Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hannay is back!
I always thought the 1935 version could not be beaten but.....i was wrong. For sheer all round excitement, good performances, excellent script and superb set pieces you need look no further. Powell makes a great Richard Hannay (how about releasing Powell's 80s 'Hannay' tv series too). He is suitbly dashing and heroic, Mills is wonderful as Scudder and Warner a vile...
Published on 18 Sep 2001 by Mr. D. Pyke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best adaptation of the novel
While not exactly a faultless film, its plot is creaky and some of the camera work really shows age. This is by far the best adaptation of John Buchan's novel.
Robert Powell is a effective and convincing Hannay, and the plot bundles along at a reasonable pace, It is good to see John Mills in the role of Scudder, he really does bring some class to what otherwise is a...
Published 21 months ago by Martin Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hannay is back!, 18 Sep 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 39 Steps [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I always thought the 1935 version could not be beaten but.....i was wrong. For sheer all round excitement, good performances, excellent script and superb set pieces you need look no further. Powell makes a great Richard Hannay (how about releasing Powell's 80s 'Hannay' tv series too). He is suitbly dashing and heroic, Mills is wonderful as Scudder and Warner a vile villain. Karen Dotrice is a bit of a let down as the girl but that's a minor quibble. I still think the 1935 version is wonderful but this is even more fun. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful evenings viewing, 15 Dec 2002
By 
david carman (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The 39 Steps [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A splendid evenings viewing, this one ! The lead character is thrust into a tale of espionage and murder in pre-first world war London. The plot thickens wonderfully as we watch, with a romantic involvement later as our hero flees to Scotland to retrieve the only evidence of his innocence and a sub-plot which involves the bad guys plan to murder a high ranking foreign diplomat at the House of Commons. The tour-de-force of an ending sees our man saving the day with tremendous courage, putting his life on the line as he does so many times during the film. The sets, the scenery, the costumes, the story, the twists, the whole thing is a piece of escapism sadly lacking in films of today. I must recommend this film whole-heartedly to anyone with a penchant for good old fashioned thrillers.
Happy watching !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Adventure!, 10 May 2006
By 
Michael Bermingham "mjbermingham" (Birr,County Offaly,Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 39 Steps [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent film in every sense.Set in London and the Scottish highlands before the first world war it never lets up from the start.Our hero, played excellently by Robert Powell, is wrongfully accused of murder.In order to clear his name he must travel to Scotland to retrieve the evidence which will do just that.Unfortunately this evidence is also wanted by Prussian spies and they give hot pursuit.He must use all his wits to escape both these and the police.This gives rise to a thrilling chase which at times is also extremely funny.

Fine performances by all actors particularly the late John Mills adds to the drama.Combine this with the period costumes and vehicles and you have an all round classic.Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - the finest version (including Buchans !), 24 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The 39 Steps [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Don't listen to other comparisons to the Hitchcock film. This version is infinitely superior and cleverly paced. Whilst Hitchcock virtually tore up Buchan's work, this version stays closer to the original storyline. Fantastic acting all round and an all time classic ending. I actually found it more exciting than the book. Buchan's novel is a classic but sometimes a bit far fetched. Isn't it interesting how the 3 versions mentioned all have different 39 steps ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah, memories, 20 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The 39 Steps [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
As a child this was one of my favourite films, it's perfect for that rainy Sunday afternoon. Although it is, in my mind, a great romp of a film, to say that it remains accurate to the book is a little generous. The ending, for example? I won't give anything away to those who haven't yet (I say that because you really should watch it) seen it, but to say that it adds a little of the fantastical is to do it an injustice. Still, to all but the most ardent of Buchan purists this will be/is an excellent film. Adventure, danger, intrigue, romance...they're all there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast-Paced Thriller!, 15 Jun 2008
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 39 Steps [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
This is probably the best version of Buchan's classic spy novel. Hitchcock's 1935 version (with Robert Donat) is now rather dated - this version captures the period well and the action is well-paced. Robert Powell is good in the role of Richard Hannay (and went on to make a series 'Hannay' which is now available on DVD in a boxed set). The film has a strong cast, including John Mills, David Warner and Eric Porter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic espionage fare, 15 Jun 2012
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The 39 Steps [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Intrigue abounds as our intrepid hero Hannay makes his way across the land to thwart the evil plans of those who would see war in Europe. This movie is proper boys own stuff and is full of dashing derring duo, chases and escapes. Drawn from great source material, parts of which are less than pc in today's climate, this makes use of all the good stuff to give us a fine story. I find Robert Powell less of a Toff than the three other incarnations and a much more accessible Hannay for it. Fierce odds are stacked against him and we can really believe he's an everyman in way over his head. They really packed the atmosphere into every frame and I was absolutely captivated by David Warner drawing his cane sword to dispatch an enemy in that foggy London alleyway. This is pure escapist fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the closest version to the book, 1 Aug 2001
This review is from: The 39 Steps [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Of the three versions of this film this one is almost faithfull to the book by John Buchan.Robert Powell takes the lead and he does a good job of portraying Richard Hannay.The action is fast paced,and the locations are scenic.The supporting cast is good and it's good to see sir John Mills still acting.But you still cannot beat the original by Alfred Hitchcock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Number 1 of all 39 steps, 3 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 39 Steps [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched all of the makings of the 39 steps I found this one to be the warmest and most engaging of all. Colour certainly helps especially with all the glorious landscape views. Although this version is itself 32yrs old it is still one of the more junior. The story line has tones of the cold war, does without special effects (apart from Powell hanging from the clock-face of Big Ben) but is altogether a splendid interpretation of the battle of good verses evil in a unique and quintessential version of Buchan's novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bubble-Cut Bob Saves the World for a Month or Two, 7 Dec 2014
This review is from: The 39 Steps [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
When it came out I think it was largely ignored or rubbished by the critics. However, it is not a bad little film in a kind of Hammerish way. It has all the wrong rather garish colours, which are ok in Hammer's fantasy-lands, but look all wrong in the interior decor here. But outside on the moors it has some rather glorious shots of Scotland. The acting is dependable and Powell grows in the part. There are some clumsy 70s bits which are rather quaint but there is some tension too and it's innocent enough entertainment. Some of the shots are rather clumsy zooms and there is some annoyingly 'tense' music. But on balance, I think I just about like it on a Sunday afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 39 Steps [1978] [DVD]
The 39 Steps [1978] [DVD] by Don Sharp (DVD - 2001)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews