the man they hail as God, because if you're going to sample whats been out there in clubland the end of a momentous decade, then this album captures the mood nicely, and darkly. Very grand, very smooth, a little bit dirty, very moving, good stuff God!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)