Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Switch
This is without doubt one of the funniest movies I have seen. It is the story of a chauvenistic man who awakes one morning to his worst nightmare........the fact that he has become a woman (Ellen Barkin) overnight. The ensuing saga is one of non stop hilarity with Jimmy Smit as his/her best friend. It is the tale of one man's quest to reconcile himself to his new...
Published on 25 Sept. 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Should be available in Pal Secam format
Published 8 months ago by Mr R P Webb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Switch, 25 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Switch [VHS] (1991) (VHS Tape)
This is without doubt one of the funniest movies I have seen. It is the story of a chauvenistic man who awakes one morning to his worst nightmare........the fact that he has become a woman (Ellen Barkin) overnight. The ensuing saga is one of non stop hilarity with Jimmy Smit as his/her best friend. It is the tale of one man's quest to reconcile himself to his new identify and the trials and tribulations of female grooming, lustful men and even lesbian encounters. Ellen Barkin plays a comical role supported by great dialogue and a wonderful physical presence in her role as "man turned woman".
To add to it all, it has an excellent story line with an unexpected twist at the end of the movie and it would spoil the whole thing if I divulged the ending!!!
Sexually explicit at times but not vulgar, this movie takes you on a journey through laughter and tears. Family and friends speak highly of this fabulously entertaining movie too.
Enjoy.....I promise you won't regret it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SWITCH.............., 27 Sept. 2013
By 
Goth Girl (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Switch [DVD] [1991] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Yes indeed a really good film about what life could be like being the 'other sex' !
A bit like 'Sliding Doors' film but a whole lot more !!!!!!
Buy it, you won't be dissapointed !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Alchemy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh? i nearly bought a round!, 24 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Switch [DVD] [1991] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Quite simply one of the funniest films ever made. Characters anyone can identify with and a story line to keep you giggling from start to finish. Barkin is brilliant, the hours she must have spent researching the role were well worth it.
No doubt one of the films which will see a re-make pretty soon, but like others (death at a funeral being one), will never match the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Region 2 wanted., 17 April 2012
This review is from: Switch [DVD] [1991] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Once I can find a copy of this film on Region 2 I will be buying it, a great film full of laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Switch, 15 Jan. 2010
By 
Blondie (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Switch [VHS] (1991) (VHS Tape)
One of the best comedies - Ellen Barkin is hilarious! I highly recommend this for guys and gals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, 19 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Switch [DVD] [1991] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is a brilliant movie, even more so with Jimmy Smits in it. This is one of my all time fav movies, which I watch all the time. Have to have a DVD player that plays Region 1 tho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Switch [DVD] [1991] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Bought this dvd as a bit of nostalgia kicked in. I originally saw this when it first aired on tv. It has not lost it's original charm of the era. And it is super funny also!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid comedy that only squanders a little bit of its potential, 14 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Switch [DVD] [1991] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A womaniser is murdered by three of his girlfriends and is returned to Earth as a woman.

My mum rented this movie back in the early 90s and it's always stuck with me even though I had only seen it once. Recently I was watching a second series episode of Men Behaving Badly from 1992. There was a scene in a video rental store (which dates the programme far worse than anything else) where they are standing for about a minute beside a bunch of copies of Switch. That not so subtle bit of advertising worked and I decided to get my hands on a copy.

The opening was not promising. Full length credits over speeded up footage of clouds screamed out mediocrity. The horrible 80s power ballad was way too much. It would have defeated anyone who wasn't fully committed to watching it. Also the involvement of the cable channel HBO wasn't a good sign. Nowadays they make the very best stuff you can find, but back in the early 90s they were not so impressive. I semi-recently saw their TV movie version of Fatherland. It was beyond terrible.

Surprisingly the first ten or so minutes are not devoted to showing what a prick the lead character is to women. The film knows we can guess the details for ourselves, and so treats us as intelligent people and doesn't waste our time going over predictable scene setting stuff. Instead his girlfriends take their revenge immediately. It's nice, and sadly rare, when a movie just gets to the point.

The jokes are pretty standard for what you would expect from a gender swap comedy. Yes, she does fall over in her high heels more than once.

It's fairly tame in tone as it's a mainstream film dealing with potentially unsettling subject matter. They clearly aimed for a low age certificate from the censors. Which doesn't affect anything in a negative way. It just means the film tip-toes a bit more than it maybe should around topics such as homosexuality and gender roles. It's not a gritty drama so it's not a problem that it avoids or fudges certain things in order to keep everything respectable and nice.

The comedy isn't particularly broad and it deliberately stops being funny towards the end. The plot becomes more straightforwardly dramatic which I thought worked well, and I had no issues with it.

The director Blake Edwards is, as far as I'm aware, a bit of an old fashioned, rather stuck in a different era kind of Hollywood film maker. I'm not saying his Pink Panther films aren't funny, just that they're slow and bloated in comparison to more modern comedies. I was expecting this film to feel much more dated to the 70s than it was (having said that, it is dated visually to the 80s). The movie felt more modern and current than most comedies of its era. I suppose that's the up side to tackling risky, awkward subject matter - twenty years later it still has some power while more conformist, safer films start to look quaint and restrained.

It's also maybe worth noting that Edwards might have more artistic interest in the subject matter than just using it as an excuse for a few jokes as he also made the gender confusion film Victor/Victoria (which I've not seen).

Ellen Barkin is excellent in the lead. She really does convince that she has a man's mind, instincts, memories and desires in her head. Unfortunately the 80s fashion disasters often make it unclear how well dressed her character is supposed to be.

It's a good, solid comedy. It's often amusing and has a few fairly big laughs, but it's not a full on laugh riot. It's a few notches better than I was reasonably expecting. Although it's also a few notches worse than it potentially could have been, if it had tackled the subject with a bit more open honesty without fear of making the audience feel uncomfortable. I liked it and I'm glad I watched it again. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny film, 15 July 2013
By 
Dancing girl (St Albans, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Switch [DVD] [1991] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I knew that film before but not in the original language. I enjoyed it even more in English. Really worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Switch [DVD] [1991] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Should be available in Pal Secam format
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Switch [DVD] [1991] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £25.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews