Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two sides of the Temptations, 24 Nov 2006
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psychedelic Shack & All Directions (Audio CD)
The Temptations had moved their sound from typical Motown fare, usually written and produced by Smokey Robinson, to a Funk based sound with Norman Whitfield in the producers chair. Starting with the Cloud Nine album, and continuing with Puzzle People (also available as a twoferone), they had mined the seam opened up by Sly Stone on Dance to the Music.

Where David Ruffin had been perfect for those Smokey tunes, Dennis Edwards, his replacement, superbly fronted the new Funk sound. On "Psychedelic Shack" there was a nod to the past, "It's Summer", although other than this the Tempts allow writer Barrett Strong and producer Norman Whitfield to move them well away from their past successes. "Take a Stroll..." features a spacey Eddie Kendricks/Paul Williams lead over a walking blues rhythym, but the rest of the album is fast and furious - a Motown Funk album if you like.

Strangely "All Directions" was not the next chronological album. First came Sky's The Limit" and "Solid Rock", and between these Eddie Kendricks had left the group, "Just My Imagination" being his swansong. However, the intervening years had allowed Strong and Whitfield to hone their sound to the pinnacle of their stewardship - "Papa Was A Rolling Stone". Any album with "Papa..." in it's entirety would be worth owning, but this also features a few other tracks which showcase the Temptations abilities. Try "Mother Nature" and "I Ain't Got Nothin" for those typical Temptation harmonies and shared leads - quite superb.

There's social comment and protest on both these albums, on tracks such as "War" and "Run Charlie Run" - the latter as hard hitting as any by artists like Curtis Mayfield or James Brown.

Overall this is well worth your attention, although it is a pity that the releases did not put together the albums in chronological order, which to this listener would have made more sense
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Two-Album CD, 7 Oct 2006
This review is from: Psychedelic Shack & All Directions (Audio CD)
When you think of Motown this is not what first springs to mind. By the tail end of the sixties The Temptations were getting seriously funky and these two albums showcase this. The wah-wah drenched "Psychedelic Shack", the tripped out "Take A Stroll..." and the blistering "Friendship Train" which really does go like a train!

Then from 1972 the All Directions album includes the enormous 11 minute long version of "Papa Was A Rolling Stone" and uber-production that is "Funky Music Sho Nuff Turns Me On".

If you like this different side to The Motown Sound then have a look at the Temptations complilation "Psychedelic Soul" which includes these plus more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent and this reveals the Temps at their very best ., 8 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Psychedelic Shack & All Directions (Audio CD)
The Temptations present music made famous by others in their own way.Isaac Hayes's Do your thing'would make Black Moses proud.The Temps pour their souls and bring fresh meaning to the songs.These individuals are the most entertaining group I have ever heared.The music is good,inspiring and entertaining and it can appeal to music lovers of all tastes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking Soul, 7 Jun 2004
By 
Lozarithm (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Psychedelic Shack & All Directions (Audio CD)
Psychedelic Shack came out in June 1970 featuring the psychobabblic Take A Stroll Through Your Mind, as well as War (the original version) and Friendship Train, which Norman Whitfield also produced on hits for Edwin Starr (1970) and Gladys Knight (1969). This new direction was all too much for original lead singer Eddie Kendricks who was shortly to leave the band. One of the songs, It's Summer, appeared as a single in newly re-recorded form a year later.

The sound that Whitfield got from the phenomenal but uncredited session players had become honed and refined to an effortless-sounding and staggering efficiency.

All Directions came 3 albums later (after Sky's The Limit and Solid Rock) in 1972 and was well named since it veered between Funky Music Sho Nuff Turns Me On and Ewan MacColl's First Time Ever I Saw Your Face. At its heart lay an astounding 12-minute masterpiece, Papa Was A Rollin' Stone, which began with a bravura instrumental overture which stripped away the instrumentation bit by bit in a way that almost prefigured dub reggae as it used the sonic palette in a manner that only the latest technology could have enabled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tempts teach the now generation about Social Commentary, 24 Oct 2000
This review is from: Psychedelic Shack & All Directions (Audio CD)
30 years on and the music still sounds fresh. We thank Motown U.K. for re-releasing this CD which used to be a hotly contested item on ebay.
Social commentary with "Papa was a Rolling Stone" and "War" teaches the now generation of musicians that you don't need to curse to get the message deep into the hearts of people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars remastered?, 5 Dec 2010
By 
Winfried Meier (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psychedelic Shack & All Directions (Audio CD)
This is certainly not a bad collection of two albums.
What disapoints me is the fact that the tracks
from "All Directions" don't seem to be remastered at all.
This was actually the reason I bought this CD.
I own an old copy of "All Directions" and I cannot here
a difference. I can't tell much about "Psychedelic Shack"
as I've never owned this album before.
One way or the other, still good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars graham cole, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychedelic Shack & All Directions (Audio CD)
superb soul from the temps. both albums 10/10. packaging is rather poor (a very thin and nasty funny opening case) two albums on one cd. the highlight for me is the full near twelve minute "papa was a rolling stone" which is mindblowing good. if you do not have this album in your collection---then you are a naughty boy(or girl)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The deepest funkiest vocal in the world, 28 Aug 2003
By 
M. Speller "mattwareherts" (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psychedelic Shack & All Directions (Audio CD)
An amazing collection of songs including Papa was a rollin stone and War. War is one of those songs that everyone loves. I had not heard this original version before, being happy with the James Brown cover version, but I was blown away with the brilliance of the version on this album.
You will receive one cd with both albums on it. It comes in a double CD case with a cardboard sleeve.
The best bit by far is whenever the member with the deepest voice I have ever heard sings, it really is like an instrument all of its own.
*** Like: James Brown, Generic Funk***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psychedelic Shack & All Directions
Psychedelic Shack & All Directions by Temptations (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews