Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Addictive Enigma
Rickie Lee Jones is somewhat of an enigma. So many of her recordings are a peculiar mixture of mumbling, shouting, speaking and quite beautiful singing. She uses her voice like a musical instrument in the hands of a maestro, stretching, straining and ringing every last bit of emotion from it. She is simply totally addictive in a unique and fascinating way. This album...
Published 8 months ago by robsure

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Its very Rickie
Published 6 months ago by graham bannister


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Addictive Enigma, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Like This (Audio CD)
Rickie Lee Jones is somewhat of an enigma. So many of her recordings are a peculiar mixture of mumbling, shouting, speaking and quite beautiful singing. She uses her voice like a musical instrument in the hands of a maestro, stretching, straining and ringing every last bit of emotion from it. She is simply totally addictive in a unique and fascinating way. This album features several well known songs that are given the unique Rickie Lee treatment and what new life it breathes into them. "On the Street Where You Live", "Up a Lazy River" and "Someone to Watch Over Me" are performed in a captivating way. This is a fabulous and rewarding album that invites you to explore all Ms Jones work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Album, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Like This (Audio CD)
RLJ is an icon for me, one of those artists whose music has punctuated my life since I can remember. Any iPod, vinyl or CD collection without some of her incomparable work is missing a little of its soul.

This album is another marker along her journey, for me just as good, yet no better than any of her previous or later stuff.

Highlights are the Steely Dan opener and the Beatles cover, For No One.

Can't moan about any of it, though, as I'm just as devoted as the first time I heard Chuck E back in the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little masterpiece, 11 Oct. 2008
This review is from: It's Like This (Audio CD)
I'd have to say that this absolute gem would rank amongst my all time favourite albums, for what that might be worth. Each song here is a little masterpiece in itself, so carefully worked and crafted, delivering an end product that shows a singer and musician at the peak of her creative maturity. From tight and groovy, to sad and melancholy, to emotional and moving - a truly beautiful and uplifting CD. Miss Jones is amongst the royal family of music, and this is her crown jewels - for me, her best to date, and that's saying something I know, but I really wouldn't want to change a single note, beat or word on this wonderful album. If you've ever enjoyed her previous work on any significant level at all, you really cannot go too far wrong in chancing your luck with this. I've owned it since it's release and it still slides into my CD player on a regular basis, often first thing in the morning for a life affirming start to any day . Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 12 Mar. 2009
This review is from: It's Like This (Audio CD)
If you loved her Pop Pop album (& how could one not?) this is like a dream coda. Happily re-released in 2008 it is one of her most life-affirmng collections, infinitely subtle, intimate, touching and inspiring. A great artist at the peak of her powers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars towering collection of eclectic covers, 8 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: It's Like This (Audio CD)
rickie lee is original, a one off and authentic. and she also knows how to work a song into superb arrangements. steve winwood should be proud of her rendition of 'low spark' sitting neatly in front of classics by lerner and lowe, gershwin and hogey carmichael. a romantic selection, a quiet dinner for two, seductive and charming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Like This (Audio CD)
Its very Rickie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's Like This
It's Like This by Rickie Lee Jones (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews