Customer Reviews


194 Reviews
5 star:
 (158)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic film on a very bleak dvd
Seven is in my opinion the greatest thriller of the 90's, a disturbingly dark film which captivates its audiences and draws them into a world of evil and sin. The cast are all superb, especially the two detectives Mills and Summerset, played by the uncanny ability of Brad Pitt and Morgan Freeman. One a tempermental rookie, the other an aged retirement-bound cop,...
Published on 4 July 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Differring opinions
By partner absolutely loves this film and so we decided to pay to watch it. I however found it a bit long winded and hard to follow, I ended up falling asleep and missed the last 20 minutes. I would recommend watching it when your not tired though and I would deffo watch again to try and understand it better!!
Published 1 month ago by Leanna Walder


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic film on a very bleak dvd, 4 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Seven - 2 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
Seven is in my opinion the greatest thriller of the 90's, a disturbingly dark film which captivates its audiences and draws them into a world of evil and sin. The cast are all superb, especially the two detectives Mills and Summerset, played by the uncanny ability of Brad Pitt and Morgan Freeman. One a tempermental rookie, the other an aged retirement-bound cop, together they try to solve a case where a man is cruelly murdering his victims based on the seven deadly sins. This leads us to an unforgettable conclusion where all the themes of the films are intervined and drawn out with devastating power.
This 'two disc set' is in my eyes a major disappointment for a film of Seven's magnitude. The special features are awkwardly displayed and takes a bit of getting used to. The deleted scenes are OK but like most films, it is obvious why they were not included in the final cut. I always look for a comprehensive documentary in such an edition, but sadly it does not arrive. Plus-points are the picture and sound transfer is top notch; you will think it is raining outside! This does not compensate however for a two disc set which is nowhere near as good as it could have been.
Seven is one of the most chilling and exciting films to grace the screen, and for this it deserves to be part of any DVD collection out there. Along with Fight Club, it ranks as David Fincher's greatest achievement. I have gave it five stars for the film itself, not for the package. You could almost fit the entire features and the film itself into a solitary disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fincher at his best., 4 May 2007
By 
Nolene-Patricia Dougan "Dougs" (Ravara, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Seven - 2 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
After Legends of the Fall, Brad Pitt has been rumoured to have thrown a bit of a wobbler, wanting to be taken seriously as an actor and not just be seen as a teenage heart-throb. He cut off his blond locks and, for his next film, chose a much darker and sinister detective story that the teenage girls would have trouble getting into the cinema to see. What followed this decision is a cinematic masterpiece, a truly nightmarish tale that at times is hard to watch.

We are presented with a vision of a city that is so bleak and cruel that no one ever mentions its name. Two detectives--the cynical older detective (Freeman) and the ambitious young detective (Pitt)--are investigating the vilest series of murders that a cinema-going public can cope with. Each murder is based on one of the seven deadly sins everything from greed to, tragically at the climax of the film, wrath. Be thankful for one thing--that these murders were never shown to us; all we see is the bloody aftermath of these violent and unthinkable crimes. This is the master stroke of the film, for it catapults it from a gory slasher flick into cinematic art. It is a bleak, terrifying vision of the world we live in, and leaves you thinking, even hoping, that this is entirely a tale of fiction and such a place does not exist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five star film. Three star extra features., 17 Dec 2002
By 
C. Kilvington (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven - 2 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is a quality psychological thriller, with the emphasis on psycho. It's a dark film with lots of rain, shady scenery and gory murders. But if you're not affected by Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD), not put off by a story about the darkest side of life and not shocked by blood, buy it now.
The film moves at a good pace, and twists and turns to great effect. The acting is also something to write home about. Morgan Freeman cannot be faulted as usual, Brad Pitt plays a good part and Kevin Spacey is chilling in his role as the killer.
Now to the two-CD special edition. The best parts of the two discs are the commentaries. Not only can you listen to David Fincher, Brad Pitt and Morgan Freeman, but you can also hear from the screen writer and others. Sometimes it leads to a bit of waffle, but the majority is interesting. The rest of the features are fillers in my opinion and don't lead to any greater insight into the film or its makers.
For this reason I'd probably go for the one disc edition if it's cheaper - especially if this already includes the commentaries (which are featured on Disc 1 of the Special Edition anyway).
So the long and the short of it is that the film is a total winner. Don't expect a cross between Driving Miss Daisy (Morgan Freeman) and Legends of the Fall (Brad Bitt) though - as one poor couple at the first screenings did, according to one of the commentaries. You'll be shocked and possibly scarred for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dark, disturbing and magnificent masterpiece., 21 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Seven [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
Seven is by far the best phycological thriller that I have ever seen. David Fincher's atmospheric and dark interpretation of the disturbing criminal underground in which evil lurks is magificent. This combined with the brilliant casting of Morgan Freeman, Brad Pitt and in particular Kevin Spacey make this an awesome movie.
I don't believe that you can draw parallels with this and 'Crime and Punishment' and any true 'humanist' would be fascinated to see the depth at which the film explores human morality and behaviour.
The best ending you will ever see. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "SE7EN" Reasons to buy this DVD set..., 11 Jan 2001
By 
Frank "Monbois-86" (Philadelphia, Panama) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven - 2 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this movie was incredible the first time I saw it - I love films that DON'T end the way you expect them to, that don't follow the safe and true path, so if you don't already own the videotape or the original DVD release, that alone is a great reason to buy (or at least rent) this new DVD.
We'll start off there...
1. It's simply a great movie. A modern classic. The screenplay is just brilliant. The characters are developed and complex. Screenwriter Walker hit upon a great idea and ran with it. (And I am bitterly jealous.) Even if New Line were able to get away with making it into just another cheesy cop flick, the idea would have been intriguing. Walker went the extra mile, though, and pushed himself to try new twists and turns. Kudos to him and directory David Fincher, Brad Pitt, Morgan Freeman and everyone else who pushed to keep the plot's integrity. The acting is superbe, Gweneth Paltrow is a true angel and Kevin Spacey (yes, lovably average-looking Kevin Spacey from "American Beauty") just resonates with evil.
2. It's not just my assumption that New Line tried to "emsculate" (my word) the "SE7EN" script; it's on the record now with the "Stars" commentary track. It's never been easy to get a movie made when it cuts against the grain (just ask Terry Gilliam). Studio suits are notorious whimps when it comes to trying out new stuff, as Fincher, Pitt and Freeman attest to. Though the suits may not think so, I think the director and actors are being nice - they don't name so many names. But they do talk about the battle with the studio to keep the picture from being watered down and turned into just another blasé film version of a TV cop show. Plus you get to feel like one of their buds as they talk fairly candidly about what was going on during production, their thoughts and feelings about the story, etc. It is particularly interesting to list to Morgan Freeman analyse his character's psyche and hear how he came to certain acting choices - a gem for other actors. The "Stars" audio track is often quite funny, too, as with Fincher and Pitt's observations about how the dead GLUTTONY guy was "enhanced" (again my word) to recompense the actor for having enduring hours of make-up and playing a stiff.
3. Speaking of commentaries, the "Sound" commentary track with Fincher, Author Richard Dyer, composer Howard Shore and sound designer Ren Klyce is an enlightening treat, one I've never experienced before (though I don't own every DVD out there). They explain the complex process of applying the different continuous sounds of the city and music in a digestible fashion. It'a fascinating, too, to watch the movie with the background noise brought to the fore and the dialogue and up-front sound effects cut out. Very surreal.
And tying into that...
4. The sound has been remixed for the home theater, and it will blow you away. There's background noise everywhere, just like in a real city. It's crisp, it's clear, it's there in your face (or rather your ear, if you prefer). Why, their creation is alive! It's aliiiiive!
5. The "Story" commentary track with Fincher, Dyer, screenwriter Andrew Kevin Walker, editor Richard Francis-Bruce and New Line production president Michael De Luca breaks the story down piece by piece. This track alone should be a film school student's dream come true; it dissects the movie nearly scene by scene. Wannabe screenwriters and movie directors should listen to this track over and over again.
6. The picture quality on this new DVD cannot be overstated. It has been transferred from the original negative and it is simply sumptuous. It's not a post card, mind you, and it's not meant to be, but it no longer has that "ER" faded feeling to it, either. For example, the all important color RED really JUMPS OUT out at you from the darkness now, adding to the creepiness of the moment. When something is supposed to be disgusting, again like the dead GLUTTONY guy, it is. It's just so real and vivid, like you're there in the moment. It's unlikely that many movies will ever get the loving treatment "SE7EN" has received for this new DVD release, and it's a shame. This makes those movies that have been rushed out onto DVD to make a quick buck (and there are plenty of them) look that much crappier. (Ever see "Splash" on DVD?) That's why people who love movies, and not greedy MBA schmucks, should run movie studios.
7. Although I've watched the movie's original opening (I think they could have kept it in, but with the new vibrating title sequence), there's still a ton of stuff on the second supplemental DVD I haven't yet had time to explore. I have the "Fight Club" DVD, though, and even though that's a different studio (Fox), I am confident that David Fincher will not let me down, so my 7th reason for getting this DVD two-pack is all the fun exploring all the extra stuff, such as extended scenes, the fourth "Picture" commentary track, and veiwing the dead GLUTTONY guy frame by agonizing frame...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLU-RAY REVIEW, 6 Oct 2010
By 
The usual suspect (2nd aisle on the right, top shelf) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite possibly my favourite director at the moment, Se7en is probably his number 2 for me (Fight Club number 1). An epic movie that spawned a few wannabe's that simply utterly failed. As I watched the BD, I was quite astounded by just how much of the diaglogue has managed to lodge itself permenantly in my brain. I haven't seen it in years, yet I found myself reeling off the script quite happily. I must have seen it too many times! The maverick Pitt, legend of Freeman and Kevin Spacey in his golden era all coming together for one of cinema's greatest finale's.

As many reviewers have already said (referring to the movie itself), it's very dark and in order to create this atmosphere, lots of rain, no sunshine, plenty of close confines shots. This to me suggested that the BD was going to be a very grainy affair possible not worth replacing the DVD for. I was wrong - the grain level is low. Detail level isn't magnificient but very acceptable over the DVD. Audiowise I've always enjoyed the use of surround in Se7en, the VHS using Dolby (remember them?)Pro-Logic was great, Dolby Digital 5.1 on the DVD took it to another level with the rain effects and now the DTS-HD more adds to the DD soundtrack. It's not the same level of leap that DD from PL was but I'll take it all the same.

Overall I'll give the transfer 7.5/10, the product still gets a 5/5 though since it is Se7en which is a masterpiece.

Languages: English DTS-HD Master; German DD 5.1; Thai DD 5.1; Brazilian Portuguese 2.0; Castillian Spanish 2.0; Latin spanish 2.0;

Subs: Brazilian Portuguese; Castillian Spanish; Complex Chinese; German; Greek; Hebrew; Korean; Latin Spanish; Thai; Turkish

Region Free
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Se7en Deadly Sins, 21 Jan 2006
This review is from: Seven - 2 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
In Se7en, Daivd Fincher (director of Fight Club and Panic Room) conjures up a delightfully bleak helping of moody, noir-esque thrills around Andrew Kevin Walker's ingenious and engaging script. Se7en is set in a quintessential American city (we are never told which one), where the arm of the law is never quite long enough to prevent the city's criminal underbelly from indulging in all sorts of sinful activity.
Against this backdrop we find the film's two protagonists, played by Brad Pitt and Morgan Freeman who both deliver fine performances. Pitt plays the young, idealistic and motivated Detective Mills, who is the perfect foil to the pragmatic and world weary Detective Lt William Somerset, played by Freeman.
Mills and Somerset are assigned to hunt down the sociopathic serial killer John Doe, whose murders are grisly sermons designed to warn a corrupt society of the consequences of the seven deadly sins (gluttony, greed, sloth, lust, pride, envy and wrath). Each of his murders becomes an ironic example of the dangers of each sin; his victims are punished for the deadly sin they embody by being forced to indulge in it until it kills them.
Unfortunately for Mills and Somerset, John Doe is as intelligent as he is disturbed, and they can do little but follow in his wake to pick up the pieces until he unexpectedly turns himself in...
Although some people might find the plot a bit too twisty, and the story a bit too morbid, all in all this is a fast paced and witty film, with superb acting from a great cast (also including Gwyneth Paltrow and Kevin Spacey). This film will leave you guessing until the brain-bendingly clever finale.
As you've probably guessed by now, this isn't the kind of film to watch if you're in need of cheering up. In fact I would go so far as to say that this is one of the most depressing films I have seen for a long time. This film will take you to a dark and frightening place. Crucially though, it's not only dark but interesting and (in a way) enjoyable, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most truly original crime thrillers of the 90's, 1 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Seven - 2 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
David Fincher's second feature film, his first being Alien 3, Se7en is a controversial crime thriller. Set in America in a dark, depressing wet city which is never named, it reflects a true comparison to the films major on-going themes.The two main characters, the homicide detectives, Pitt and Freeman are forced to solve a puzzling series of disturbing murders based on the seven deadly sins hence it's name. Throughout the film there is a deliberate ongoing comparision betweeen the two characters. These are obvious to the viewer in the sense of old and young, black and white, experience and inexperience, conservative and eagerness. The difference in this film between any other typical crime thriller is that not only is it beautifully directed but the script and visuals are stunning. There is no point describing the plot in detail as I feel that will ruin the film for the viewers who haven't seen it as the plot contributes totally to the films major impact , yet what made me appreciate this film and rate it alongside the likes of Raging Bull, La Haine and even the epic The Seven Samaurai is it's visual impact on the viewer which is backed by the chilling soundtrack. The first time I seen the film I was disgusted by the chilling images of the deathes yet the fact that it was so beautifully portrayed and superbly shot I kept wanting more, no matter how gruesome the scene was. Very rarely do films do this and very rarely films are as good as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still going strong, 13 Oct 2012
Even thoug this movie is 17 years old, it's still one of my all time favorite thrillers. I've seen the movie in the theater, VHS, DVD and now on BluRay and I must say it has never looked better.

The transfer to BluRay is amazing, the blacks are very black and image is crispy! The sound is also amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric and Grim, 11 July 2007
This review is from: Seven - 2 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is an edgy, compelling and atmospheric film in which a tremendouly sick individual goes about killing people based on the seven deadly sins, played by Kevin Spacey, who is excellent, and suitably unhinged.

Two cops are on his trail: Morgan Freeman and Brad Pitt, who, in between bickering with each other, learn a lot about human psychology, and a lot about themselves too.

There are plenty of gruesome moments, some unpleasant deaths and an ending which will probably leave you speechless. Be warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seven - 2 Disc Set [DVD]
Seven - 2 Disc Set [DVD] by David Fincher (DVD - 2001)
3.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews