Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Cuban Mixture
Everyone may have jumped on the so called "Latin Explosion" the last few years but Gloria Estefan has been doing this longer and with more artistic integrity than all the flashy newcomers. This CD is a statement by Gloria Estefan and will be around when all those others are forgotten.
It's an incredible mixture of Cuban and Caribbean music that alternates between...
Published on 12 Jan 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad...but
I bought this album on the strength on mi tierra, which is an outstanding album from start to finish, I hoping for more of the same which is exactly what I got. Sadly whatever it is that made mi tierra so good (the quality of the songs) wasnt apparent here. It's ok but not great 5/10
Published on 25 Jun 2011 by Mr. A. S. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Cuban Mixture, 12 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Alma Caribeña (Audio CD)
Everyone may have jumped on the so called "Latin Explosion" the last few years but Gloria Estefan has been doing this longer and with more artistic integrity than all the flashy newcomers. This CD is a statement by Gloria Estefan and will be around when all those others are forgotten.
It's an incredible mixture of Cuban and Caribbean music that alternates between Latin dance floor and beautifully orchestated songs of love and sadness that Gloria sings in beautifully phrased Spanish. The arrangements rival Claus Ogerman's recent work with Diana Krall, and yes, it is that good! Open your front door on a sunny day and pop this CD in and you will not be able to turn it off.
It is just one great song after another. The highlights are Como Me Duele Perderte (How It Hurts to Lose You) which has an upbeat rythem, Nuestra Felicidad (Our Happiness) the most beautiful love song you will ever hear, and Me Voy (I'm Leaving), an incredibly sad song of a love dying which Gloria delivers in heartbreaking perfection.
This CD deserves all the acclaim it has received. Estefan has long used her Cuban side as an artistic outlet and this one is something really special. It reminds us what Latin music can become in the right hands, as it is here. It also raises the bar for all the newcomers to this growing musical venue. If you'd like to listen to a stylishly produced Latin album from a great artist, then this is the one to own. Buy it and open up a whole new world of music. A Must Have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's hot, and sultry, 21 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Alma Caribeña (Audio CD)
Another stunner from the Queen of Latin Pop. An unmistakeable landmark winner from the pioneer of all that is sultry, fiery, and sexy.
From the very first track, to the last, you get carried away on a fiery, hot bed of rhythm and passion, carried off with the husky voice of Gloria, accompanied by the many instruments and classic artists to be found. Listening to the album makes you appreciate the many splendored talents of Gloria, turning her voice from disco, to ballads, to pop, to the latin rhythm - how many artists can make that claim? Not many. Unlike Celine, Mariah, Madonna, or Whitney, Gloria is not restrited to chart pleasing slush songs, or other commercial pap that appeals to the masses. Here we have an album, that is about culture, about passion, and about quality music from a quality artist - a perfect accompinment to those lazy, hazy days in the summer, with a jug of Tequila, and no work the next day - another smash from our Glo !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Salsa Queen Reigns Again, 17 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Alma Caribeña (Audio CD)
After Gloria Estefan conquered the world with her latin pop hits, she went back to her musical heritage in '93 and with her Grammy award winning "Mi Tierra", She enveloped the sultry Salsa rhythms of her Cuban homeland, delivering them to the world with an inimitable style and attitude. Then in '95 she went even further with "Abriendo Puertas" her 2nd Grammy winner, a unique, highly danceable fusion of salsa and hispanic rhythms from around the globe. Now she's crossed the line and delivered "Alma Caribena/Caribbean soul". In what has to be one of her most accomplished pieces of work she seemlessly blends the traditional music of Cuba, Panama and the Caribbean into an unforgettable collection. Sure to be another Grammy winner, here Gloria not only reveals a passionate and sexy side, she embraces it with her beautiful lush vocals. The rhythms and arrangements here range from the propelling, feel good percussion and sing-a-long chorus of "Tres Gotas de agua bendita" a duet and surely future single with Salsa legend Celia Cruz to the haunting melody of the ballad "Como me Duele perderte" where Gloria's vocals float softly above a bed of latin rhythms, to the first single, the salsa injected "No me dejes de querer". But it's an album where the beat never lets up. Just when you think things have slowed down for a ballad, suddenly the song explodes into a salsa surprise and your hips and feet just can't stop moving. Fan or not, with a truly wonderful piece like this, "Alma Caribena/Caribbean soul" should be in everyone's collection as THE salsa album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my soundtrack to summer 2000, 5 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Alma Caribeña (Audio CD)
Infectious rhythms, tempo changes, backing harmonies and Gloria's beautiful Cuban Spanish. Skip the duet with Jose Feliciano, though - he sounds out of place, though his guitar intro is great. Almost on a par with her Mi Tierra album - which was the best of her career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ¡Lo mejor de Gloria hasta ahora!, 10 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Alma Caribeña (Audio CD)
Su nuevo CD es increíble y ideal para bailar y todo tipo de la fiesta. Cada canción tiene buena letra y música con ritmo excelente.
Her new CD is incredible and perfect for dancing and all your parties. Every song has great lyrics and music with excellent rhythm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lively music - excellent singing, 3 Jun 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alma Caribeña (Audio CD)
On this cd Gloria Estefan's voice has more husk than a tree-full of coconuts.Added to the voices of such Latin
greats as Jose Feliciano and Celia Cruz the end result is exotic and beautiful.As with all Gloria's Latin recordings the lyrics in themselves make for compelling reading and you get the lyrics written in the accompanying booklet in english and spanish.The only album by Gloria I like more than this is Mi Tierra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lay back in the garden and dream of carribean beaches.., 17 May 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alma Caribeña (Audio CD)
Gloria goes back to her Spanish routes for the third time and comes up with a mellow, dreamy carribean coctail of tunes. For some this pace may be too middle of the road, but on a lazy sunny day this cd will just ooze relaxation from your speakers, and make you hot foot it to the travel agents to book one of the many bargain trips to the carribean for real.
As usual gloria's voice is on fine form, accompanied by musicianship of the highest order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great CD., 24 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alma Caribeña (Audio CD)
Like other Cuban/Caribbean music CD's this one is lively and sensual.Easy to dance slow or fast or just listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Cd, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alma Caribeña (Audio CD)
I bought Alma Caribena for myself because I enjoy very much Gloria Estefan music. The compilation of her caribean cuban sons make you feel like you been on a holiday, the lyrics and music are lovely! I am Latino, Spanish speaker and really enjoy
the CD. Also is very good value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad...but, 25 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. A. S. Jones "andy jones" (stockton on tees uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alma Caribeña (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the strength on mi tierra, which is an outstanding album from start to finish, I hoping for more of the same which is exactly what I got. Sadly whatever it is that made mi tierra so good (the quality of the songs) wasnt apparent here. It's ok but not great 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alma Caribena / Caribbean Soul [MINIDISC]
Alma Caribena / Caribbean Soul [MINIDISC] by Gloria Estefan (Mini-Disc - 2000)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews