Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album
The album is very good, definately not a nu metal album either, the elements are all industrial with some heavy tendencies. Think White Zombie with a Powerman 5000 twist and thats the closest you're gonna get. It covers a range of music too, some songs have a distinct grunge sound, and others have a very slow industrial feel.
However, don't go by Turn Me On mr...
Published on 10 Feb 2002

versus
4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only one good song on it!!
I was really looking forward to this CD after hearing Turn Me On Mr Dead Man but was really disappointed to say the least as its the only good track on the CD. Do yourself a favour and just buy the CD single if you like that track and keep the money for something else. I bought Lateralus by Tool and Mutter by Rammstein at the same time both of which are on a different...
Published on 4 Sep 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 10 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: An Education In Rebellion (Audio CD)
The album is very good, definately not a nu metal album either, the elements are all industrial with some heavy tendencies. Think White Zombie with a Powerman 5000 twist and thats the closest you're gonna get. It covers a range of music too, some songs have a distinct grunge sound, and others have a very slow industrial feel.
However, don't go by Turn Me On mr Deadman. That track is kinda like the "stand out" track, the rest have ALOT of guitar effects, Mr Deadman is arguable the heaviest track on the album, so don't expect an album full of it.
The only problem with it really, is the lack of lead guitar parts. I'm a sucker for lead guitars and this could really do with a few leads to make it a complete album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best metal album of 2001, 28 Aug 2001
This review is from: An Education In Rebellion (Audio CD)
if you are gonna get one nu-metal album this year, get this, coz it rocks! think KoRn mixed with Metallica and you've got a sure fired hit. i saw these guys at the UK Ozzfest and i was stuned, i had never heard of them before, but when i got back i went straight out and bought the album and i wasn't dissappointed. Trip With Jesus and South Texas Death Ride are easily the best tracks, but then again, their are no poor songs. everything is strong and heavy with a cutting nu sound, ideal for some hardcore moshing and head banging. so do yourself a favour and go and buy this album, you need it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars to good to be true, 16 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: An Education In Rebellion (Audio CD)
i first saw the union underground at ozzfest and from then on i had found my nu fav band. turn me on mr deadman is amazin and is the standout track on the album but the rest is amazing. the perfect album which is a blend of marilyn manson and nine inch nails. if u like them u will love these....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debut of the year, 18 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: An Education In Rebellion (Audio CD)
This is just about the finest metal album I've heard in ages. There isn't a bad track on the album, but highlights include 'South Texas Deathride,' 'Turn Me On Mr Deadman,' 'Revolution Man' 'Trip with Jesus' and personal favourite 'Killing the Fly.' This is totally great, if you like metal music of any kind buy it now. If you don't, why are you even reading this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An education, 1 Mar 2011
This review is from: An Education In Rebellion (Audio CD)
This is a great heavy rock album from a little known band. As far as I am aware, this was their only album release before disappearing. The vocals sound a bit Marilyn Manson, and the tunes are relatively hard. A great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a shame....., 23 Feb 2007
This review is from: An Education In Rebellion (Audio CD)
....that this band are with us no more. this is a very good album, and i wish that they had made more, but they put themselves in a no win stuation with their sound,which is taken mainly from white zombie and grungyish in places but mainly white zombie with a nu metal tinge.so they sound like a watered down american head charge to be quite honest.

but that said i do still enjoy listening to this album quite alot,"south texas deathride" is sleazy,groovy little number "trip with jesus" is insanely catchy and again very groovy,the odd songs on this album are "mr deadman" which is alot heavier than the rest and sounds exactly white zombie even with big yeahs ala rob zombie, and "revolution man" where the grunge element shows up,and is easily the catchiest song on the album.

if you like any of the above mentioned bands,also include powerman 5000 to that list you will probably really enjoy this album,if you dont i would say stay away or download some first as this album is great but derivative in the extreme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate summer get up and go crazy album, 11 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: An Education In Rebellion (Audio CD)
this is the type of album that just makes you wanna go crazy and be out seeing them live at some summer 'fest. I missed them at ozzfest but loved the single "Turn Me On...." and the bought the album on the off chance of it being good. Trust me I haven't listened to anything else since. As an album itself it's a really good strong piece with some amazing guitars and brian's vocals just give it that extra severity. Hard-core industrial with some fantastic blendings of bass and main guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Cd to purchase, amazing!, 9 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: An Education In Rebellion (Audio CD)
This Cd is the best Cd i've ever heard, it is really catchy, and at the same time quite hard which some people like. I think this band is a mix of Powerman 5000, and Marilyn Manson, i think it is amazing and if people like those bands BUY IT! GO FOR IT, amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 23 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: An Education In Rebellion (Audio CD)
Possibly the best album I've heard in ages - from Nu-Metal to Grunge - every track is superb and it ain't coming out of my CD player - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing new release to please any real music fanatic., 8 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: An Education In Rebellion (Audio CD)
This CD is jammed pack full of Marilyn Manson's favourite industrialists heavy metal music. Pay special attention to the track 'turn me on mr deadman'. If you like this track and you'll like it all . . . . . . . . . . Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Education In Rebellion
An Education In Rebellion by Union Underground (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews