Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Influencial, Essential!
Rubber Soul is where it started! in studios terms, Lennon and McCartney by now heavely influenced by Dylan, emarked on being experiamental and pushed the boundries out, that only they could see eg, Norwegian Wood (1st Pop song to have a sitar on)Rubber Soul has a more fuller effect than the previous Beatle albums eg, better basslines, guitar work, vocal styles and...
Published on 12 Oct 2006 by Mr. A. M. Bell

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Big Disapointment..
Hello..Re the remasters..Have bought Revolver-Sgt Pepper and Magical Mystery Tour,and thought I would work my way back through the previous releases starting with this,Rubber Soul..Big mistake..According to the booklet ,the 1987 stereo remix was used for this remaster..Why?..The stereo mix is a joke with 95% of the instruments in the left channel and the vocals in the...
Published on 14 Oct 2009 by A Band fan


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Influencial, Essential!, 12 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. A. M. Bell (Chester, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
Rubber Soul is where it started! in studios terms, Lennon and McCartney by now heavely influenced by Dylan, emarked on being experiamental and pushed the boundries out, that only they could see eg, Norwegian Wood (1st Pop song to have a sitar on)Rubber Soul has a more fuller effect than the previous Beatle albums eg, better basslines, guitar work, vocal styles and harmonies! Enjoyable album in which i never get bored of, very catchy, killer hooks, entertaining and timeless with a rich mixture of sounds! I recommend, Drive My Car, Norwegian Wood, Wait, Nowhere Man, Girl, In My Life, Run For Your Life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All in the best possible taste, 25 Oct 2006
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
'Rubber Soul' is the first Beatles album that works its magic without yelling at you. It sounds much more like a carefully-crafted gem than the representation of a live set. The band sound confident that they're taking rock music to a new level and from here on they don't need outside material. It serves partly as a wind-up for 'Revolver', the album it most resembles, but is a classic in its own right. You can admire the diversity and ingenuity here, but you can't allege gimmickry.

The stylistic progression includes the more solid rock approach of 'Drive My Car', subtle but intricate vocal arrangements as on 'You Won't See Me', the laughing effect of the fuzz guitar on 'Think For Yourself' and the smouldering, impassioned delivery of 'Girl'. There are many great songs too, as indicated by the extent to which other artists picked this album over. The Overlanders took 'Michelle' to number one and disappeared; The Truth put 'Girl' in the charts and followed suit; The Hollies made 'If I Needed Someone' another top ten hit; and Judy Collins brought out the full poignancy of 'In My Life'. Then of course there's John Lennon's legendary 'Norwegian Wood', a tale of the unexpected, as well as the instant 'Nowhere Man'.

The only false notes are perhaps 'What Goes On' on which Ringo reminds you that he drums better than he sings, while Lennon himself is on record as saying that he hated 'Run For Your Life'. Even so, it isn't a bad song. File 'Rubber Soul' under the usual - peerless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music still unbalanced stereo, 11 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
I receieved my Stereo Box set, i was so excited I had been waiting ages for the improved versions. Where should l start, I decided to start with one of my favorite albums, Rubber Soul, As the CD Player started and Drive my car came on my heart sank.After all this waiting and all these years of remastering and knowing this problem can be sorterd(see yellow submarine songtrack) We still have voices out of one channel and instruments out of the other. This is just not exceptable in this day and age of headphones I players ect, this is just not a comfortable way to listen to such a great album. According to George Martin he did re balanced versions of the albums but they were rejected by apple. I don't get this at all. As you may be aware the Beatles were only involved with the Mono mixes and the Stereo mixes were knocked of in one afternoon by an engineer. With this being the fact surley as The Mono Mixes were what most of us heard on the Radio and at home what is wrong with doing the early albums propery with vocal in the centre, That is not altering history as it is clear to everyone except those at EMI that if the Beatles had no involvment in the stereo version make them sound at leat like the MONO versions. Golly to think Pet sounds by the Beach Boys on the same lablel sounds fantastic. I really think Paul and Ringo should have been involved with these issues and perhaps this could have been resolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEATLES GROW UP!!!..., 26 May 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This fabulous, fourteen track CD, with twelve tracks by the Lennon/McCartney songwriting duo, one track by Lennon/McCartney/Starkey (Ringo), and one by George Harrison, is a significant departure from their earlier works. Here, the music is lusher, darker, and more complex. With the release of this album, The Beatles bid goodbye to their "Yeah, Yeah, Yeah" days and established themselves as a musical force of note, more talented than anyone had imagined.
With vivid imagery and themes, they sang about life and all its turbulent emotions, a virtual social commentary. From the rock and roll refrains of "Drive My Car" to the sitar laden "Norwegian Wood", followed up by the existential "Nowhere Man", The Beatles had a lot to say, and they did so with a vengeance.
Love was still an important theme, however, to which Paul paid homage with the romantic ballad, "Michelle", as did John in "Girl", a song so filled with yearning it is almost palpable. As if this weren't enough, add the lament of love lost in "I'm Looking Through You", as well as the achingly poignant "In My Life", and you have a musical experience so complete, that no music collector should be without this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEATLES GROW UP!!!, 18 Sep 2001
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
This fabulous, fourteen track CD, with twelve tracks by the Lennon/McCartney songriting duo, one track by Lennon/McCartney/Starkey(Ringo), and one by George Harrison, is a significant departure from their earlier works. Here, the music is lusher, darker, and more complex. With the release of this album, The Beatles bid goodbye to their "Yeah, Yeah, Yeah" days and established themselves as a musical force of note, more talented than anyone had imagined.
With vivid imagery and themes, they sang about life and all its turbulent emotions, a virtual social commentary. From the rock and roll refrains of "Drive My Car" to the sitar laden "Norwegian Wood", followed up by the existential "Nowhere Man", The Beatles had a lot to say, and they did so with a vengeance.
Love was still an important theme, however, to which Paul paid homage with the romantic ballad, "Michelle", as did John in "Girl", a song so filled with yearning, it is almost palpable. As if this weren't enough, add the lament of love lost in "I'm Looking Through You", as well as the achingly poignant "In My Life", and you have a musical experience so complete, that no music collector should be without this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fab album! BUT after remastering - vocals are mainly too loud and instruments mainly too quiet...., 29 Oct 2009
By 
M. Norman "BeatleGeek" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
First of all ....the music! Apart from the Ringo song (What Goes On) the rest of the album is pretty damn good (I even like the Lennon throw-away Run for Your Life because his vocal is SO good!!). It's a pretty big jump in quality from the previous HELP! album and there's more sophistication. Drive My Car, Norweigan Wood, Nowhere Man, Think for Yourself, Michelle, In My Life, If I Needed Someone are all superb - and for most other bands all of these could have been singles. But as The Beatles released the double A sided We Can Work It Out/Day Tripper single on the same day as Rubber Soul, NONE of the tracks off the album were released as singles in the UK.

Now for the re-mastering... The overall sound is more dynamic, rhythmic and three-dimensional than the 1987 CD release but unfortunately on most tracks the balance of vocals to music is too heavily biased in favour of the vocals with You Won't See Me being the worst case. This makes the tracks far tamer than they should be and prevents the songs from gelling. The improved definition and clarity of sound of the instruments does help to make up this gap a little - but I think the guys at Abbey Road have boobed! What was required from the re-mastering was a noticeable improvement on the 1987 CD (which to me was more two-dimensional sounding and a bit too trebly) rather than a re-interpretation of the sound of the songs. On the other hand Nowhere Man and If I Needed Someone are markedly improved compared to the 1987 CD. The instruments sound a bit louder and ballsier - so these tracks zip along very well thank you very much. If the rest of the CD had been re-mastered to this standard I would be a very happy man!

If you already own the 1987 CD version and you don't listen to music that critically, I would not buy the 2009 digital re-master. If, like me, you're obsessed with The Beatles (so you already own the 1987 CD release of course!) and you have decent hi-fi separates - suck it and see. You may or may not like what's been done to this album. You can always return it or pass it on to someone worthy who hasn't heard the album before... If you currently don't own this album - try hunting around for the 1987 CD release in the jewel case. If you can't find a copy or if it's too expensive buy this new version and don't worry too much about my Beatle Geek tendencies!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The first great Beatles album, 26 May 2007
By 
Paul Rance (Whaplode Drove, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rubber Soul [VINYL] (Vinyl)
1965 was the year that The Beatles began to be considered not just likeable entertainers, but something far more substantial. Geniuses in fact. The album 'Rubber Soul' was the start of a succession of brilliant Beatles albums.

'Rubber Soul', in fact, begins in unspectacular style, with 'Drive My Car', then 'Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)' takes the breath away, with John Lennon singing a, legend has it, autobiographical song. It's a beautiful Eastern/Western mix, helped by George Harrison's sitar. 'You Won't See Me' is a poignant love song sung by Paul McCartney, and with 'Nowhere Man' following, we are already well into a classic Beatles album. The latter has John in sensitive, insightful mood. A beautiful song.

'Think For Yourself' and 'The Word' are uptempo, the former being a George Harrison song. The latter has a John vocal, and marvellous harmonies from John, Paul, and George. Both pretty good. Better still is 'Michelle', which underlines a rapid maturing of The Beatles. They are becoming accomplished at this time in creating songs in various styles. In this instance, Paul sings in French, with accompanying music that makes it sound like a French folk song.

Beginning side 2 is 'What Goes On', which suits Ringo Starr's plaintive voice, and 'Girl' is in a similar style to 'Norwegian Wood', with John again supplying a moving vocal. 'I'm Looking Through You' is unusual in that it's Paul and not John delivering a barbed vocal. John then sings 'In My Life', which is the stand-out track on the album. Lyrically it's even deeper when reading the lyrics only, and the music, especially George Martin's baroque piano, is enchanting, and it was a song which had 1960s intellectuals drooling! George Harrison's 'If I Needed Someone' is pleasant, with a Byrds style ringing guitar sound (The Byrds were influencing The Beatles at this time, and vice versa). The catchy 'Run For Your Life' sees John end things, using that sometimes spiteful tongue to good effect.

'Rubber Soul' was the first Beatles album to really take popular music to another level, and there were a few more outstanding Beatles albums to follow!

- Paul Rance/booksmusicfilmstv.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John edges it, 22 April 2012
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
This great record was probably the first to suggest the full virtuosity of the Beatles' songwriting. What I find most startling for its time is the darkness at the heart of so many of the lyrics "I'd rather see you dead little girl than to see you with another man", "I just can't go on if you won't see me", "He's a real nowhere man...making all his nowhere plans for nobody", "Do what you want to do, go where you're going to - think for yourself or I won't be there with you." to give a few egs. The lyrics throughout are more profound, more sardonic than on earlier albums. The songwriting, as many have said, really matures on this album and there are many peerless songs: Norwegian Wood, Girl, In My Life, Michelle. I think overall that Lennon just about takes the honours over Paul in the songwriting stakes - McCartney's always been great with a melody, but I just love Lennon's acidity on this record. Massively enjoyable and interesting album - always 35 mins well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Souped-up for the soul, 25 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
Everything a remaster should be. crisp clear sound, the Beatles right in the room with you. Like hearing it for the first time. Where's my Beatles wig!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Big Disapointment.., 14 Oct 2009
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
Hello..Re the remasters..Have bought Revolver-Sgt Pepper and Magical Mystery Tour,and thought I would work my way back through the previous releases starting with this,Rubber Soul..Big mistake..According to the booklet ,the 1987 stereo remix was used for this remaster..Why?..The stereo mix is a joke with 95% of the instruments in the left channel and the vocals in the right,resulting in a terrible balance, with the instruments overpowering a lot of the lead vocals..The Word is a prime example with John Lennons LEAD vocals almost inaudible in the right channel..I can't understand why the original mono recordings are not on general release for the first six albums,instead of only selling them in a very expensive box set..Greed?..The record company,EMI, are doing to the sound of what is the most important recordings in modern pop music,a gross diservice,as people who have not heard the original's apart from on radio(yuk), will play this remaster and wonder what the fuss is about,re The Beatles,and not bother with the earlier releases..So before anybody buys any of the first six albums (In UK-Please Please me-With the beatles-A Hard Days Night-Beatles for sale-Help and Rubber Soul) try and hear them on a full hi-fi stereo setup,NOT on the radio or samples from the net..I am still a life time fan of The Beatles but Phil Spector was right..Back to Mono..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rubber Soul [VINYL]
Rubber Soul [VINYL] by The Beatles (Vinyl - 1988)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews